We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday”
Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Wings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our family (two boys, mum and dad) thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Mantra Wings. Just outside of the hustle and bustle of the main area of Surfers, Mantra is ideally located. Our room was on level 6 facing the seaside. Showers, pillows, mattresses, lounge, dining, balcony, kitchen and laundry - all fantastic! Shared facilities were great. Being a smaller building means there were no long waits for the lifts and plenty of room around the pool, tennis court and bbqs. We would definitely recommend Mantra Wings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Jenny P, thankyou for you recent contribution towards our Trip Advisor review site.

Whilst we are a small resort packed with facilities and always endevouring to provide great service, it is great recognition when a guest recommends our Resort to others.

Thank you for also highlighting that our Resort is ideally located, when the Light Rail starts operating in a few months and comes striaght past the resort our location will be even better.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I would certainly encourage you to tell your friends and family about our Resort.

I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Kerry Gribble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Mantra Wings. We arrived at 1.45pm - we were told our room wasn't ready. We had to wait for one hour until our room was ready. There were no apologies from staff or an explanation to why our room wasn't ready yet. We always go away once a year to a different place - we have never had an experience like this before at any of the previous places we stayed at. Several times we have shown up at 1pm (one hour early before check-in time) and the room has been ready and reception has allowed us to check-in. When you travel over an hour in the car with young kids, you just want to get into your room, unpack and unwind. Other than this, we were happy with the accommodation we stayed in. We were not happy with the service upon check-in. Also, we did not enjoy the "ginger" scented soap/shampoos. Perhaps you may think about switching products??

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear L T, thank you for recent contribution towards our Trip Advisor Review site, whilst it was a disappointing review to read, we are always appreciative of any feedback we receive, without feedback we would not be able to work on our areas of concern, nor know what we do well.
Whilst it is always our goal to have a guest check in before 2pm, some days due to the numbers of arrivals and departures and a host of other reasons it is just not possible to have everyone in their room at this time.
Whilst 2pm is the advertised time for check in, if a guest arrives any time from 8.30am in the morning and the room is ready we will check them straight into the room, of if it is not available at that time we provide storage of luggage and access to our leisure facilities on arrival. Please accept my apologies if these offers were not made to you on this occassion.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I hope that you will find the time to try us again some time in the future.

Kind Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have just spent a week here in a 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment has been well maintained, the resort is well looked after and the receptionist were very helpful in setting up transfers and tours. It is close to the beach and the city centre is within walking distance (however I would suggest taking a car if you are buying grocery supplies). I would recommend this resort to my friends and family. It was a very relaxing stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kobi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Kobi S, thank you very much for your recent contribution on our Trip Advisor Review site, I was pleased to read your review, it is even more pleasing when our guests not only return but recommend to others. I would certainly appreciate any recommendations you could make to your friends and family, and we will certainly be looking to provide a friendly and relaxing environment for them.

With regards to grocery supplies, for any future stays please contact the Resort in advance as Woolworths deliver direct to the resort when you order groceries prior to arrival, this concept has certainly taken off over the last year and saves families arriving the need to go straight to the shops when they arrive, Instead it is straight to the Pool or Beach much to the relief of our younger visitors.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort some time in the future.

Kind Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at Mantra wings for 10 nights December/January 2014 great place to stay our room was on level 8 facing the river the view was great, the pillows, bed, shower where fantastic I can not fault this hotel. The rooms where clean I have 2 young boys 6 and 3 and both slept soundly at night and loved the heated pool and BBQ area even the little playground was good for the kids.

Location was great walking distance to Cavil and Broadbeach. Close to many good restaurants and food outlets. Cooking facilities in our room where good as well.

Great Value for Money. Staff where very friendly would definitely be coming back and recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Connie M, thank you for your recent posting on our Trip Advisor Review site, sounds like you and the family had a great time. We do get a lot of families in at this time of the year and with the Resort being so child friendly we hear a lot of stories about children sleeping well after a day at the Resort.

Thanks once again for sharing your feedback with our future guests, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas. I was amazed by the size of the apartment (2 bedroom) The lounge/dining and kitchen area were extremely spacious, clean, light and bright. It's was very easy to have our Christmas Day here with friends. Even an ocean view. Would definitely stay again. Many thanks to the staff for making the stay great.

Room Tip: We did ask for a room that faced the ocean but were told they could not guarantee that. However we w...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CharlieandStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear CharlieandStanley, thankyou for your wonderful contribution towards our Trip Advisor Review site, I enjoyed reading your comments about your stay, and even more so your comments on the staff which is most appreciated.

Thanks once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the future.


Regards

Kerry Gribble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodation at the mantra wings. A stones throw away from surfers paradise, but far away enough to avoid the crowds and noise of surfers paradise. We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights and given an apartment on the 8th floor. As we opened the door to our apartment there was a simultaneous 'WOW' from all four of us. The apartment was excellent! Beautiful river views with a large balcony and the master bedroom toilet had a spa with river views too!! We felt like royalty! The apartment was very clean and large and the beds were really comfortable. For the price we paid this apartment was an absolute bargain. I can highly recommend this accommodation.

On a side note, when we checked on Christmas Eve the lady at the reception informed us everything would be closed (including maccas) so we hurriedly went to woollies and bought some frozen meals. However to our delight and disappointment most restaurants were open (including maccas) and the place was bustling with people. However we did not get a chance to eat out as there were frozen meals at the apartment and we did not want to waste food.

But that aside, the quality of our 2 bedroom apartment coupled with the price we paid for it made our stay on the GC extremely wonderful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank AMT264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear AMT264, thank you very much for your recent contribution towards our Trip Advisor Review site, it is always very pleasing to read good reviews and even more so when we exceed a guests expectations.
The North Western side of the building is certainly a favourite of our return guests for the wonderful sunsets over the river and hinterland.
I apologise for the incorrect information we gave you on Restaurants on Xmas Eve, we certainly like to be better informed than this, please accept my apologies for this oversight,

Once again thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort some time in the future.

Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for one night only, staff were friendly and professional and made an effort to ensure that we could check in early. 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and well appointed, the carpet looked a little stained, but other than that a good impression and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Abby H, thank you for your recent contirbuion towards our Trip Advisor review site, whilst your recent stay at the resort was a brief one I am pleased it was a good experience. Thank you for your feedback on the carpet, I will check to ensure we have picked this up ourselves and organised a clean.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for a longer stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Kerry Gribble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,679 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £84 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres from the rolling surf and two minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings is built on the former site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, the property offers spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments or Two Bedroom Penthouses. Some of our apartments have an indulgent spa bath and this is available on request, however cannot be guaranteed. The resort features a lagoon style pool and waterfall, private spa grotto, full-size tennis court, fully equipped air conditioned gymnasium, steam room, children's playground, barbeque facilities, porte cochere, grand lobby and secure undercover parking. Parties and excessive noise are not tolerated in apartments. Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 9pm. Failure to comply with the above will result in eviction of the guest/s from the property. Mantra Wings reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *Bookings will only be accepted if made during reception hours* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing