We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant in every way”
Review of Mantra Wings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Wings
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant in every way”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

stayed here for our first week of our holiday.the front desk staff are extremely helpful and polite!rooms were clean and the decor was comfortable and modern.the veiws from our apartment(easterly face)were impressive.parking was easy and pool and playground area clean.we are definetely looking forward to returning to the mantra wings.we thank them for a warm welcoming,very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraWings, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments as we certainly appreciate your time to write and especially when we have made your holiday experience an enjoyably memorable one. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Wings when you next visit the Gold Coast.

Kind regards
Keith Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    190
    60
    19
    18
See reviews for
259
123
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Rooms are good, but service lacks. these are not serviced apartments & have to pay extra for daily housekeeping. So u get 1 days ration of toiletries only. Reception closes at 5Pm & checkout time is 10AM which is considerably shorter. Only 1 TV in lobby in a 2 bedroom apartment. Small in-house Gym with 1 treadmill plus few other equipment. room internet is at cost (not cheap).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraWings, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
“Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. In regards to the daily service this can be arranged through our reception, however we do promote ourselves as self serviced apartments and provide an after hours contact service should there be further guest requirements.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Wings again soon.”

Regards
Keith Gallagher
General manager
Mantra Wings Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We were on our honeymoon! asked for a spa room four weeks before booking, then again when we arrived... no spa, asked if there was one available 'we have put you in room 410'. spa? 'there is a bath' lol no bath! tv was fuzzy, fixed it few days later by cutting our cable off! hairs in breakfast bowl, on sheets in bed! we got king zip, yes two singles at different hights zipped together! arrived early 10:30am check in, had to wait for room till 2pm! sticky hand rail on balcony, noisey car wash and highway! reception didnt know anything about the rooms, tennis costs $10aus for 1 hour. Dish washer was broken, room hadnt been vaccumed, yes furnature is abit dirty...
We had asked for a different room even for one night, got nothing but...
'sorry make sure you fill in our comment card before you go'.
It was our honeymoon and we were so disapointed in this place, one of the receptionists did actually tell me that you get booked into your room the day before you arrive, so if you book four weeks in advance and pay in FULL!!! you still only get whats available the day before. my advice:
Dont pay in advance!
check the room before your stuck with it! at least you can walk away.
check tv reception.
dont bother turning up before 2pm as they just told us to come back later at 2.
By the way we were from New Zealand and were knackered, it was a hot day and we had just been dropped off by the airport coach.
Basically dont book and pay first!
we are so gutted that our honeymoon was such a let down, we had been saving for a while for this trip and only had fun when we were out of the appartment!
we did get free toliet paper & 1 free tennis.
buses were good from here.
theme parks pass $99 adult each.
first time we went for a spa it was filled with kids that stayed in it for ages! not fair.
secound time we went for spa at 9:30pm got in yay no one in it... it was cold!!! so pissed off says its 10pm everything can be used till.
overall not happy!
If manager of building sees this? We have probably talked to over 30 people since we got back to NZ and they are shocked at how we got treated! No wonder Surfers Paradise is struggling a bit to get people there if this is how you treat people from overseas that have come to stay at a 'as stress free as possible' 4 star appartments.
Sorry to be nasty about this but we seriously feel ripped off and helpless all because we pre paid our stay so couldnt walk away....
Please avoid this happening to other people, if they are unhappy with their room allow them to have a different one... its just really not fair treating people like that :(

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aly_may10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraWings, Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Thank you for the feedback as we find this invaluable in monitoring our standards and customer expectations. We certainly try to meet all customer requests however during busy times this is not always possible. I can appreciate all guests wishing to use resort facilities however it is difficult to place restrictions and monitor individual usage.
Once again we appreciate the comments as an integral part of our continuing aim to maximize service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT!!!!! lovely room awesome pool and spa and lovely friendly staff who were only too happy to help you out.Stayed with my 12 year old son , had emailed them to let them know we would be getting there about 11:30am and they said they would prioritize our room being serviced, we ended up getting there at 10:30am and the room was ready for us which was just wonderful!

I could not rave enough about this place - I will be back again and I will recommend it to everyone I know.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thexi_mumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraWings, General Manager at Mantra Wings, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon”.

Keith Gallagher
General manager
Mantra Wings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We read the reviews on here before we booked this hotel and were a little hesitant, but we couldn't turn down the amazing deal we got through the entertainment book, so we booked in.

Really easy to get to, just off a main road.
When we arrived the check in was easy, they let us in 1/2 an hour early with no issues.
The reception was welcoming and very helpful with any questions that we had.

We went down to the secure car-park (swipe card access) that was free with the room.

We were so surprised at the size of the room, massive full kitchen (microwave, Fridge/freezer, Oven, Kettle, Dish Washer + all cutlery and plates etc), lounge (1x 2 seater and 2x 1 seaters with coffee table and flat screen tv), large bathroom with toilet, shower with his and her hand basins, we had a super king bed that could have fit 3 people, a large double wardrobe with a ranch slider opening out onto a very large deck with a 6 seater table.
We were blown away with the size of it for the price that we paid.

The facilities were great, massive swimming pool with spa ($4 towel hire for the length of your stay), tennis court ($10 an hour for rackets), gym, sauna, 2 or 3 BBQ areas.
You had to pay extra for some things like the pool towels etc but it is apartments not a hotel and you can always take your own.

We watched a movie in our room one night for $15.00 a little pricey but cheaper than going to the movies and they were new releases (yet to come out on DVD).
It was great having a full kitchen, we went to the supermarket just 4 blocks down and purchased food for the week.

It’s about a 10 minute walk to the center of the shops of surfers paradise, 20 minutes to movie world, 10 to sea world and about 3 minutes walk to the beach access.

We did have 1 minor downer, our side of the apartment was by the main gold coast highway which was a little noisy but I am a light sleeper and didn’t have any trouble getting to sleep.

Overall a great stay, we didn’t have a view of the beach (other side) but we had a great view of the estuary which was pretty.

I would highly recommend to my friends and family and would definitely stay there again as we didn't experience any of the issues brought up on here previously.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This is my second stay at Mantra Wings. I stayed previous when it was called Breakfree Wings and was so impressed, I decided to try it out again. This time, I came with my husband and two young kids, 1 and 3 yr old. We stayed in a 2br apartment. Management was very good and was attentive in choosing an apartment suitable for my young kids, as well as fixing problems when they arose; ie. finding me the correct size bath plug after hours.

The rooms were large and well-furnished. I found all the utensils and cookware necessary for me and my family in the kitchen. These are self-serviced apartments so they only provide small quantities of tea, coffee, toilet paper, laundry powder and dishwashing detergent so be prepared to go out and buy more.

I found the location convenient and had no issues at all as we had a hire car. Unfortunately, the Pink Poodle restaurant attached to the hotel has closed down but there were plenty of other nice restaurants close-by ie; Thai. We also went to the Northcliffe Surf Club for breakfast. They views were magnificent and we had a great time. There is a Caltex service station just behind the hotel so we were able to purchase basics like milk and snacks there.

As previous posters have mentioned, there is a fair bit of traffic noise from the Gold Coast Hwy. This is really the only downside to this block of apartments. I would stay here again if the opportunity arose and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

pretty modern, next to the Pink Poodle, lots of parking, big spaceous rooms, inc laundry, 2 bathrooms bonus!, great kitchen, everything new, first floor no view, nice pool, close to broadbeach. would stay again

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Wings

Property: Mantra Wings
Address: Cnr Fern St & Gold Coast Hwy | 18 Fern Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres from the rolling surf and two minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings is close to all the action and one of the most contemporary holiday resort apartment complexes on the Gold Coast. Built on the former site of the iconic Pink Poodle Motel, the property offers spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments or Two Bedroom Penthouses. All apartments and penthouses feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, air-conditioning, cable TV, internet access, stereo and spacious balconies with views across the Gold Coast and surrounds. Some of our apartments have an indulgent spa bath and this is available on request, however cannot be guaranteed. Alternatively book one of our Two Bedroom Penthouses which all offer spa baths, plasma televisions and stainless steel appliances. The resort features a freeform lagoon style pool and waterfall, private spa grotto, full-size tennis court, fully equipped air conditioned gymnasium, steam room, children's playground, barbeque facilities, porte cochere, grand lobby and secure undercover parking. Located a kilometre from the centre of Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise, Mantra Wings provides access to two of the most popular holiday destinations on the Gold Coast. Parties and excessive noise are not tolerated in apartments. Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 9pm. Failure to comply with the above will result in eviction of the guest/s from the property. Mantra Wings reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. *Bookings will only be accepted if made during reception hours* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Wings Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing