We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakesh - best service, best value, best location, best care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marrakesh - best service, best value, best location, best care”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Marrakesh Apartments are the best!! Perfectly maintained apartments and grounds with the bonus of strict security procedures. We found the staff to be warm and friendly and offering extremely efficient service with Tour bookings, directions etc.
Can't understand the comments re lack of access to pools after checkout as this would give acess to all and sundry and negate the security regulations in place for the benefit of all guests. We know when we book that we have paid for access from 02.00pm on the day of arrival until 10.00am on the day of departure.
We always book an extra night if we know we have a late flight.
Well done Marrakesh - keep up the good work, we will be back and will tell our friends what a great place you are!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonMentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    53
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
87
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland,NZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We found the Marrakesh a pretty resort but beware, although not their fault, there is a huge construction site right behind which really spoils everything, and this will continue for at least a year. However they did move us to a slightly less noisy room.

Everything was really good until check out. Watchout for the old lady who has the exotic parrot hair. We had to book out at 10am but our flight was only 5.30pm and we asked if we could hang out at the pool. The answer was an unequivocal no, even tho we were prepared to pay a few hundred dollars. Did not make sense as the pool area was very empty this time of year and if you are all still staying their you can accommodate as many guests as you want. We saw one lady allow six guests through. There are extreme rules and our smoke alarm went off every time we even switched the oven on, even though there was nothing in it and we were threatened with a $950 fine if the fire brigade was called out.

The restaurant however, Kesh, privately run was exquisite and very reasonable. Krista especially is a gem and the owner Tony is extremely accommodating and a fantastic chef and person.

I would not recommend the hotel but definitely visit the restaurant which is open to all.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We are very experienced travellers now in our seventies and the week we spent here was fabulous in all respects, ofcourse with the weather being nothing but sun helped.From the moment of our arrival which was a very simple but very effective late check in system most items were above expectations. The whole complex was neat,tidy & very clean. The room was well equipped and to us lacked nothing. The cafe/bar/restaurant on the ground floor is open from early morning and caters for those who wish to dine a bit later, serves a good range of foods all day and has access directly off the pool area. There is a rooftop well equipped BBQ area which has easy access from the lift. WE would recomend the Marrakesh as a good place to stay.
We must pass on a tip regarding checkout. There is normal 1000 hours checkout and our transfer coach pickup was 1445 hours . We were somewhat taken aback the afternoon before to find out that apart from baggage lockup,the foyer and the use of the cafe/bar departing guests were not permitted to enter or use any other part of the complex. This is the first time we have experienced this situation and numerous times before all over the world we have had long time waits between check out and pick up transport times. Always we have been granted short term access to pool,spa & gyn areas
usually including the use of a towell. Our tip is that if it as all possible ensure your pick up time from the Marrakesh is shortly after 10 am.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayarAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We had an apartment on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden. It was clean and well appointed and the main balcony was just perfect for breakfast in the morning or a drink in the evening. All mod cons were available and it was great to have a clothes drying rack that we could leave out on the wee balcony off the bedroom. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and were able to book tickets for us and provide useful information on buses. We were given 2-for-1 vouchers for 2 breakfasts at the in-house cafe, The Kesh, which were very good value. It was a 15 minute walk into Broadbeach and about 20 minutes to Surfers. The bus stop just around the corner on the Gold Coast Highway provided easy access to places further afield and the drivers were always very helpful. ( Be warned- the last bus to the Carrara Market goes about 1.30 and the last bus back leaves at 2.45, even though the market is open until 4.00. Go early as you will need at least 3 hours to get round it)
The Marrakesh was so quiet it was hard to believe it was full. We used the outdoor spa several times in the evenings and very seldom had to wait for it to be free. There was a great barbecue area up on the roof although we never got to use it in the end.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjhnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

cant understand the negative reviews - doesnt sound like the same place we stayed at -- we had a fabulous experience at the Marakesh - were there for 9 days - had a room on level 2 overlooking the grass and gardens -- lovely and sunny - was very clean and did have a hair dryer ! -- we found the reception staff amazing, very friendly and helpful , they booked us for a Casino show plus a shuttle bus , often they were busy , but they always acknowledged us -- We used the restaurant most breakfasts and evening meals -- the staff there were also friendly and the meals great ..

only negative , maybe , would be the bed was a little bit harder than we are used to !!

Would reccommend this place to stay , but can understand , not all the units would be as good as ours depending on what side of the building -

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLDROX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
301 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My husband booked and didn't ask for ocean view - though this was only about $10 per night dearer - we tried to upgrade but the complex was then full (marathon weekend), so we dipped out on that front. Apartment was good sized, clean, and well equipped. Second floor and overlooking another hotel, but the street was quiet. Next door neighbours had their TV positioned close to our bedhead and liked to start their viewing at 6am, and carried on til after 11pm. Great location if you like to be handy to everything (short walk or drive to pretty much everything) and yet a quiet suburban feel to it. We've always stayed downtown before - but no more! Short walk to a dairy, bottle store and fantastic cafe/restaurant - Lola's.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CactusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This property deserves a higher rating. Very comfortable, clean rooms, excellent amenities and surprisingly quiet location. The location is roughly half way between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Just a short hop to the beach, Convention Centre, Jupiter's Casino and Pacific Fair.

Our one bedroom apartment was #1012 - 10th floor and about mid-way along the building on the Southern side. All the appliances, flat screen TV, laundry items, kitchen, etc etc appeared to be either new or near new and worked faultlessly.

A great bonus here was the grounds, medium size outdoor pool, indoor heated pool, two hot tubs, gym and a sauna. Absolutely spotless including the BBQ unit.

Pleasant evenings were had sipping a couple of drinks on "our" balcony, admiring the sweeping views from the East, right round to Coolangatta in the South and across to Mt Tambourine to the West.

The property also has an on-site restaurant, but sorry to say we didn't try it, so we can not comment.

Looking forward to staying here again in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakesh Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakesh Resort Apartments

Property: Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Address: 198 Surf Parade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakesh Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marrakesh Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakesh Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marrakesh Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marrakesh Hotel Apartments
Marrakesh Resort Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing