We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2009

This was my first stay at the Marrakesh Resort, it was excellent and I can highly recommend it. It is in prime location half way between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach - both walkable, and a short walk to the fabulous Gold Coast Beach(es). The Resort is maintained in beautiful condition inside and out and has a super Kesh Cafe independently operated with a great menu and super coffee (with chocolate mashmallows..scrumptious!). Internet access is available 7 days x 24hrs on a Pay PC on the ground floor. The 750 bus is right outside the door for Surfers Paradise and onwards to Main Beach and Seaworld or in the other direction to Broadbeach and onwards to Conrad Jupiters Hotel & Casino, Pacific Fair , Mudgereeba for the super shopping mall (not to be missed) at Robina and Skilled Park for Gold Coast Utd soccer home games. The Gold Coast Highway is adjacent for busses further afield. The Crowne Plaza Hotel immediately adjacent has a public bar called the First Tavern with a great range of drinks, pub food with nightly specials, the 'dreaded' pokies, and excellent staff. I tried a number of restaurants and can specially recommend -> Lolas nearby - need to book for Friday/Saturday/Sunday nights, Sage at entry to Broadbeach, La Porchetta across the road from Sage, Marios in the Broadbeach Oasis centre - need to book Friday/Saturday nights, and Moo Moo's adjacent to the Broadbeach Oasis shopping centre. The Jamaica Cafe just inside the entrance to Pacific Fair from the bus terminus offers a great value breakfast.. The only downside of the Marrakesh Resort for me was the Gym. It is in a good mirrored room in the building with the indoor pool but the Gym equipment is aged/becoming obsolete. I identified the matter constructively and respectfully in writing to the manager/management committee providing specific cost effective recommendations to sort this shortcoming which I trust the management committee will implement. Otherwise it is a 'shame' if the Gym advertised was allowed to be out of step with the otherwise excellent standards achieved elsewhere in the Marrakesh Resort. I joined the One Life Health and Fitness Club top floor in the Broadbeach Oasis Centre as a temporary member during my stay - its facilities/ muscle toning and cardio are superb to include the full range of Les Mills classes. The Marrakesh Resort has a magnificent outdoor rooftop area astro turfed, with superb views, tables and chairs for sunbathing and superb BBQ facilities. On Reception I can commend Helen for her interactive communication and caring customer service skills which are a credit to the Marrakesh Resort. I have stayed in many places around the world on business and leisure, and have to say the Marrakesh Resort (Gym notwithstanding) is one of the best - I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onthecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed in appartment 206. Beautiful resort. "Kesh Restaurant" fabulous and great value for money. Four good blocks to central Broadbeach, an easy walk. Bus stop right outside for when the feet get sore! One block from beach, again an easy walk. Broadbeach is by far the place to be & I would be back in a flash if I could! The Marrakesh is quite opulent with a real mediterranean feel. Two lovely clean & big pools, one under cover. Two spa's at end of each pool. Nice & quiet compared to The Wave (central Broadbeach) and much more of a relaxed feel than at The Wave. Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Staying in Marrakesh was the choice that made our Gold Coast trip complete!

We checked in on 7Nov till 12Nov, on the fifth floor facing the hinterland. The construction was just next to the apartment, which can be viewed opposite our room. There seemed to be working on the basement level. However, if there was any noise at all, it was minimal and where any afternoon nap will not be disturbed. Anyway, we were out most of the day, and when we were back, it had already stopped. So, no worries about that!

Kitchen was with Microwave, Oven and Dishwasher, complete with plates, cups, kettle. Except we could not find pots and pans. Anyhow, we could prepare a simple meal . Beware to switch on the exhaust when cooking on the electrical stove. We had a fire alarm one night, and the night manager annouced for us to stay in the apartment till further notice. The fire engine came just 3 minutes later being the station situated a block away. The fine to the renter was AUD925 for the false alarm ..

The room was very comfortable and clean. The one bedroom apartment comes with a sofa bed in the hall. So, 4 person could stay there comfortably enough. There was no room service unless on every 8th day of the stay. But, there were suffient extra towels for the stay. You could also wash and dry your clothes & towel sthere as there is a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom.

The in-house Kesh Restaurant prepared tasty meals, we had our first breakfast and dinner there. Its fettucine was delicious.

Great place for car renters as car-park was available free of charge. Security was very good. It was necessary to use the pass-key to go gain access to its car-park, lifts, and pool . We had an early flight, so, we did a checkout the day before without any issues.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank Ann5428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We found the Marrakesh everything we wanted in a resort, all the amenities were clean, we dined at the kesh bar the first night we stayed and that was very nice, abit fancy, would have liked to see pasta and nachos on the menu, they had sunday roasts for $12.
We were 7 storys up, overlooking the pool and Q1 was out in front of us. We could see the sea which was nice, sat on the balcony at 6 every morning cos the birds wake you!
They state that the Oasis shops are 5 blocks, oh no they arnt, they are 11! We walked it in 30degrees and hauled all our shopping back.
But the next day we got a week pass on the buses and we were picked up and dropped off right outside our door which was perfect.You must buy a week or 10 day pass on the buses and that will get you out to all the funparks.
The staff were very helpful. The room lovely and clean.But you dont get much coffee milk toilet paper or wash powder so stock up on your first day. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levinites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Marrakesh Apartments are the best!! Perfectly maintained apartments and grounds with the bonus of strict security procedures. We found the staff to be warm and friendly and offering extremely efficient service with Tour bookings, directions etc.
Can't understand the comments re lack of access to pools after checkout as this would give acess to all and sundry and negate the security regulations in place for the benefit of all guests. We know when we book that we have paid for access from 02.00pm on the day of arrival until 10.00am on the day of departure.
We always book an extra night if we know we have a late flight.
Well done Marrakesh - keep up the good work, we will be back and will tell our friends what a great place you are!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonMentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We found the Marrakesh a pretty resort but beware, although not their fault, there is a huge construction site right behind which really spoils everything, and this will continue for at least a year. However they did move us to a slightly less noisy room.

Everything was really good until check out. Watchout for the old lady who has the exotic parrot hair. We had to book out at 10am but our flight was only 5.30pm and we asked if we could hang out at the pool. The answer was an unequivocal no, even tho we were prepared to pay a few hundred dollars. Did not make sense as the pool area was very empty this time of year and if you are all still staying their you can accommodate as many guests as you want. We saw one lady allow six guests through. There are extreme rules and our smoke alarm went off every time we even switched the oven on, even though there was nothing in it and we were threatened with a $950 fine if the fire brigade was called out.

The restaurant however, Kesh, privately run was exquisite and very reasonable. Krista especially is a gem and the owner Tony is extremely accommodating and a fantastic chef and person.

I would not recommend the hotel but definitely visit the restaurant which is open to all.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Boomerlausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We are very experienced travellers now in our seventies and the week we spent here was fabulous in all respects, ofcourse with the weather being nothing but sun helped.From the moment of our arrival which was a very simple but very effective late check in system most items were above expectations. The whole complex was neat,tidy & very clean. The room was well equipped and to us lacked nothing. The cafe/bar/restaurant on the ground floor is open from early morning and caters for those who wish to dine a bit later, serves a good range of foods all day and has access directly off the pool area. There is a rooftop well equipped BBQ area which has easy access from the lift. WE would recomend the Marrakesh as a good place to stay.
We must pass on a tip regarding checkout. There is normal 1000 hours checkout and our transfer coach pickup was 1445 hours . We were somewhat taken aback the afternoon before to find out that apart from baggage lockup,the foyer and the use of the cafe/bar departing guests were not permitted to enter or use any other part of the complex. This is the first time we have experienced this situation and numerous times before all over the world we have had long time waits between check out and pick up transport times. Always we have been granted short term access to pool,spa & gyn areas
usually including the use of a towell. Our tip is that if it as all possible ensure your pick up time from the Marrakesh is shortly after 10 am.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayarAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#26 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#10 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,400 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oscar On Main
Oscar On Main
#3 of 18 in Main Beach
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakers North
Breakers North
#52 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakesh Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakesh Resort Apartments

Address: 198 Surf Parade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £83 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakesh Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marrakesh Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakesh Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marrakesh Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marrakesh Hotel Apartments
Marrakesh Resort Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing