We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse NOT WORTH IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Penthouse NOT WORTH IT!”
Reviewed 3 February 2010

When we arrived at the resort the staff didn't tell us that there was a ramp around the side, instead we had to carry all our luggage up the stairs through the resort in 30 degree heat. It took us forever to reach the top of the penthouse. The staff were very rude and offered NO assistance. Penthouse had NO AIR-CON, NO BBQ, massive area above the penthouse with no bbq which was ridiculous. Our spa upstairs was nice apart from the buttons which were not working and the it was very noisy. Freezer was dirty (icypole stains), cupboards were dirty and the dishes were also filthy and not washed properly. The Lagoon Pool was adverstised as Penthouse Pool, but everyone in the resort had access to it which meant there was no time to relax and have a swim. There were too many little kids running around and jumping off the wall into the pool. The Gym had minimal equipment and should I add OLD equipment. I reckon they were as old as the the old lady from titanic. For the amount of money we paid they only supplied 3 rolls of toiletpaper, 1 sachet of dishwashing detergent and 1 sachet for the washing machine. No room service and the manager didn't even visit to see how our stay was soo far. SHAME ON YOU MAGIC MOUNTAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JulzyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    7
    7
    13
See reviews for
56
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CHCH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Nice resort away from the usual surfer product. Stunning views and good rooms.
Great place to take the kids or some friends. Apartments are well appointed, a better HVAC system would have been nice.

Nice pool, and surroundings. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atathompon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

i stayed at magic mountain for my schoolies.
it was awful, no airconditioning ( well there was, however getting a remote which was asked for 7 times on our stay was far too difficult and we never received it!!!), dryer didnt work, no glasses to drink from, false advertisements left in their information brochures ( thi ended up costing us more money, the resort accepted no responsibility for anything!), no washing line. to sum it up, there was something wrong with everything!
management were slow....VERY SLOW, (i have an investment property so i understand basicly how things work in this environment) and theirways of doing things were awful. the frustration i endured made shoolies a memorable experience for all the wrong reasons!
management although slow, were even less helpful, the girls behind the desk had no idea which way was up, my group knew more and we were on holidays, none of us were from qld?!? there manners were also horrible!
too far from town, but thats another false advertising story which i could go on for years!
because this was a resort, management whent home at 5, so if there was a problem, you had to wait untill 9 the next morning, or whenever they felt like it really?! there was however a number you could call the lady i spoke to was very helpful, however not helpfull enough to change my views of magic mountain. i am debating the issue of asking for some kind of compensation for my troubles because the entire resort just made the 7 days unnessessarily difficult. the facilities look amazing on the outside, and the rooms have potential, however, a large ammount of money, time and care needs to be implemented to the tasks. having visited a few other rooms however, they were ALL better than ours on looks and quality, and the groups payed LESS than our $4000. plus our $1000 bond! please tell me of any other issues you have had as i could list some more...
-soap holder glued and feel off
-showerhead duck tapped on
- no dryer
- air con (lack of!)
- curtains didnt open
- no washing line
- lights didnt switch on
- fire alarm ( flat, beeped, left 2 days to fix)

im not adding photos..they are awful!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unhappyatschoolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We had booked the Pent-House, and we were instantly shocked to find NO AIR CONDITIONING …. In QLD”s heat you’d think The 'Pent House' would have Air Con ..! The staff commented how they have mentioned this to the owners a few times.

The Lift to the Pent-House Stinks, it’s that musty moldy smell. That sticks in your nose.

Honestly for the charges it is not worth it what so ever, we stay often in QLD and there is so much better for your money out there. Look for the smaller places. I will write a review for one if its on here.

The refunding of the money was an ongoing drama also.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Have just returned from Magic Mountain and what can i say... Fantastic!! Please dont let the following reviews put you off. Travelled with family 2 adults and 4 children aged 10, 11, 12 & 12. The apartment was huge (we stayed in a 3 bedroom ocean view apartment) with a great view of the sea. Our room number was A11, but if you can try to get the room above that. The view to the city in A11 is partially blocked by a couple of trees however, if your tall, or stand on a chair you can easily see Pacific Fair (shopping mall) and Conrad Jupiters (casino). On arrival (Sunday afternoon) there was no-one manning the front desk and the door to reception was locked. Through the intercom system someone arrived to give us our key and swipe card to the gates. The apartment was huge! A large lounge and dining area which opens on to the big veranda (overlooking the sea). The main bedroom has a walk in wardrobe and ensuite. The other room (double bed) had a small veranda overlooking the bottom pool. The final room had two single beds. The main bathroom had a shower over the bath and a slide door hiding the washing machine and dryer. Did i mention the kitchen had a dishwasher (what more could you ask for?).

I cant really comment on service beacause we never had to deal with any of the workers, i guess we were lucky. The pools were great enjoyed by all. We mostly spent our time in the middle pool (heated) and the spa(overlooking amazing views of the ocean and Surfers Paradise). We dipped in and out of the top pool (but was freezing at this time of year). The shops at the bottom of the hill are ok (for essentials) however, im not sure about paying $7.00 AUD a fish(you can work that one out).

On the whole... We had a fabulous time at Magic Mountain! We are very down to earth people however have stayed at many hotels and resorts all over the world. Last tip... Pay the extra for ocean view. Its worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Magic mountain was everything we thought it would be. We visited in April 2009 with our 4 children aged 5-12. The kids had a ball in each of the 3 pools they have especially the rooftop pool which has amazing views of the Gold Coast and of the Ocean.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to an Ocean View room as soon as we arrived and the sunrises are just incredible.
We had our own car so the climb up the hill wasnt really a problem for us, and we did venture out for a few walks. Older folk or people with disabilities would not be advised to walk down the hill then back up.
The bus to surfers leaves from virtually right out the front on the Gold Coast Hwy and costs hardly anything for a daily ticket between Miami and Surfers.
The group of shops on the doorstep have 2 of the best bakeries in Australia, the pies are simply amazing.
A great tip by another reviewer is to take your own food and water to the theme parks to avoid getting riipped off. The little IGA just down the road has 2 litre bottles chilled for $1.50.
The rooms were spacious and clean and although we didnt cook for the 10 nights we stayed there the stove etc were in good condition.
The beds were comfortable too and each room has great views of the lagoon pool. The atmosphere was very family friendly.
One piece of advice is DO NOT FEED THE MAGPIES!! They are pests on the balcony and multiply quickly if there is food around. They even come into the rooms if you leave the door open.
Theme park tickets are discounted at the reception (cheaper than RACV). If you are looking for great deals on Theme Park tix try ebay. they always seem to have 50% off dreamworld/whitewater world vouchers which we used and saved a fortune.
Overall you cannot go wrong with Magic mountain and as they have so many rooms i would advise to book closer to your intended holiday to save a bit of money.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikey555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed in this hotel over New Years Eve and it was very impressive. As it is set up on a hill it has the most amazing views of Surfers Paradise. The infinity pool at the top of the resort, so called because the sea looks like a continuation of the pool itself as it drops over the side, is stunning. The apartment was massive - it had 3 bedrooms and comfortably slept 6 adults and 2 children. It was clean and reasonably priced. Although it is a taxi ride away from Surfers, there is a beach and a nice restaurant within walking distance (however the uphill climb back to the resort is a killer!). I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.1 mi away
Grangewood Court Apartments Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#8 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast
Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast
#73 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boulevard North Apartments
Boulevard North Apartments
#24 of 35 in Broadbeach
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boulevard Towers
Boulevard Towers
#14 of 35 in Broadbeach
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Markham Court
Markham Court
#18 of 35 in Broadbeach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast

Property: Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast
Address: 1 Great Hall Drive | Nobby Beach, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic Mountain is a family resort with spacious 2 and 3 bedroom self contained apartments. The 3 outdoor pools (lagoon pool with a sandy beach on each end, heated rock pool and infinity pool with adjoining spa at the top of the complex) cater for everyone. The tropical garden with waterfalls complete the setting for a very enjoyable holiday. The complex is within short walking distance to some of the famous restaurants and coffee shops in Nobby Beach. Situated on the Gold Coast Highway with public transport to the major shopping centers and theme parks a short stroll away. The refurbish gym can keep any fitness freaks busy for a while and the few steps in the complex will definitely be an inspiration to all couch potatoes. The stunning views around the pools and awesome ocean and hinter land views from the infinity pool create that perfect backdrop for to capture some photographic keepsakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Magic Mountain Hotel Gold Coast
Magic Mountain Surfers Paradise
Magic Mountain Resort Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing