We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average apartment building with nothing particularly remarkable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Equinox Resort Apartments
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed in February 2010, and were under-whelmed by the equinox. It's a pretty cheap apartment building, and it showed. No air-con (at least not in our room), a small amount of bent cutlery, no hair dryer, and decor from the 1970s.
It was a decent place, fairly clean, none of the cockroaches that others have warned about, but there was nothing remarkable about it, and we wouldn't bother going back.
The facilities (pool, sauna, etc) were well maintained and quite pleasant, but they don't really quality the equinox as a "resort"

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kludge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2009

We stayed at the Equinox for a week in October/November and found it to be clean and as modern as you'd expect from a 3 1/2 star place. Location is wonderful, right across from the beach, right on the indy track, and right near public transport. I was a little hesitant about staying after reading other reviews but I didnt see one cockroach the whole week and the staff were prompt and friendly in helping us with absolutely anything we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripper072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

The apartment has the facilities but not all in reasonable working conditions due to lacking in regular maintenance - it made our stay in GC unpleasant.

We were booked in for 6 days in an apartment that offered the facilities as described by the website, all but they were not in proper working/usable conditions. To mention a few, faulty air conditional unit, tv set without power supply cord, bathroom without screen door, etc. We had also sighted in the kitchen and toilet of the unwarranted visitors at night - the cockroaches.

Non of the faulty facilities were fixed on the day when we checked out and the reason was: each unit is privately owned and the management must get the consent from the owner prior to any repairs being carried out as the owner is responsible to foot the bill.

Honestly, what it really makes us upset is the reception did not take the initiative to tell us the truth about the faulty facilities of the room that we were about to check in.

To fellow travellers: Avoid it. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
2  Thank toasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We stayed here as we booked late and it was the only place in our price range that could do 5 nights in a row. In need of refurbishment, the carpets were so dirty the soles of my feet were black when I walked bare foot on them. Cockroaches in the kithcen and bathroom. The base of the bath was so badly scratched you wouldn't want to sit in it. The stove was very old and unclean. Washing machine on our floor didn't work so had to go to the next floor. Then had to pay $4 to wash a load of clothes.

Very nice reception staff the only thing that made the stay bearable.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerproust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

When you can't sleep at night because of the cockroaches something is very wrong. We are talking 100s of little ones!

Me and my Wife arrived in this great location called Surfers Paradise. We checked in at the Equinox Sun resort. We stocked up the small fridge in the self contain apartment that had only one good thing about it- the sea view!
We went out for an evening meal. After we came back to our apartment we noticed the roaches around our bed, in the bathroom, on the balcony...The kitchen was infested.
Reception was closed. Lights were on all night.
We asked to be moved but the place was booked up...
Result 3 sleepless nights and nightmares about the Golden Coast.
IF YOU CAN, AVOID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank quikreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

Do not ever stay at this hotel, it was the worst holiday experience of my life. The website is very misleading about the facilities and the quality of the resort is deserving of a negative star. The title of 'Resort' should not be applied to The Equinox, but rather budget motel. The kitchen facilities were shocking, as the website states full kitchen facilities which were actually anything but. The bathrooms were in much need of a renovation and the fixtures kept breaking. Also, the gym can hardly be classified as a gym. It consisted of one multi purpose machine and one treadmill, unable to accomodate more than 2 people at a time. Overall, the Equinox should be demolished.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jimbojones12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Friedel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
319 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,722 reviews
1.1 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equinox Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equinox Resort Apartments

Address: 3458 Main Beach Parade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £53 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Equinox Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve a holiday experience to remember at Equinox Resort every single apartment at Equinox has majestic WOW ocean views of our clean, uncrowded Surfers Paradise Beach... 30 metres away Relax... on our unique roof top Sun Deck, overlooking the Ocean, in the Spa, Pool, Steam room or Sauna, do a Gym workout, all free play a fun game of Billiards, Air Hockey, Tennis or even Squash! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Equinox Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equinox Resort Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing