We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location + Price = good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location + Price = good value”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a really good option if you're looking for a nice break but don't want to spend a fortune. The staff are really helpful and most rooms have views to the beach which is a major part of enjoying your stay on the Goldy. The best views are on the Southeast Corner...on the 10th-14th floors. I booked at peak time (and last minute) so I got the opposite corner on the first floor.....so not a great view - but a view none the less. The positive spin on that room was that we were on street level without using the lifts. The units themselves are all different but neat, clean and relatively modern. Our two teen boys loved it......800 meters from Cavill Ave and there is a buss near by which took them to the theme parks. No car required in this location. Note there is building in front of these apartments that obscures "some" views - next time I'll try to get an apartment that is not affected by this. (but hey - it was the last room available). The ground, pool and two spa's are clean and never really packed with people. (even in peak season).

You're right across the road from the most beautiful beach. The more up-market hotels close by were at least double the price. This is not my first stay on the Gold Coast but I rate this place and recommend it to people who want good value in a great spot. We enjoyed our 10 days there.

Room Tip: Rooms 1101, 1404 and 1004 for best quality. Each apartment is individually owned. Book early for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delirant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    46
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redbank Plains, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I recently stayed at Surf Regency for 3 nights on the 9th floor (room 902), couldnt ask for better service or ammenities. The Managers of the apartments were very friendly and i often spotten them working around the manicured gardens.
The room was very spacious, fantastic ocean breeze and i must admit i had the best sleep during my stay (the bed was amazing).
Didnt have to get in my car once during my stay, Cavil mall is only 2 blocks away and very central to everything Surfers has to offer. Patroled beach directly across the road with toilet block and shower as you walk on/off the beach (handy if you got kiddies)

Absolute value for money and will definately go back without hesitation!
Thank you Surf Regency :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kym213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I could not have asked for anymore, next to the beach, in the heart of Surfers. Walking distance to shops restaurant and easy transport to all locations on the coast. Staff very friendly and happy atmosphere. Great choice for me. I'll be back thank you Surf regency. .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Had my Schoolies at surf regency. What a blast. Me and my friends had a ball. So close to everything. The managers were brilliant and the security guys so understanding. A bit strict on the drinks but we te place is the best.
Ill be back next year for sure.
Cynthia

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Please note these comments are aimed to feedback in a constructive way.

The first thing that greeted us as we walked in the apartment was that dusty/moisty smell. Could have done with some air freshener. The unit was between to-stay or not-to-stay for us, but we had to stay considering it's Christmas period and didn't want the hassles to spoil our holidays.

While the toilets are clean, there were thick dusts on window sills/crevices and drapes/curtains, and bed covers are screaming to be washed/replaced - bed covers we had to use inside-out to cover the very old and grubby lounge suit that needs to go to the dump as it is also very dirty and definitely had it. My family sneezed each time we open the window drapes and this is no exageration.

While the unit is somewhat spacious, we could have done with a bit more kitchen tools that the very limited provided - surely a 2bed 4persons capacity apartment would need more than a 2slice toaster. Dryer is good and does the job but the washing machine's laundy soap dispenser is gone making it a waste of time/energy to do washing. Apartment facilities are ok - happy so long as sauna, pool and spa are working. Kitchen utensils were dirty but in drawers - very obvious that previous occupants just chucked them there without really washing them. This makes that reminder note for occupants to wash them before leaving or a charge will apply is not effective and compromises apartment's hygiene standards and future occupants safety. I believe that when it comes to hygiene and safety cleanliness, yhe unit and everything in it must not be left on client and owners should take responsibility for. And not meaning to be picky but to put a note for occupants to leave a Homebrand 50ml dishwashing liquid (must cost less than a $1 in bulkbuy) in the room is a bit insulting for guests, especially for the tariff charged - we actually had to buy another that actually does the job.

For the price paid especially during Christmas time, we'd take our $ and pay a bit more to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: A/C is only in the lounge room and none in bedrooms - a necessity especially during Queensland summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

When we first arrived we were disappointed at the state of our room, it felt very grubby & the toilets were both quite messy. The shower & floors had alot of marks that were very easy to remove with a wet cloth so I don't know why they hadn't been done.Something had been spilt down the wall beside one of the beds. The room was serviced once during our 10 day stay which was fine but the toilets were still not cleaned & the floors weren't either. We came across cockroaches twice during our stay, once in one of the bedrooms & once in the kitchen. The kitchen cutlery wasn't very clean & the spatula was so melted & caked with food that we went & bought a new one. There was a computer downstairs to use the internet for $2 per 15 minutes, it was ok when it worked but during our stay we had three times when it played up & we didn't receive our money back or replacement time on it. Elevators stunk of urine also. The room was very muggy & we the air conditioner was down the opposite end of the apartment to the bedrooms which made for some restless hot nights trying to sleep.

The location is great, very close to Cavill Mall & to the beach. Underground parking was very handy & the staff we encountered were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights on the 14th floor. Though the room was not like a hotel room, it was definitely clean and comfortable. While we only used the microwave & the fridge, they did have an oven and cook-top, washing machines & dryer as well. They have a decent pool and a nice spa.
My experience with the staff has been good.

But the best part about this place is the location & the view. Its right on surfers paradise beach and all you have to do to take a dip in the ocean is cross the road. All the local attractions are within a 5 minute walk radius. The view from my unit was to die for. I could see the sea unobstucted, both from living room & the bedroom. (and it was not noisy at nights, except for the sound of waves)

It was definitely worth the money I paid for it.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floor and facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aditya_ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#76 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#23 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Apartments
Aloha Apartments
#99 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#42 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Tropez Apartments
St. Tropez Apartments
#45 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Property: Surf Regency Apartments
Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing