We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but rooms are in need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and in easy reach of the shops and restaurants.
Unfortunately the 3 days that we stayed were the same days as Ex-cyclone Oswald also hit.
Although we still managed to get out and about quite a lot the beach was closed much of the time. There are only so many times that you can go around the shops and people were advised not to drive about due to the conditions. We therefore spent a lot of time in our room.
The room is a great size with balcony doors from the living area and bedroom. The decor is dingy and the kitchen and bathroom are very dated.
The washer drier was very welcome though as we were soaked most of the time!!
If we had been able to spend our days on the beach then the room would not have bothered us as much.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful especially when the fire alarms went off late one night due to damp in the alarm censors!!

Room Tip: Request a high room due to the hotel in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had the most wonderful week at the Gold Coast , thanks to the Surf Regency. First off , its a fabulous location , & the views were simply staggering. We were so close to all the action , however , once we closed the doors , we could not hear a thing. Our unit was a little dated , but we didnt care , we were either on the beach 20m away , on the Balcony , or asleep (The bed was super comfy). The managers were so friendly & accomodating , we couldnt speak more highly. All in all , we highly reccomend the surf regency & we will definately be going back !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a really good option if you're looking for a nice break but don't want to spend a fortune. The staff are really helpful and most rooms have views to the beach which is a major part of enjoying your stay on the Goldy. The best views are on the Southeast Corner...on the 10th-14th floors. I booked at peak time (and last minute) so I got the opposite corner on the first floor.....so not a great view - but a view none the less. The positive spin on that room was that we were on street level without using the lifts. The units themselves are all different but neat, clean and relatively modern. Our two teen boys loved it......800 meters from Cavill Ave and there is a buss near by which took them to the theme parks. No car required in this location. Note there is building in front of these apartments that obscures "some" views - next time I'll try to get an apartment that is not affected by this. (but hey - it was the last room available). The ground, pool and two spa's are clean and never really packed with people. (even in peak season).

You're right across the road from the most beautiful beach. The more up-market hotels close by were at least double the price. This is not my first stay on the Gold Coast but I rate this place and recommend it to people who want good value in a great spot. We enjoyed our 10 days there.

Room Tip: Rooms 1101, 1404 and 1004 for best quality. Each apartment is individually owned. Book early for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delirant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I recently stayed at Surf Regency for 3 nights on the 9th floor (room 902), couldnt ask for better service or ammenities. The Managers of the apartments were very friendly and i often spotten them working around the manicured gardens.
The room was very spacious, fantastic ocean breeze and i must admit i had the best sleep during my stay (the bed was amazing).
Didnt have to get in my car once during my stay, Cavil mall is only 2 blocks away and very central to everything Surfers has to offer. Patroled beach directly across the road with toilet block and shower as you walk on/off the beach (handy if you got kiddies)

Absolute value for money and will definately go back without hesitation!
Thank you Surf Regency :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kym213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I could not have asked for anymore, next to the beach, in the heart of Surfers. Walking distance to shops restaurant and easy transport to all locations on the coast. Staff very friendly and happy atmosphere. Great choice for me. I'll be back thank you Surf regency. .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Had my Schoolies at surf regency. What a blast. Me and my friends had a ball. So close to everything. The managers were brilliant and the security guys so understanding. A bit strict on the drinks but we te place is the best.
Ill be back next year for sure.
Cynthia

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Please note these comments are aimed to feedback in a constructive way.

The first thing that greeted us as we walked in the apartment was that dusty/moisty smell. Could have done with some air freshener. The unit was between to-stay or not-to-stay for us, but we had to stay considering it's Christmas period and didn't want the hassles to spoil our holidays.

While the toilets are clean, there were thick dusts on window sills/crevices and drapes/curtains, and bed covers are screaming to be washed/replaced - bed covers we had to use inside-out to cover the very old and grubby lounge suit that needs to go to the dump as it is also very dirty and definitely had it. My family sneezed each time we open the window drapes and this is no exageration.

While the unit is somewhat spacious, we could have done with a bit more kitchen tools that the very limited provided - surely a 2bed 4persons capacity apartment would need more than a 2slice toaster. Dryer is good and does the job but the washing machine's laundy soap dispenser is gone making it a waste of time/energy to do washing. Apartment facilities are ok - happy so long as sauna, pool and spa are working. Kitchen utensils were dirty but in drawers - very obvious that previous occupants just chucked them there without really washing them. This makes that reminder note for occupants to wash them before leaving or a charge will apply is not effective and compromises apartment's hygiene standards and future occupants safety. I believe that when it comes to hygiene and safety cleanliness, yhe unit and everything in it must not be left on client and owners should take responsibility for. And not meaning to be picky but to put a note for occupants to leave a Homebrand 50ml dishwashing liquid (must cost less than a $1 in bulkbuy) in the room is a bit insulting for guests, especially for the tariff charged - we actually had to buy another that actually does the job.

For the price paid especially during Christmas time, we'd take our $ and pay a bit more to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: A/C is only in the lounge room and none in bedrooms - a necessity especially during Queensland summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aegean Apartments
Aegean Apartments
#35 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £76 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing