We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf Regency Apartments..fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surf Regency Apartments..fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I flew from WA last week to the Gold Coast to have a mini break with the kids. The Surf Regency was an absolute delight to stay at and had everything we needed to cater for the needs of our family of five.
We stayed on the 10th floor and had sweeping gorgeous ocean views all around.The views at night of the city lights were breathtaking too. Besides veiws from our own apartment we had the bonus of the deck on the top of the building where we could sit in the spa, have a bbq and view surfers paradise from the roof... it was incredible!
Staff are lovely and quick to assist. We timed our arrival too early for check in (2pm). They allowed us to use the facilities until the apartment was ready for us. The kids swam in the pool and used the spa and we went and sat up on the roof deck. As soon as the previous guests left they cleaned the rooms and allowed us to be in there for 11am.
We had undercover security parking for our car at the hotel and easy access to all major attractions as the apartments are in the heart of everything we wanted to see and do.
We would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay and would definately come back here and recommend Surf Regency to our friends and family.. Scott and Sally Steedman and family. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as you can get and you will get the best views! :)
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    46
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our two-bedroom apartment on the fifth floor had comfy beds, a decent kitchen, a lovely living area and a great balcony for chilling out with a cool view of the surrounds. Check-in etc was all very easy. Underground, secure parking. An excellent spot - a short stroll to the beach and the centre of Surfers, but just out-of-the-way enough to avoid any noise issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very convenient location, 5 to 10 mins walk to eatery place even after near to midnite and 10 mins walk to bus stops. Basically you can take most of the popular destination by bus. With a family size of 5, 2 adults, 2 teenager and a 9 year old daughter, we rented a 2 rooms apartment. We get a superb view of the surfers paradise ocean view and the room size of the apartment is reasonably good. The kitchen utilities and washing facilities are just nice for family stay.

There are 5 star service, but the apartment reception lady, Jacqueline was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a free nite use of the apartment (leaving our luggage in the room) as we went to Moreton island for a nite stay. Super!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den6268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUCKLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Surf Regency from 06 - 13 August and we couldnt be happier with the product and service we recieved.
I am a travel agent so I can be extremely picky as luckily I have had the opportunity to stay in some beautiful places but though this property may be a bit tired the value for money is awesome. We stayed in a One Bedroom Apartment on level 10 and thought it was fantastic!! You could not get better views!! The living area/Kitchen was a great size with full kitchen (including electric frypans, pots microwave etc) dinning table to sit six, and two lounge suites.
The bedroom was a great size with ensuite/bathroom off that. The bathroom also included a washing machine and dryer which was definately a added bonus. Bathroom was tired but again when your spending between AUD90 - AUD110 you expect that.
The decks are a great size (not huge) but do have a couple of chairs and a small table, perfect for breakfast in the sun.
The location of the property can not be faulted, a slow 5 minute walk if that to Cavill Ave and the action but far enough away in the early hours of the morning when the Gold Coast can like everywhere become rather loud with people coming home from the bars. The night markets on Wednesday and Friday from 5 - 9 are a must and you can see the stall being set up from your balcony.
Car Parking was free of charge which was great when you've hired a car, easy entry and onsite makes it even better.
Over all this property is definately one I would HIGHLY recommend to clients staying on the Gold Coast that don't want to spend the earth. If your wanting a comfortable room, which is secure, in a great location, that has great service then its definately a place for you.

Room Tip: Request higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZTRAVELLERS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here from 5th check in was unpleasant as we're not advised of deposit.
So after I gave my deposit in 5c pieces that I obtained from bank from a friend.
6th July police were called in regards to someone smoking illegal substance on our level.
After a search was conducted where they found nothing as we had nothing being travellers.
Police asked me if I robbed a arms guard as it was implied by front office we were dodgey were 2 young girls on holiday.

We are now in process with our lawyer of sueing surfers regency for discrimination and defimation of character.

Not a pleasant stay at all. Would not stay here rooms old but cleanish.
Can't use balcony from 10pm to 7am.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfreg, Manager at Surf Regency Apartments, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Firstly, it is normal practice and stated on the booking form that we take a $100 deposit to secure a booking - hence the request for credit card details.
Also standard practice to take credit card details or cash deposit for security purposes.
Who provides $100 in 5 cent pieces? There was some suspicion as to the source of all this coin so on checking with our local police they arrived quickly and in numbers, unsure if it was the coin or other information that triggered such response.
They still decided to stay in our dump for 3 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We just arrived back from a wonderful time at the Gold Coast. We stayed at Surf Regency for a week on the 6th floor. we had great views and it was close to everything. You could just walk to many restaurants and attractions and the beach is just accross the road. The apartment wasn't very clean when we got there, which was a bit of a shame because you do like to walk in and see everything clean as it should be. We let the manager know and he was very apologetic about it and told us that they had relief staff over the Easter long weekend. He gave us 2 breakfast vouchers to use at Surfers RSL and that was great, the fact that they acknowledged it was important to us. It has a swimming pool and great spa that we used and were very happy to just laze around on the deck chairs. The staff are happy to help with any info you may need on attractions and how to get there or the shopping centres. I asked for a roll away bed for myself, eventhough there was a queen bed mum and I could share, but I wanted to sleep on my own and the staff were happy to give me one at no extra cost. This isn't a 5 star hotel but it is very comfortable and a convenient location, it has everything you need. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We started our trip on the 7th Feb 2013. Stayed as a couple for a total of 10 days on the 12th floor with an ocean view.

The location was 2 blocks from all the action, right across the road from the beach and a couple 100 metres away from the bus stops which go to all the theme parks and shopping centres.
The view from the apartment was beautiful with plenty of entertainment, as there are many events viewable from the balcony.
The room was very clean and quite spacious.
Only complaints would be that the bed was 2 singles velcro'd together, which actually made it much larger than most beds, still comfy and wasn't that big a deal. Also, the shower was a bit clogged and the door was hard to close.
Overall a great place to stay and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying there !


  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annafjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#76 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#23 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Apartments
Aloha Apartments
#99 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#42 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Tropez Apartments
St. Tropez Apartments
#45 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Property: Surf Regency Apartments
Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing