We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad given its location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed there in March 2013. The place is quite old, however, some apartments are relatively good, with new Panasonic aircon. The Living room and the bedroom are separated by the sliding door in front of which there is an air-conditioning unit (in the living room) and points towards the bedroom. So if you have quite a few people there you will have to share its power for both the bedroom and the lounge room. The Size of the unit is quite good. (bigger definitely than in Beachcomber).

There is a Jacuzzi in the roof! and the sauna is on the roof too. The sauna is alright. The views from the roof are great. There is only one pool outdoors.

The proximity of this place to the water was quite important for me so if you can get yourself a pretty good deal, it might be worth it. It could range from 310 to 340 a week depending on the season if you pay on a weekly basis.

Room Tip: Ask for something higher than the 3rd floor, there are only 4 permanent residents so chances are you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

First impression step in the apartment was not so clean, looks old like the 70's. The washing machine was so dirty after a wash left with yellow and black stains on my brand shirt as well my son t-shirt. After left the apartment I raise a complaint to the owner she said "its not her responsibility!, and cannot do anything about it". Paying a lot of money staying at this apartment is not worthwhile. The pictures showed on websites is not what it looks like. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfreg, Manager at Surf Regency Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I was very disappointed to read this review. No complaint was made while the guest was in-house. It was only on departure that the problem with the washing machine was mentioned. I did advise guest that I would check the washing machine and give her a call. This was done and a payment was made to compensate for the children's damaged items of clothing even though a test load of whites came out fine. As all of our apartments are individually owned, the décor in each apartment differs, this apartment was last fully renovated in 2005 - it is not possible for us to feature all apartments, but overall we are a 3.5 Star AAA Rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned home after a 10-day stay at the Surf Regency. We're happy to give it our very best recommendations. We had a really nice 1-bedroom apartment on the 14 floor, clean and tidy with a good bathroom, nice shower, very comfortable king-size bed, good storage, sport and movie TV channels, and a great little kitchen with everything we needed. The room had sliding doors leading out to the balcony where we had the most amazing sea-views you can imagine. Absolutely fantastic!!! We could sit on the balcony and spot humpback whales frolicking in the water. Priceless!! The managers were very friendly and helpful. There's a nice swimming pool and spa-pool on the ground level plus another spa-pool on the roof-terrace. The beach is SO close, and the Cavill Mall in the centre of Surfers is only a few streets away. Even so, it's remarkably quiet at night, even in the weekend. Thank you Surf Regency staff - we loved our stay with you and we'll definitely be back!!! Best wishes from René and Liz Lammers

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 419Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I flew from WA last week to the Gold Coast to have a mini break with the kids. The Surf Regency was an absolute delight to stay at and had everything we needed to cater for the needs of our family of five.
We stayed on the 10th floor and had sweeping gorgeous ocean views all around.The views at night of the city lights were breathtaking too. Besides veiws from our own apartment we had the bonus of the deck on the top of the building where we could sit in the spa, have a bbq and view surfers paradise from the roof... it was incredible!
Staff are lovely and quick to assist. We timed our arrival too early for check in (2pm). They allowed us to use the facilities until the apartment was ready for us. The kids swam in the pool and used the spa and we went and sat up on the roof deck. As soon as the previous guests left they cleaned the rooms and allowed us to be in there for 11am.
We had undercover security parking for our car at the hotel and easy access to all major attractions as the apartments are in the heart of everything we wanted to see and do.
We would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay and would definately come back here and recommend Surf Regency to our friends and family.. Scott and Sally Steedman and family. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as you can get and you will get the best views! :)
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our two-bedroom apartment on the fifth floor had comfy beds, a decent kitchen, a lovely living area and a great balcony for chilling out with a cool view of the surrounds. Check-in etc was all very easy. Underground, secure parking. An excellent spot - a short stroll to the beach and the centre of Surfers, but just out-of-the-way enough to avoid any noise issues.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very convenient location, 5 to 10 mins walk to eatery place even after near to midnite and 10 mins walk to bus stops. Basically you can take most of the popular destination by bus. With a family size of 5, 2 adults, 2 teenager and a 9 year old daughter, we rented a 2 rooms apartment. We get a superb view of the surfers paradise ocean view and the room size of the apartment is reasonably good. The kitchen utilities and washing facilities are just nice for family stay.

There are 5 star service, but the apartment reception lady, Jacqueline was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a free nite use of the apartment (leaving our luggage in the room) as we went to Moreton island for a nite stay. Super!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den6268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Surf Regency from 06 - 13 August and we couldnt be happier with the product and service we recieved.
I am a travel agent so I can be extremely picky as luckily I have had the opportunity to stay in some beautiful places but though this property may be a bit tired the value for money is awesome. We stayed in a One Bedroom Apartment on level 10 and thought it was fantastic!! You could not get better views!! The living area/Kitchen was a great size with full kitchen (including electric frypans, pots microwave etc) dinning table to sit six, and two lounge suites.
The bedroom was a great size with ensuite/bathroom off that. The bathroom also included a washing machine and dryer which was definately a added bonus. Bathroom was tired but again when your spending between AUD90 - AUD110 you expect that.
The decks are a great size (not huge) but do have a couple of chairs and a small table, perfect for breakfast in the sun.
The location of the property can not be faulted, a slow 5 minute walk if that to Cavill Ave and the action but far enough away in the early hours of the morning when the Gold Coast can like everywhere become rather loud with people coming home from the bars. The night markets on Wednesday and Friday from 5 - 9 are a must and you can see the stall being set up from your balcony.
Car Parking was free of charge which was great when you've hired a car, easy entry and onsite makes it even better.
Over all this property is definately one I would HIGHLY recommend to clients staying on the Gold Coast that don't want to spend the earth. If your wanting a comfortable room, which is secure, in a great location, that has great service then its definately a place for you.

Room Tip: Request higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZTRAVELLERS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#20 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#30 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#58 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Apartments
Aloha Apartments
#109 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#54 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Address: 9 Laycock Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £92 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing