We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality for such little price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality for such little price.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Surfers Hawaiian for a week long holiday. After reading some reviews I will admit I was a little worried but upon arrival, all my worries went away. We were greeted by a very helpful manager and receptionist. We didn't have our bond on us at the time as we had only just gotten to the Gold Coast and don't usually carry cash around. Upon stating this the manager explained that we could take our bags up to our room, get settled in and relaxed. Then as long as we had the bond by the time they closed everything would be fine. We arrived around 2pm so this gave us a good few hours to get the bond.

Throughout our stay both the manager and receptionist were extremely helpful and aided us in anything we needed such as directions, the nearest shopping centres, market times and such.

The room was very spacious and clean. We had an amazing view of the city from the balcony, we preferred this to the ocean view. The kitchen was fully stocked and everything was working. The bathrooms were clean and modern and everything about our room was excellent!

The fact that these rooms are self services apartments gives you the freedom to come and go as you please, and not be interrupted by anyone. We actually very rarely came across others during our stay and the quietness made for a goodnight sleep.

The only problem with our room, was a small tear in the couch. We went down and told management and he explained to us that it was fine and he knows it wasn't us that did it, because he was still chasing after the ones who did! Considering this was our only problem I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

On our departure, we were a tad worried of how we would get out bond back as we paid in cash and would be leaving just as the hotel opened to catch our flight home. After explaining this at the reception desk, the receptionist explained that she generally arrived half an hour early anyway and she would see what she could do for us. As we were waiting for our transport to arrive both the manager and receptions came out to see us and explain that they had indeed already checked our room and gave us back our bond. For such a professional team, we had no problems sitting down and having a good old chat with them as we were entering and leaving.

Thanks so much for such an amazing week away, we were extremely happy with your services!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    18
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
34
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking for a short stay due to unforeseen circumstances at a previous property . Greeted with a friendly and helpful manager .apartment was clean and tidy and very spacious . Great views of the river and small peek on beachside . Very central and great location , loved this place .

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

When first checked in we didnt feel very welcomed. Having travelled abroad to stay at hawaiian apartments for the week we imagined we would have been welcomed with a smiling face. We were wrong, it seemed we were irritating them with our check in and they couldn't wait to sit back at the computer, as he was most likely responding to another negative review.

Already having paid the full price of the room, one of the members of our party disnt have $75 cash to pay their share of the bond. Explaining he would go to the ATM once his bags were upstairs, the manager threatened that if it was not received by 5pm he would be evicted. Although this isn't extreme and the manager was ensuring he received the full bond of $300 it's not how you want to be greeted by the manager and left us with a bad first impression.

As soon as we got to our room we noticed a few dints in the wall and scratches so we took photos of the whole apartment should we be blamed for them later. We also cleaned a red thick substance off the wall which we presumed was dry tomato sauce. After having a rest in bed we went and got lunch out of the apartment which was interrupted by an intense itch experienced by one member of our party. Lifting up his shirt he had bites all over that itched and stayed sore and swollen for 4 days. Seeing another review of this hotel report bed bugs we assumed it could have been this. This was later confirmed at the doctors where he received several creams for treatment.

That aside the units were very under equipped. He had limited pots and pans and the no covers for our bed dooners. The room also smelt pungent for the first few days which we traced was coming from the pipes. It did leave once we opened all the windows and doors. Talking to our friends from another room they had it even worse. The microwave didn't work so they had to use ours on another floor. The cupboards in the bathrooms were all broken and the brackets that held back the dishwasher were broken which meant the dishwasher would fall forward and incapable of use.

On check out day we knew an inspection was necessary to receive our cash bond back. What we didn't know though is that we all had to leave the room for this to happen. After a 20 look the manager came back out holding a bracket from a drawer which was located in behind the sliding door wardrobe. He said we had broken it and the repair would come out of our bond. We explained we didn't even use that cupboard which he didnt accept. Saying 'you're young boys that have been drinking you would have broken it.' Not hiding that we had drunk beers throughout the week we argued that we don't stay in the bedroom ripping out drawers when drinking but rather on the balcony sitting and talking. His reply was that it must have been us since the cleaner wouldn't have left the broken bracket lying beside the drawer. We found this hard to believe as we were the ones who had to clean dried tomato sauce off the walls upon entry!

In hindsight we should have taken photos of every inch of the apartment and not just main areas and dints. We didn't imagine it was necessary to take photos of every drawer bracket. A few days later when home from our vacation we requested a picture of the receipt when he purchased the new bracket as he removed $25 from our bond. Instead of the printed shop receipt the manager sent a picture of the packet containing the bracket with a hand written "$13+ GST". We were abit confused as GST is always included on Australian purchased products and the fact he claimed GST was just as much as the product itself. Nevertheless, we didnt argue and just accepted it.

I would definitely recommend to any person staying that atleast one person should walk around with him when doing the inspection. All in all we were very disappointed and will not stay there again. I'm quite certain that my review will be responded to my management saying we were young, drunk, loud boys in attempt to lessen the validity of the review- but that does not degrade the fact of the stench, lack of pans, dooner covers, working appliances or bed bugs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stevetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
It is disappointing to receive reviews like this as at The Surfers Hawaiian we pride ourselves on our return guest business. I would like to clarify that the guests reviews are inaccurate and are the subject of current legal action in relation to claims of bed bugs.
It is common practice that on check in, in any hotel/apartment building a security deposit is required and every booking that is made at Surfers Hawaiian has been advised that on check in a $300.00 cash bond or pre authorisation on a credit card is required for security and any incidentals on the room.
At no stage did the guests report any damages that they state were in the apartment or any missing utensils or inoperable appliances. If there were any maintenance issues that needed attention we have an onsite officer to assist and replace items.
It is disturbing that the guest feels the need to claim there were bed bugs in the apartment as at no time did any guests report any issues relating to this and I am appalled that someone would make these false claims for their own hidden agenda.
It is hotel policy world wide that inspections are made on all departing guests units and that is when we discovered the broken drawer bracket, the guests were advised of the charge and a copy of the replacement bracket was sent to the guest.
I believe the guest was unhappy regarding the $ 25.00 repair charge which has led to this unproven degrading review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Upon arrival everything seemed ok - nice room and good location, not too expensive. However, the manager/owner's anger problem and high levels of aggression quickly became evident. Then a 'random room inspection' occurred, that involved our bags being searched while we were out enjoying our holiday, and our belongings (including underwear) being sprawled all over the floor. After this breech of privacy we attempted to have a calm conversation with the manager to express our concern in a reasonable manner but his blatant inability to reason or take any form of criticism instantly showed. He raised his voice and seemed eager to turn the discussion into an argument and made accusations that we 'obviously had something to hide'. Any attempt to reason or have a civil conversation was obviously lost with this unstable manager. Our then unpleasant and uneasy stay continued whilst the clearly spiteful manager continued to pick at any little detail he could label as 'misconduct' until he evicted us. The reason for eviction never became clear to us, as our attempts to understand the situation resulted in the manager yelling to us, saying that we would be made to forfeit our $600 bond despite no damage to the room. Even the reception staff confessed to the manager being 'cocky' and difficult to deal with. Extremely unpleasant experience

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
This review is very disappointing as we endeavour to meet all our guests
expectations.
In this instance I would like to clarify the guests were booked in for
“Schoolies Week” – “Celebration of High School Leavers 2012”
As part of their rules of registration all registered guests signed and acknowledged to abide by the Schoolies Rules.
It was clearly stated in the Schoolies Rules that –
• Management or Staff will inspect units daily.
• Upon check-in a security bond of $ 600.00 is required.
• Visitors of registered guests are not permitted in public areas between 6pm-7am.
• Outside these hours registered guests are restricted to 2 per apartment.
• No Alcohol permitted in swimming pool.
• No Glass permitted in any public area.
• No Refund of Tariff if evicted.

On the first night of the guests stay two glass alcohol bottles were found in the apartment by our onsite security during room checks.
A formal breach was issued.
Two days later the guests used the pool area and brought along an alcohol cask,
which they disposed of by the pool and there was also vomit found by the pool gate. (Other guests identified the offenders).
Male friends of guests were then found after 6pm and had glass bottles in the BBQ area.
The final straw was when the guests were found sneaking an unregistered male guest into apartment at 4.30am.

Due to numerous times they persisted in ignoring the “House Rules”
a final breach notice was issued for guests to vacate the premises.

At no stage was it mentioned to guests that the Security Bond of $ 600.00 would be forfeited, the guests did however leave the room in an unacceptable mess and a
$ 50.00 cleaning fee and $ 45.00 blind repair fee was charged.
The remaining bond of $ 505.00 was refunded.

I do not apologise for enforcing these rules which are designed to protect these young guests from outside predators.
Other guests should not have to tolerate anti-social behaviour from anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

To all viewers considering staying at this hotel I want you to know of our bad experience! the manager is by far one of the worst I have ever come across! we arrived about 6pm and the security guard took us in and exchanged keys and had us sign a set of rules. no where in these rules did they say that their staff members would be going through our suitcases in our rooms when we were not there! When we approached the manager politely just questioning why our personal items were obviously moved in our room, he was rude and started shouting at us and said he would not co operate with us when we said we simply don't want this stranger in our rooms when were not there. two days later the manager said to us we had to pay a $600 bond which was never clarified in the booking and the next day after doing so we had a friend come into our apartment for not even five minutes and then the manager kicked us out saying we breached agreement! we left the place in a suitable manner how it was and he refused bond because of this simple rule being broken and we were stuck with no where to stay and no money! worst experience of my life please listen to me and don't risk ruining your holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
This review is very disappointing as we endeavour to meet all our guests
expectations.
In this instance I would like to clarify the guests were booked in for
“Schoolies Week” – “Celebration of High School Leavers 2012”
As part of their rules of registration all registered guests signed and acknowledged to abide by the Schoolies Rules.
It was clearly stated in the Schoolies Rules that –
• Management or Staff will inspect units daily.
• Upon check-in a security bond of $ 600.00 is required.
• Visitors of registered guests are not permitted in public areas between 6pm-7am.
• Outside these hours registered guests are restricted to 2 per apartment.
• No Alcohol permitted in swimming pool.
• No Glass permitted in any public area.
• No Refund of Tariff if evicted.

On the first night of the guests stay two glass alcohol bottles were found in the apartment by our onsite security during room checks.
A formal breach was issued.
Two days later the guests used the pool area and brought along an alcohol cask,
which they disposed of by the pool and there was also vomit found by the pool gate. (Other guests identified the offenders).
Male friends of guests were then found after 6pm and had glass bottles in the BBQ area.
The final straw was when the guests were found sneaking an unregistered male guest into apartment at 4.30am.

Due to numerous times they persisted in ignoring the “House Rules”
a final breach notice was issued for guests to vacate the premises.

At no stage was it mentioned to guests that the Security Bond of $ 600.00 would be forfeited, the guests did however leave the room in an unacceptable mess and a
$ 50.00 cleaning fee and $ 45.00 blind repair fee was charged.
The remaining bond of $ 505.00 was refunded.

I do not apologise for enforcing these rules which are designed to protect these young guests from outside predators.
Other guests should not have to tolerate anti-social behaviour from anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at the Surfers Hawaiian for 10 days recently and I am happy to report that the facilities and rooms are really well maintained and we were pleasently suprising for the money we paid. My wife and I were very impressed with the fitout of the rooms and the size of the apartment, we normally stay at Crown Towers and I have to say, that I would rather stay at the Hawaiian from now on, hands down. The staff went out of their way to help us in any way they could. Every morning we would hop out of the lift to be greeted with a lovely smile and very genuine "Good Morning" from the staff member at reception, that started our day every time with a smile on our faces. Thanks again guys, you helped us to enjoy a very overdue holiday and we couldn't have been more impressed with your property. One night we got back at around 8:30pm on a Friday night only to realize that we had accidently left the keys in our room, we rang the after hours number and the owner was out to dinner with friends about 20km's away, he said no problem, and he was there to let us into our room in about 20 minutes. We asked him how much for the call out and he said no charge, you just dont find that kind of service anymore. A++++++++ for everything. Thankyou highly recommended holiday destination in Surfer's Paradise.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff on reception to ask about view's etc, they are really friendly to deal with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_G_12598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for the fabulous reviews, it is always a pleasure for us to see guests enjoy their holiday with here on the Gold Coast, we look forward to welcoming you back and ask about our return guest specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I have stayed at Surfers Hawiian a few times ......I love the peace and quiet of the place .....The amenities such as spa and sauna are excellent ....It is located within a few minutes walk to the centre of Surfers and bus stop out the front to take you wherever you wish to go......the rooms are roomy clean and airy ....GReat views and the management on site are so helpful....they can organise tickets or you to shows and theme parks ....

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view .... It is perfect in the morning and a great view of a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazz818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldCoastHolidays, Manager at Surfers Hawaiian Apartments, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thanks for the fabulous review! Yes we are in a perfect location here and the staff will always do their best to complete the 'Gold Coast Getaway' experience so we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Hawaiian Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Hawaiian Apartments

Property: Surfers Hawaiian Apartments
Address: Surfers Hawian 2890 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Hawaiian Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Surfers Hawaiian Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing