We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Tropez Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Tropez Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Helensvale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here last weekend for my mates 20th and had one of the best weekends. you are'nt paying for the hilton so you wont get the hilton. Management are the nicest people and very easy to get along with. fully air conditioned rooms and a massive pool on our doorstep. There is an awesome lounge bar down stairs and the clubs are only a 100m walk. what more could you want.
will deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    25
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
21
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We read some reviews and were very apprehensive when we arrived however at the end of our stay, we have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and the staff. The couple running the place were very friendly and helpful. We arrived at 8.30am and they had no issues holding our bags until check in. We were given the option to wait a little later for a room that had recently been refurbished which we took. The room was fantastic, very clean and bright. The pool and gardens were beautiful. We left pretty late in the day and were given late check out for the inconvenience at the start of our stay (which was our choice!!)

very laid back, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rikki_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I booked over the phone. Judging by the photos of the resort it looked great, but when I got there I was severly disappointed. We arrived on a sunday and i was told by the lady at reception " if you need anything, just call reception, but I won't be here so...." then she laughed. What was the point in saying that to me?
We walked into our room and it absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke. There was mould in all the windows all through the bathroom, the doors to the bedroom and bathroom would not close. There were gouges on the walls, dents all over the fridge. It was very dirty! The dishes also felt greasy. Because we could not afford another accommodation We had no choice but to stay and try and make the best of it. So I went and bought some fabrize for the furniture, a smelly plug in, bleach and carpet spray and I cleaned it from top to bottom to make it inhabitable for us. On the 2nd night my daughter discovered ants in her bed so she slept on the couch for the rest of our stay. The outdoor area was horrible with a view to an old empty swimming pool. It also had a big hole in the ground that was surrounded by fencing. The pool was clean but has missing tiles throughout it, but the outdoor spa was not working. This place is very run down, and is in serious need of a refurbishment.
The only good thing about this place is the location which was fantastic.
Very disappointing stay :(

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Manager at St. Tropez Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Reception hours do not usually cover all day Sunday opening. After hours night service was available.
If you had come down to reception on the Monday after you arrived to tell us about your cleaning concerns, we would have addressed this at the start of your stay. At no time did you address this with us at reception.
The empty swimming pool belongs to the property next door.
There are issues with the operation of the spa currently with the Body Corporate.
Over the next 12 months there are major refurbishments for this property with the common areas and the apartments.
We are offering budget accommodation in a fantastic location, right in the heart of Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

So....day one. We enter the 'resort' and check in to find that we needed to deposit a $100 bond that we were never informed of prior to our stay. We then entered our room on the first floor to find an utter dump. Holes in the walls, rust coloured stains and broken furniture. We then went into the bedroom to find our bedroom light wasnt functioning. We then went and reported it and were informed a handy man would be coming past. When he finally showed up we were informed that they knew it was broken and that there was nothing he could do. After he left I opened up the remote and fixed the light myself. that night I went to the toilet to find a giant cochroach..i was not impressed. Hoping it was a one time occurence I went back to sleep. for the remainder of the week I probably killed 3-4 cochroaches per day. I would not recomend this hell to anybody. Cochroaches, no light, no spa and tiles broken in the pool. This place is a safety anf health hazard.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Manager at St. Tropez Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
A security bond is standard practice.
In the apartment you stayed in, we have addressed the issues you have brought to our attention. The owner of the apartment is going to refurbish. Unfortunately all our apartments are individually owned and it often takes a comment such as yours to force owners to improve their presentation.
Cockroaches are a common Gold Coast pest, and the large ones do fly in. Our complex and apartments are regularly sprayed for pest control.
Our apartments meet health and safety standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel Agent in Southampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The location of the Breakfree St Tropez is perfect for both the shops and the spectacular beach of Surfer's Paradise. Although the rooms were a little tired and could do with a lick of paint they were very clean, big and even came with a washing machine & tumble dryer for no extra charge! The bed was also very comfy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

there were 3 girls for a girls weekend away we spent 3 nights here, we arrived and the spas were all were closed for maintenance and when we opened the door to the room cockroaches scurried around....

the beds left us itchy and they don't mind baggage so if you have a late flight you will have to make other arrangements

the shower was broken and would spray the laundry floor

in need of renovating

and no air con

for $150 a night it was terrible and i would never stay here again

but as a plus great for a big group of boys who just want to party and just need somewhere to stay

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Manager at St. Tropez Apartments, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
As the new manager of St Tropez I'm disappointed that your accommodation was less than what you expected. I would like to assure everyone that St Tropez now has a very comprehensive after hours service because we actually live on-site. Also, our policy is to assist our guests in everyway we can including the storing of their luggage either before book in or after departing the apartments. Shortly after we took over the management of the resort, we changed both the linen supplier and the company responsible for cleaning the rooms. The feedback we are now receiving from our guests is both positive and complimentary. It is a shame your stay was prior to our arrival as you missed the opportunity to experience our upgraded customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I rang this hotel at 3.15pm Saturday afternoon after a friend of mine had placed a tentative booking for me. He was advised that the booking needed to be confirmed by that evening. The woman who answered the phone rudely told me it was after hours and that she could not help me. I explained that the booking had to be confirmed, expecting she would give me a time I could call back ... no, she just kept saying "it is after hours I can only see the bookings that are coming in tonight". I then thanked her and said "I will find somewhere else to stay then", to which she hung up! I can't tell you what the hotel is like but I can tell you that the customer service is atrocious. Since reading reviews on this site, it looks like I may have dodged a bullet. My advice - find somewhere else that wants your business.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at St. Tropez Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to contact us regarding the problem you had with our after hours answering service. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. We recently purchased the management from Breakfree, and we take very seriously any opportunity to improve our guest's experiences. We look forward to welcoming you at St Tropez in the future so you can witness first hand the extra efforts we will go to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#27 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#43 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments
#83 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Sun Resort
Monte Carlo Sun Resort
#74 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#72 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Tropez Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Tropez Apartments

Property: St. Tropez Apartments
Address: 27-35 Orchid Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Tropez Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Tropez is a unique holiday apartment complex located in vibrant central Surfers Paradise.Designed in a sun-drenched Mediterranean style, this three-storey oasis is easily accessed without crowd or lift hassles.Comfortable, self-contained one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, allow guests an easy way to plan and budget their holiday.Most apartments have private balconies overlooking a heated outdoor pool and BBQ facilities set in a tropical garden courtyard. A short walk to patrolled golden beaches, world class shopping, beachside cafes and fine dining, famous tourist attractions and nightlife.Enjoy the buzz of Surfers from one of the best locations on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Tropez Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Tropez Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing