We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, big apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Tropez Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, big apartment”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights early July, it was a bit cold but the heater worked so it wasn't a problem. The owners live in the complex and are very pleasant and helpful.
It's located almost in the middle of Surfers Paradise, so everything's right outside, which means it could probably get noisy in a room by the street, our room was at the back so we didn't hear anything.
Spacious apartment with laundry and kitchen. A bit run down, but more than OK for the price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Manager at St. Tropez Apartments, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Great that you enjoyed our wonderful location. All our apartments on Orchid Ave have secondary glazing so street noise is not intrusive. St Tropez is an iconic older building and we are progressively working with apartment owners and the bodies corporate to improve the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
22
23
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here. Close to everything. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful with anything we needed. Apartment was clean and very homely. We felt at home straight away. Will recommend to all friends and family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at St. Tropez over the weekend for my birthday weekend with friends!

Room was in amazing condition, and was very modern. Was one of the cheaper apartments in Surfers and I would stay there again even though I live 30 mins away. Extremely spacious and has a very nice balcony.
Staff are really friendly and willing to help, keep in contact with you from the time you book up to check in!
Really close to all Surfers clubs, attractions, beaches, restaurants, everything! I stayed in a room facing Orchid Ave, and did not have a problem with noise at all due to there being double doors that block out a large amount of noise.

This was definitely worth the $290 for 2 nights for a 1 bedroom and I will recommend this hotel to anyone looking.

Thanks to all the staff at St. Tropez for an amazing weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Over the past six years we have made six visits to st Tropez, each time we have noticed a marked change in the accommodation.the past three years we have seen a remarkable change since Vic & Amanda have taken over.the staff are all very help full & friendly, Dave the grounds person also needs to be recognized for his contribution for his meticulous maintenance of pool & surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank central66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The St Tropez has, like most places, good points and bad points. I've given it a middle-of-the-road rating, as the good and bad balanced each other out in the greater scheme of things.

Good points:
Location - Central! You are right in the heart of Surfers here, short walk to the beach, shops, strip clubs and restaurants.

Parking - underground, secure.

Pool and communal outdoor barbecue. Lots of tables and chairs (tables with umbrellas) and chaise lounges by the pool. You can hire a towel from reception if you forget yours, which is a nice touch.

Rooms - spacious, I think most (if not all) have a balcony. Ceiling fan in each bedroom (we had a 2-bedroom apartment), lounge area and dining area. Reverse-cycle air-con also in lounge.
TV only in our lounge (no DVD, foxtel guide but no foxtel) - but it was a huge telly!

Room amenities - Kitchen: Fridge with freezer compartment, microwave, cooktop and oven. Crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils, pots and pans supplied. Laundry: Washing machine, dryer, airer (folding indoor clothes horse), vacuum cleaner, mop & bucket, dustpan & broom supplied.
Simple supplies / toiletries provided - 2 rolls of toilet paper, 2 small soaps and 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner per bathroom,1 sachet dishwashing liquid, 1 dish cloth, 1 tea-towel, and an iron an ironing board were provided.

I concur with other reviewers - there was a note advising to buy additional supplies and to take out rubbish, however this place is not a hotel / motel, so this is what I expected. There are at least 3 convenience stores on Orchid Ave, so you don't have to wander too far to get what you need. Even the Woolworths supermarket was only a 5-minute walk away, so no big deal to buy supplies if you don't bring your own.

Bad points:

Noisy! We had a room at the rear of the property (away from the street), and every morning there's no missing the garbage truck. There wasn't too much people noise (either inside the complex or out on the street), but the garbage truck is very loud at 5am.

All of the windows in our apartment had been rendered inoperable - screws placed in the window frame prevented us from opening any window (bar the balcony door) for a breeze. The windows were filthy to boot, so we kept the curtains closed.

The bed was very soft - you could see a depression on either side of the queen bed from years of use.

Vacuum cleaner was broken - the head had obviously been taped on numerous times before, so trying to use this was nigh impossible. A broom (full length) would have been nice rather than sweeping the whole kitchen on my hands-and-knees. The iron had clearly been dropped as the metal point on the sole of the iron had broken off. It still worked, but just added a "run-down" feel to the place.

No barbecue tools in our apartment. The complex has an outdoor communal barbecue, but without bringing our own tools we couldn't use this.

The fit-out is in need of updating, especially the bathrooms. Rust is evident on the shower compartments, the carpet was a little thready in places, and the decor could do with a freshen up as well.

Personally, I'd prefer a smoke-free complex. There were a few times when cigarette smoke from other units / guests permeated our unit - this was because the only way we could get fresh air was to open the balcony door! I understand it's an adult right to smoke if they choose to, but I choose not to and I don't really want anyone else's secondhand smoke either.

On the whole, it's an okay place to stay. Lets be honest, you don't go to Surfers to stay in your room. Perfectly adequate for a getaway on a budget.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ecnalubma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at St. Tropez Apartments, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an extensive review, we are grateful for your indepth comments. We checked the Foxtel reception and you are perfectly correct, we can only assume that a previous guest has re-tuned the TV channels without including the Foxtel service.
Each morning our garbage bins and those of the building directly behind us are emptied between 6am and 7am, certainly not as early as 5.00am. The bedroom windows have been inspected and they are not locked, the screws you refer to are part of the window frame construction and have no effect as a locking device.
At check-in we encourage all our guests to inform us of anything that requires our attention during their stay. We can take immediate action so your stay isn't compromised by what are easily resolved issues such as BBQ tools and DVD players.
We are comitted to continually improving the holiday experience of our guests, so your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here in jan 2014. Great central location. Apartment extremely spacious. Really handy to all surfers attractions. Extra includes full laundry facilities in your apartment. Staff very friendly too. Most enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mummydearest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at st.tropez for 5 nts in june 2013 ,the location is great on orchid ave close to supermarkets ,cafes bars ,a short stroll to the beach ,the apartments are fully self contained ,nice gardens and pool area

Room Tip: top floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments
#92 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterways Luxury Apartments
Waterways Luxury Apartments
#62 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Sun Resort
Monte Carlo Sun Resort
#80 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#37 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suntower Holiday Units
Suntower Holiday Units
#53 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Tropez Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Tropez Apartments

Property: St. Tropez Apartments
Address: 27-35 Orchid Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Tropez Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Tropez is a unique holiday apartment complex located in vibrant central Surfers Paradise.Designed in a sun-drenched Mediterranean style, this three-storey oasis is easily accessed without crowd or lift hassles.Comfortable, self-contained one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, allow guests an easy way to plan and budget their holiday.Most apartments have private balconies overlooking a heated outdoor pool and BBQ facilities set in a tropical garden courtyard. A short walk to patrolled golden beaches, world class shopping, beachside cafes and fine dining, famous tourist attractions and nightlife.Enjoy the buzz of Surfers from one of the best locations on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Tropez Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Tropez Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing