We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Crown Towers
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Disappointing and will not stay at the Crown Towers again. Thought the price was far too much for what we got. We stayed in room 901 and felt it was dated and dirty, with mould in the shower and dirty marks on the walls and something slopped down the breakfast bar, couldn't open one of the doors out to the deck. Couldn't find where to turn the air-conditioning on, was hidden in the bedroom behind the over sized bedside lamp. There was no information in our room on what the resort had to offer. We didn't know there was a kids club until we were on our way to check out, but if we had of known we would have used it. I would not expect this from a 4 and half star resort. Our room in my opinion was a disgrace for the resorts rating.

However we did like the resort for its facilities and close to all amenities. The Staff in the Bar and Restaurant were lovely but the food was average.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raceygirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at Crown Towers Resort. I am sorry that you were disappointed in some maintenance & cleaning aspects of your room as we would have loved to rectify these issues during your stay. Please be assured that you feedback has been passed on to the appropriate people to ensure we overcome these short fallings in the future. As for the kids club we do apologise this was not offered to you on arrival as it does require 3 children or more and we feel we do have sufficient posters advertising this service in all lifts of our resort.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crown Towers Resort again soon
Regards
Crown Towers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,985 - 1,991 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

This resort is set-up for families, with self-contained units, with full kitchen and laundry facilities. The size of the rooms were HUGE. We took our four children (including two under 2 years) and everyone was happy. We could not keep the kids out of the pools and spa; we swam atleast twice everyday. The staff were very helpful and found the tours/ bookings that suited us best. The Resort is clean and tidy and well maintained. The cafe in the lobby was very handy and the Thai restaurant overlooking the pool area is to die for. The best Thai restaurant we have been too, ever. The day spa in the lobby is also highly recomended. It is located just one street back from the main street of surfers paradise, so we could walk everywhere. We are already planning our next holiday to the Gold Coast and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KW576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Crown Towers Resort. We pride ourselves on our spacious apartments and fantastic facilities and I am pleased that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay. I hope to welcome you back to Crown Towers Resort in the future.
Regards
Crown Towers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The Crown Towers resort is an amazing resort and we spent 2 weeks there. The lagoon pool is one of the best I have ever seen. It has a sandy bottom and there is sand all around it for the kids to play in. There is also a kids outdoor pool with a water slide and a pirate ship attached. There is an indoor pool and spa with a sauna, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. We stayed in a large 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment with a fully equipped kitchen. The apartment offered beautiful ocean view rooms and we loved the whole experience. The staff are very welcoming, polite and friendly. There is a Thai restaurant opposite the lagoon pool and the food was amazing. The resort is very close to Cavill Avenue & it took about 7-8 minutes to walk there.

We will definitely be staying at this resort for any future trips to Surfers Paradise in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Crown Towers Resort. We pride ourselves on our spacious apartments and fantastic facilities and I am pleased that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay.
Regards
Crown Towers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 weeks did not have a problem with the room at all. had good views of the beach and hills..
i have stayed in other hotels and this one i will be booking again to stay there...the pools are great and the staff where all friendly..i would tell all friends to stay there as its also very family friendly...the hotel is in walking distance to the shops without all the noise....

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

I read your comments with great delight knowing that your stay was enjoyable and that our facilities have left you with a favourable and memorable impression.
Again, thank you for your positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Towers Resort, the next time you travel to the Gold Coast.
Regards
Crown Towers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Online bookings unavailable at quoted prices .... isn't this an illegal practise called bait advertising.

Spent a lot of time searching the web for the right place to stay in Surfer's Paradise and ummed and arghed over this resort for some time. In the end I decided to book with Crown Towers despite all the bad reviews on Tripadvisor regarding the poor quality of the furnishings in the rooms. That decision was made because of the pool facilities and the advertised specials both in the media and on their website "www.thecrowntowers.com.au".

I made the booking online through their website "www.thecrowntowers.com.au" in early February for April and after appearing to validate availability it asked for my credit card details and then I had to click on a button that says you are paying a deposit. Then some message about a confirmation email will be sent to your email address came up. Next day they rang and said they didn't have any rooms available at thoses prices.

Just went to there website now, seven weeks later and can still book the same room at the same discounted rate for the same early April dates through there Website when that pricing is not available. This is BAIT ADVERTISING and is an illegal practise. Don't waste your time with these people.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank johnandtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for your time in addressing your concerns on trip advisor. Mantra Crown Towers Resort is managed by the Mantra Group however within Crown Towers Resort it’s self there are private agents such as the website you booked from and can operate independently. We would love to have been able to accommodate your needs with us here at Mantra Crown Towers Resort. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Mantra Crown Towers in the near future.
Regards
Crown Towers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

This is the third time we've stayed in the crown towers in 5 years. We like the resort for its facilites and close the all ammenties. Now before I go on, this is a 4 and half star resort. Our room 1306 was in my opinion an absolute digrace for the rating the resort is. One burner didn't work on the stove, the lounges all sank in middle and the carpet was well worn. The room was essentially what I would expect from a 3 star resort. I did recieve a response back from the manager offering a free night next time I book with the resort. Hardly what I would expect to be adequate compensation for a poorly maintained room.

Once thing the mantra group can be assured of, is that I will share my experiences with all my friends and collegues

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chisler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

I was grateful for the opportunity to make contact with you via email to both apologise and acknowledge through various aspects of your feedback. I understand your disappointment and am hopeful you will take up my offer of returning to the Resort the next time you visit the Gold Coast.
Regards
Crown Towers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed 8 nights here in "ocean view" 2 bedroom for $1200 in late Feb. So $150 a night. Cost $44 for hire of a portacot for the 8 nights (gave us 1 night free as usually costs $44 a week). Was on 15th floor. Requested Air con and got it - they was one in each room to turn on and off.

Check in - easy, quick and friendly.

Resort pools are awesome. Big lagoon beach pool is great, the kids pool and slide were massive hit with my 3.5 year old and the indoor pool was great should it be raining or cold. Spa inside too. Gym was ok, had the main machines needed to do small workout. Small kids playground too which my 1 year old enjoyed.

The facilities i would of ranked 5/5.

The room however was just average and ranked 3/5 so overall a 4/5.

We paid extra $15 a night to get oceanview but we got a side on ocean view rather than front on one, I just figure if book ocean view and pay for it, you should get a FULL ocean view. Our view was more of hinterlands which is also nice.

Furniture was all a bit dated and carpet looked like could do with replacing soon. Rip in chair. TV was not flat screen and couldn't get new digital channels like ch 11 or ABC2. Bed was REALLY hard and not comfortable which was biggest complaint. Kitchen was not well stocked, not a great deal of utensils and not even any tongs to use at bbq (which was downstairs and looked nice area to eat around).

Bathrooms were fine. Place got serviced midway but no one told us that which would of been nice so didnt leave stuff everywhere :)

Overall, would come back as pools were fantastic and kids loved it but hope they update the rooms and furniture and especially the beds. Price we paid at $150 a night was ok but wouldnt pay more. Have stayed at Sun City before too and found sun city rooms nicer but pool not as good so it would come down to price to choose between them.

Thai restuarant really nice - got take away from it - huge servings.

Wouldnt say based on rooms this is a 4.5 star hotel, more like 3.5.

There is a kids club too for over 3's - but we didnt use it. Only operates if they have enough children i think.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Thanks for your feedback - I am glad that you found our facilities fantastic and that your kids enjoyed themselves. We endeavour to make sure that all our units are up to the standards to please our guests and I can assure you that we have been refurbishing for the last two years and it will continue to be on the top of our list. Thank you for mentioning with regards to the chair, it has now been replaced. We look forward to the opportunity to offer our hospitality the next time you and your family are holidaying on the Gold Coast. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Regards
Crown Towers Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Crown Towers

Address: Crown Towers Resort 5-19 Palm Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £69 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Crown Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast, Mantra Crown Towers offers a wide range of leisure facilities perfect for a family holiday, short break or weekend away. Children are well catered for at the resort, which features a lagoon style pool with its own pirate ship, waterslide and sandy beach, as well as a games room and children's playground. The Resort's leisure facilities also include a 15 metre indoor heated pool, spa, sauna, fully equipped gymnasium and on-site restaurants, including the award-winning Chiangmai Thai, all within the comfort of the resort. Mantra Crown Towers offers a range of spacious accommodation options including One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All apartments are fully self contained with kitchen and laundry facilities, and feature their own private balcony with many offering ocean views. Just 100m from Surfers Paradise beach and 500m to the cafe and restaurant precinct of Cavill Avenue, you are amongst all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Resort All Inclusive
Mantra Crown Towers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing