We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely facilities, friendly staff, hard bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Crown Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely facilities, friendly staff, hard bed”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed in room 904, faces west, so need to keep curtains closed after lunch so unit doesn't heat up. One-bedroom apartment. Seems recently refurbished. Good air conditioning. Very good kitchen and laundry with all the mod cons, cookware, crockery, glassware, and utensils. Large bathroom with full size bath, and large shower. Only one little cake of soap, though, for basin, bath and shower so had to keep moving it around. BYO soap. No face cloth.

Very hard bed. Generous size bedroom, fit a portacot easily, once we moved the bed over a bit closer to the bathroom. Walk-through closet to two-way bathroom. Two separate mirrored sliding door closets.

Common areas maintained nicely, lovely pools and sandy 'beach'. Had dinner at Thai restaurant downstairs. Would recommend booking, though we were accomodated easily as it was early. Had breakfast at cafe in lobby, had very generous and tasty 'Healthy Breakfast', though no atmosphere, and surprisingly, only 4 groups there, though plenty of take-away coffee traffic.

Tried to have a breakfast BBQ by the pool, but BBQs don't activate until 7 or 8 am, so cooked in room, which was fine, but a bit of a drag.

TV was large but seemed to be missing a cable so not full range of channels, and reception a bit grainy. Sad, dusty little plastic plants dotted about would do more for the room with their absence.

Children's play area is of the climbing/sliding type, 'undercover' refers to shade sales, so not weather proof. It rained while we were there, so couldn't use it.

Good for longer, self-catered stays, as minimal milk/hot drink, washing, and soap supplies provided for first day or two, then any further supplies are charged for.

Room Tip: I'd personally go for a northern or southern facing room to avoid hot afternoon sun and bright e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justbet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Certainly a very detailed and enthusiastic review. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback and assist your fellow travellers. You are very correct in that we offer spacious fully self contained apartments and we are perfect for families. As we are apartment style accommodation all rooms will receive a starter pack inclusive of towels, amenities and linen with any additional items available from reception for a small fee.

I will be sure to have our Maintenance team follow up and inspect the television in your room as all our apartments should offer a selection of Austar channels along with the in-room movie service. Unfortunate to hear that rain has prevented the kids from utilising the pirate ship and water slide, I hope they were able to take comfort in our in-door pool area. Again, many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    662
    283
    136
    113
See reviews for
1,192
270
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I'm not too sure why there are negative reviews of this place..perhaps it depends on the room you get. We travelled with 3 chn ages 13,11,and 9. We were on the 25th floor in a 3 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms.It was AMAZING! The views were spectacular and the apartment was HUGE!! The extra space made the holiday very relaxing. My biggest concern when booking over the internet is "Do you get what you see?" With this place..YES! Although the carpet is a little worn, everything else was excellent. Best bed we have slept on..truly!
The pool area was fabulous and the kids lived between the heated and cold pools. All the facitilies were there for a great break, hassle free parking, excellent staff etc. The room was SPOTLESS and came with everything for the first few nights. If you are staying a few days (we spent 9 days)
My recommendations would be:Take your Beach towels and extra teatowels. Ask for a corner room high up(if you dont have toddlers) as it is super quiet.
All our supplies were found at the local supermarket. (5 min walk)The patrolled beach is just a short walk across the road.We had the most fantastic break here and have arrived home happy and well rested. We will be spreading the word about how fantastic this was and would book here again on our next stay. Thank you so so so much!

Room Tip: With the rught room, you won't regret it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8mumnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
We are very pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us, it sounds like you have really had an enjoyable experience. I have no doubt everything you have highlighted from the views, to the resorts location to the sheer size of our apartments has helped make your stay one to remember. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers, we certainly look forward to welcoming the family back on your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

If you stay on floors 2 to 11 you will be in time share style accommodation. Anything in the "tower" seems to be hotel style accommodation. We paid $190 per night for a tiny slice of ocean views and run down 80s furniture. When we complained, we were told by the duty manager that is was 'luck of the draw' as each apartment is individually owned and it is up to the owner to maintain their apartments. The couch had a visible board to stop it from sagging, the room was dirty, we found coins, make up pads and cigarette butts in the lounge room. When we asked for the daily room service (clean towels, soap and shampoo) we were made to feel like we were asking for the impossible and was told by the duty manager that "If he did it for us, he'd have to do it for everyone." Even though our room folder said it was available daily, on request.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
The time you have taken to provide feedback is appreciated. We welcome all types of feedback to assist us with meeting guest expectations. All apartments that we manage are Strata self contained and receive a weekly service. The pricing structure takes into consideration not only the accommodation component but all guest facilities on the premises including the resorts location. We apologise for the inconvenience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

To say we were disappointed is an understatement. It was such a waste of our money staying at Mantra Crown Towers. And kicked ourselves for not reading Trip Advisor about this place. I truly hope this review helps save some people wasting their money on what they think will be a ‘lovely treat’ to stay somewhere nice on holidays - especially with young kids.

***
Mantra Crown Towers Resort on the Gold Coast is highly NOT RECOMMENDED (unless you get the room that is pictured on the website). I second all the negative feedback given for this place and can assure that all negative comments given by others are accurate. It is such a pity for us to not have read Trip Advisor prior to booking. We sadly fell under the spell of the Mantra CTR website showing ‘bright, lovely modern looking rooms’, great kids pirate themed pool area…and the 'honest face' of Pat Rafter. The room pictures you see on the website is NOT representing the quality that you may actually get – this is pot luck which obviously some customers have been lucky to get. So please be warned as that there is a significant difference…see my photos and compare with theirs, then judge for yourself. Why it is classed as 4 – 4.5 stars is beyond belief.

The first apartment that we were allocated was a horrible green painted apartment that was drabby, with mould on the air con vents (it was black and furry and looked like mould), very dirty looking, discoloured and stained couch and carpet, chipped kitchen bench (in alot of places), with views of the street carparks, and views of the dirt land (being made into carparks). To top it all off, there was the musky smell of dust and damp in the rooms. So we complained. This was not what we paid for, and was not what was advertised. So we asked for another room…which we did get. But this is after being told the excuse that these apartments were individually owned therefore it was not their fault…the impression we also got from reception was that they were so used to receiving these complaints so it was an automated response from them.

Individually owned or not, there still needs to be standards that must be met to wear the 4-4.5 star badge – for ALL rooms!! Not just in the reburbished rooms. We truly felt second class being given the room we got.

So, was the second room better than the first one? Well, there was an improvement in the couch (it was all one colour and was actually decent looking!!), and we got views of the beach on one side, and the river on the other (that is only if you look past the smoke/dirt/food stains splattered on the mould lined kitchen blinds). Not much else was an improvement.

This is what we got for $330 per night (in the second room):

-Stained carpet spots and large patches in ALL rooms - most likely vomit stains (it was certainly in the splattered shape of it…) and looked like it was bleached out – see the photos.
-Smoke/dirt/food stains splattered on the mould lined kitchen roller blind
-Outdated cane furniture - one dining chair more obvious than others had furry mould on the arms and edging of chair
-One large area on the (what looks like rendered/plastered) ceiling of the kids room had furry mould (the damp kind)
-Built up dust/dirt (it was black, whatever it was, and looked like mould) on the air con vents (but geez, lucky for us – sarcasm dripping - it wasn’t as bad as the first room)
-Dirty and stinky dishwasher with broken dial
-Poor state washing machine and fridge
-Entry door had no lock so had to request one put in (credit to the maintenance guy for doing it within 10 minutes like he said he would)
-Taped over drainage hole in bathroom (not sure why but my guess is it was probably loose, or too mouldy and disgusting to show???)
-Old style CRT TV (didn’t think these still existed)…especially in this supposedly reputable 4.5 star accommodation (no digital, so parents - cross out Channel 22 while trying to make dinner, and get ready for the mind promoting Spongebob Show and Kung Fu Panda - heyy-ya kapow!!!)
-Broken remote controls (sticky taped together)
-Outdated décor (unless you love the 1980s 1990s cane furniture décor and bed and window furnishings)
-Plastic and dirty outdoor furniture setting (seriously…for 4.5 star accommodation??)
-Horrible green painted walls (as un-modern as you can get) – Mantra – get your ‘owners’ up to standards and hire an interior consultant for goodness sake!

Or here’s another idea, show the pictures of the rooms we stayed in and don’t give your customers a nasty disappointment.

…People…think ‘freeway motel’ furnishing meets ‘backbackers hostel’ cleanliness and you get the picture….that’s 4-4.5 Stars for you at the Mantra (an embarrassment to all the other true 4-4.5 star accommodation).

So please re-think about staying here if you want class. And if you still choose to try your luck – maybe bring some anti-bacterial wipes just in case you need to clean off the mould.

I wonder if Pat Rafter would be happy staying in the apartments we did…(this of course would NEVER be exposed to him!!)…sigh…

(Dear Hotel Manager...please don't bother replying and giving more excuses...I can't imagine how you could make our poor experience (and others who have been given the same) any better. My photos paints the picture).

Room Tip: Choose another 4.5 star accommodation somewhere else - and be guaranteed that you get what you expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosie_Rose_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Sir, Just a small note to thank you for the amount of time taken to post this review on your recent stay. We appreciate all types of feedback to assist us with accommodating the variety of guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I and my partner were staying for a week (900) and I was very surprise to discover that the pictures and the reality are sometimes very different. First of all, the whole concept of this hotel should be described as "Home & Away" rather than a hotel as the flats are all fully equipped. The bedlinen and linen are only changed once a week, if not requested by the customers more frequently (and if they do not forget you!). The furniture are mostly dated (our sofa was completely uncomfortable - worn out!). The carpet was not clean. Not what you expect from the advertisements. The manager explained to me that 90% of the rooms are privately owned and the hotel manages them, thus the hotel cannot change the furniture without the agreement of the owner. It then becomes a jackpot game for the customer to get one of the best rooms (which may explain some very nice comments from other customers). Finally, bring your own linen as a towel for the swimming pool is $5 at the desk! I was disappointed by the hotel by the price and the staffs. When I left I said: Never again here!

Room Tip: room above 1000 perhaps better and better view (not under 500)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Crown Towers. To fulfil all guest expectation we advertise ourselves as fully self contained apartments which are serviced on a weekly basis. If guests wish to have a daily service it can certainly be arranged however additional services to incur a small fee. What I am most disappointed with is the mention of our resort staff as here at Crown Towers we do pride ourselves on the basis that we are willing to go above and beyond to provide great service. Once again we apologise that we have not met expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just spent the weekend at Crown Towers to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary. Everything was excellent from the customer service, to dinner at 'Relish', to the room upon our arrival. Well done to everyone concerned. You made our special weekend very special.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Congratulations on your 15th Wedding Anniversary, I am very pleased you were able to enjoy a memorable weekend away. I would look forward to welcoming you to Mantra Crown Towers one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

After reading the reviews I was reluctant to book this resort, but I am glad I made the decision to stay here. The room was clean and modern. Room 1203. The room had a fantastic view and all of the facilities were ideal for a family.
The resort is really close to shops and a supermarket. It was only 5 minutes to the beach and as it's on a main road we were able to catch the public bus to Sea World. It's a lot cheaper than using a pick up service or taxi.
I did have an issue with the bed - it was rock hard and uncomfortable, and there was a popping sound in the air con (but I reported it to maintenance). It's likely that beds in each room vary.
The pool area was such a winner for the kids. We could have easily stayed in the pool area for the entire trip. It certainly beats the standard hard edged pool. Having the different areas made for a great time for the kids. They were able to swim around, play on the water slides and got into the indoor pool when they felt like having a warm swim. The sun lounges around the pool were the place for me to relax and watch the kids. I found everyone around the pool area to be friendly.
If you are looking for a resort stay with kids this is a place I would recommend. If you get the chance ask for a renovated room. I also found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 12th floor. It had an excellent view of the ocean. There were rooms that overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraCrownTowers, Manager at Mantra Crown Towers, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Another fantastic review, many thanks for taking time out to provide feed back on your recent stay with us at Crown Towers. You are spot on with regards to our location and facilities, our lagoon pool area is certainly a highlight and no doubt a reason families choose to return time after time. Wonderful to hear the staff are again making a difference. We look forward to seeing you on a return stay at Mantra Crown Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Crown Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Crown Towers

Property: Mantra Crown Towers
Address: Crown Towers Resort 5-19 Palm Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Crown Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast, Mantra Crown Towers offers a wide range of leisure facilities perfect for a family holiday, short break or weekend away. Children are well catered for at the resort, which features a lagoon style pool with its own pirate ship, waterslide and sandy beach, as well as a games room and children's playground. The Resort's leisure facilities also include a 15 metre indoor heated pool, spa, sauna, fully equipped gymnasium and on-site restaurants, including Chiangmai Thai. The award-winning Chiangmai Thai restaurant provides authentic Thai cuisine, with strong Thai influences such as wooden elephant chairs and decorative motifs scattered throughout the restaurant adding to the Thai experience. Open for dinner 7 days a week, the restaurant is the perfect choice for dinner, all within the comfort of the resort. Be pampered by professional and friendly therapists, at the onsite day spa Calmer Therapies. The day spa offers beauty treatments, including deluxe facials, full body scrubs/wraps, deluxe pedicures and manicures, pamper packages and waxing. Mantra Crown Towers offers a range of spacious accommodation options including One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. All apartments are fully self contained with kitchen and laundry facilities, and feature their own private balcony with many offering ocean views. Just 100m from Surfers Paradise beach and 500m to the cafe and restaurant precinct of Cavill Avenue, Mantra Crown Towers provides access to all the attractions of the Gold Coast making it the perfect place to stay for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Crown Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Hotel Surfers Paradise
Crown Resort All Inclusive
Mantra Crown Towers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing