We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money in Surfers Paradise”
Review of Palazzo Colonnades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Colonnades
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently stayed at Palazzo Colonnades again for a business conference, and remain impressed with the location (just out of the noise and hassle of the Surfers Paradise nightlife precinct).
We recommend that couples should consider the executive apartments for just a few dollars more, as you get a lot more space and larger balcony.
The property is clean, well appointed and internal access for the underground carpark ensures that you're able to keep dry on even a wet day.
At the moment access to the property is somewhat restricted due to Gold Coast trmway roadworks, with access via Vista Street.

Room Tip: Try to request a high floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelHintsandTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Wanted a cheap and chearful apartment close to the centre of Surfers and found this place on the net. Arrived late but checking in was simple. Staff were plesent and helpful. The room was well appointed with all necessary kitchen utencils. The facilities are getting on a bit but the pool and spa were adequate but were a bonus rather than the reason we booked. Overall very happy with the accomodation and will stay there again if can get a similar price.

Room Tip: our appartment was a the rear of the building and had nice views of the river no views of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 892JamesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Fantastic view of the sea and river from my 2 bedroom apartment. The kitchen is also very well equiped, with dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. It is also convienently located near restaurants and 5 mins walk to the beach. Only down side is that the rooms are a little bit small especially the one with twin beds. Do check with the counter staff if you are visiting any of the places of interest as they may have discounted entrance tickets.
There is some construction going on the main road so if you are driving, please go in via vista ave. I didn't hear any noise from the construction and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greenleafmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were looking for a place that could comfortably accommodate two adults and a child.
We found a 1 bedroom apartment online for $90 a night. I was very wary and prepared to be totally underwhelmed.
We couldn't have been happier.
There's no denying that the building is one of the many apartment blocks constructed in the late 70s and early 80s and showing it's age.
However, the owners of the apartments have kept both the common areas and the apartments clean and up to date. Our apartment (506) had new, modern furniture, new drapes and the bathroom looked as though it had been recently renovated.
The queen sized bed in the bedroom was comfortable. The foldout queen sized bed in the lounge had a thick sprung mattress and could easily have comfortably accommodated two adults and was more than adequate for a child.
We only had one occasion to turn on the air con, but is was quiet and efficient, cooling the apartment in minutes.
The kitchen was fully equipped with utensils, cutlery and crockery. Dishwasher and microwave worked a treat as did the washing machine.
The flat-screen TV was a bit on the small side but came complete with free to air and pay TV.
The swimming pool and spa were well maintained and clean. I did find it odd that the key was needed to both enter and leave the pool area.
That could be an issue in case of an emergency.
My only complaint was that the clothes drier was old an noisy - not that we used it much. The airing rack did the job perfectly well.
This place was definitely not a 5* resort - no marble bathrooms, 1200 TC sheets or thick pile carpets. No 24 hour room service, exclusive toiletries or chocolates on the pillows. But the towels were thick and fluffy.
For the price we paid, I thought it was exceptional value.

Room Tip: Get an apartment facing west until the light rail construction on Surfers Paradise Boulevard is comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a fantastic time! The apartment was roomy, clean and comfortable with all the amenities you need - a great deal given the price. The complex is ideally located - only one block from the beach, less than 5 mins walk into the heart of Surfer's Paradise, and practically nextdoor to a main bus stop. The women at reception were fantastic - really friendly and helpful, a real pleasure to deal with! The only downsides I would note are that the aircon can be a bit noisy (never bothered me, but could annoy a light sleeper) and the gym could do with fan/aircon. Regardless though, I would definitely recommend the place and absolutely plan on staying there if/when we return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My sister and myself stayed here for 4 nights. We found the location to be perfect, the apartment was spacious, clean and had everything you needed. But best of all were the two ladies in reception. They were so friendly and helpful, answering any question we had and booking any ticket we needed. I would definitely recommend this accommodation and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Swingin’ Safari is a restaurant and bar, a mid seventies iconic “Queenslander”, located approximately 250 metres from Palazzo Colonnades on the opposite side of the road. The venue is open Thursday to Sundays weekly and is a must see. I absolutely love the way it's fitted out, with retro furniture and curios, old wirelesses, old typewriters, lovely old chairs like we used to have in "Grandma's house". Great fun place, worth checking out. Fun people, good service. And the food is great. We pop in for a drink or two or three whenever we can and have made this interesting place our local.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Lodge Apartments
Bay Lodge Apartments
#40 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#14 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
#21 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#10 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mari Court Resort
Mari Court Resort
#37 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Colonnades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Colonnades

Address: 2988-2994 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £72 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Colonnades 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Colonnades boutique, high-rise holiday accommodation apartments is nestled between the beautiful Nerang River and the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. Take an 8 minute stroll to the north and you're in Cavill Avenue - the heart of Surfers Paradise. These modern, fully self-contained apartments are complimented by wonderful guest facilities including a heated salt water swimming pool, sauna, gymnasium, games room, BBQ, free pay TV, wireless internet broadband service and under cover free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Colonnades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Colonnades Hotel Surfers Paradise
Palazzo Colonnades Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing