We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good view, friendly staff members”
Review of Aloha Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloha Apartments
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, good view, friendly staff members”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The location is fantastic! Super close to the shopping center, restaurant, supermarkets, opposite to the beach. The cleaner and the receptionist are super friendly and helpful. Good view. The only thing is the room itself, old mouldy curtains, rusty fridge, rusty outdoor furniture. However, the cleaner has done a great job to make it tidy and clean for us to stay. Owner of that room may have to change the fridge and mouldy curtains. Apart from that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceLH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaGC, General Manager at Aloha Apartments, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Aloha on Trip Advisor. We do pride ourselves on our commitment to customer service and knowing what matters. Our housekeeping team have very high standards which can be felt in our rooms and yes the view from the apartments is "great". We note your comments on the standard of the room and we continue to take these issues up with the owners of the apartments. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Warm Regards

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    11
    3
    15
See reviews for
15
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The first thing that we experienced was a strong mildew smell. The curtains and windows were dirty and the outdoor furniture was rusted. Had to keep windows and doors permanently opened to get rid of the smell. The balcony was shared with the next apartment that housed permanent residents who were noisy, and disturbed us throughout the night on the first day that we arrived. On complaining,a deodorizer was used and the neighbours quietened down.The location is excellent! management needs to address these issues so that future renters can have a positive experience.

Room Tip: Perhaps there are better rooms, as I believe that these are individually owned, So ask before you bo...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaGC, General Manager at Aloha Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
We are concerned that you were disappointed with your stay at BreakFree Aloha, I can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence but was due to the recent extreme weather events that we have experienced on the Gold Coast, and I am pleased to report that management has addressed all issues mentioned in your review. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

This must be surfers great kept secret.Stayed for four nights and absolutely loved it.It looks as if the management have taken note of the previous negative comments and the great improvement overall was obvious.You will not find a better place for the price you are paying.My apartment on the tenth floor was amazing.Keep up the good work guys I will be coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stathos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaGC, General Manager at Aloha Apartments, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, We agree with your comment "You will not find a better place for the price", we are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree Aloha in the near future.

Warm Regards
Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights mid January. This is a tired apartment block, and it looks that way, maybe a fresh paint would improve this.
No Air conditioning, your kidding in the middle of summer. Why didn't they say when booking, there was none. It's OK to be honest.
The room was dirty around the edges of the carpet, needed a good vaccum, and had dated cane furniture. My carpet at home was cleaner.
Spacious apartment with good views.
Pool and spa was great during the day, but at night, not so good, all lighting needs to be turned on, to make it safe for children, there are lights around the fenceline, but only 3 worked, and there was lighting under the water, which we could see in the day, but these don't work at night, and nothing near the spa area, could have been much nicer, more attention is needed in this area, even just to make it for safety reasons.
There was 2 ladies in the reception area, each day that sat there, I asked 1 day about the bus timetable, which she did say where to go, but no idea of what number to catch or a price estimate, would have thought local knowledge would be better. Just because they don't use them, they still should know these things to help visitors.
The underground carpark needs a good sweep, lots of old oil sitting around, and that smells.
This is budget accommodation, you get what you pay for, and that's the view if your lucky.

Reading other reviews, these reports don't get answered or even looked at often, so more attention to detail is needed so improvement can be addressed promptly.
Hopefully the owners of the apartments should also read these so they can improve there own investment property, making them more inviting for visitors to stay, and maybe come back,
not for us though, better properties for the price close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you get Air conditioning. especially in hotter months. Otherwise stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank male4sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaGC, General Manager at Aloha Apartments, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
We are disappointed that you were not happy with your recent stay. Aloha is a 3.5 star rated apartment and we do not advertise anywhere that our apartments are air conditioned, your travel agent would have been aware of this. The apartments are individually owned and the owner of this unit likes to create a beach style theme and as such has kept the cane lounge suite.I will take your comments to the body corporate in regards to the pool lighting and I am not sure why the carpark had oil spillage as it has recently been painted and has a weekly maintenance schedule in place .I apologise that our housekeeping team failed to meet your expectations as they have high standards and this has been an oversight. All reviews are taken seriously and are used to improve our service to guests, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Warm Regards

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We recently stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor at Aloha Breakfree in Surfers Paradise. The views were great with only minimal sight obstructions from other buildings.
From the bedroom we could see to Coolangatta - from the lounge a view to the Spit and from the balcony we looked straight out to the beach. We were lucky to see several Whales from our apartment.We were only 1 block from Surfers shopping centre - really handy for supplies for self catering. The apartment was clean and comfortable and had everything to suit our needs
Will certainly be returning next time we want a relaxing stay at the Gold Coast

Room Tip: As high as possible with Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimanishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, General Manager at Aloha Apartments, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for reviewing BreakFree Aloha and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes we agree with your comment on being in a great location with views - glad you got to see the whales that is very special!!!

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great location and nice enough hotel. It is a little on the older side but still great value at $78 a night. The only problem was that cable tv was viewable. Told reception and she didn't know how to fix it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank season_traveller938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, General Manager at Aloha Apartments, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your review. BreakFree Aloha is in a great location....make sure you keep an eye on our website, as a part of the Mantra Group we often have specials such as the one you secured at $78.00 per night. I apologise to you for having a maintenance issue with the cable TV. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed on the 9th floor, and the views were stunning (out over the water). The oven in the room (1 bedroom apartment) was a bit dated, but worked ok. The couches where ok, but not great for relaxing on - a bit small and were cane furniture rather than a lounge suite. The bed was comfy & the bathroom was lovely and spacious. Staff were very helpful also. The highlight of this facility is its location. 2 minutes to the beach, 3 minutes to cavill ave - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leishamaree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, General Manager at Aloha Apartments, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. BreakFree Aloha definately is in a convenient location with amazing views. The apartments are individually owned and these owner turn the apartment into a beach shack when they stay. I have taken your comments on board and will be sure to pass them onto the owners. I thank you for your comment on the staff at BreakFree Aloha being helpful we are committed to customer service and knowing what matters. Your feedback is genuinely appreciated.

Diane Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#82 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#40 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#43 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Parad...
#107 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#61 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments
Grosvenor Beachfront Apartments
#94 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Apartments

Property: Aloha Apartments
Address: Aloha Apartments 8 Trickett St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloha Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking to party till dawn or be in the midst of all the excitement, we are in the perfect position for you. There is security parking under the building and tour buses pick up right at our front door for your convenience. We are proud of our local knowledge and can assist you with any information on the Gold Coast during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloha Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aloha Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing