We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for GC 600”
Review of Capricorn One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capricorn One
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for GC 600 and it was perfect position, Steve and Brenda the owners are very friendly and welcoming and we would stay here again place was nice and clean and close to everything
Thank you for having us

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaydenchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is our 4th time at Capricorn One. Excellent amenities; excellent accommodation; spectacular views; and most of all lovely hosts in Brenda & Steve. There are only two units to a floor and you have views up and down the coast or down the coast and of the canals.

Carmel & Paul

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I recently stayed at capricorn One for a 5 night stay and to say I was impressed was an undersatement!! The level of service I recieved is the BEST I have experienced for a long time, both Steve and Brenda's attitude to making my stay a memorable, stress free break away was secound to none. I had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 18th floor with the most amazing views, and the location is just a 2 min walk to the beach.
I will be recommending capricorn One and most importantly Steve and Brenda to everyone I know
Thanks guys you made my short holiday a memorable one

Regards

Shayne

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location, walking distance to Cavill Ave and across the road to the beach. Room was spotless and had every thing we needed. Traffic was pretty bad with the light rail and grand prix setup, but manage to get around with small delays.
Stayed on level 19 with amazing views of the beach and up the coast.
Would strongly recommend for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gello1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was our first time at Capricorn One and we cannot wait to return. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 18th floor was clean, spacious, and had beautiful views from every room. We all enjoyed the enormous indoor spa and our son enjoyed the outdoor pool. Brenda and Steve were extremely friendly and very helpful. Capricorn One is extremely great value for money and is only a short walk to the centre of Surfers. Thanks once again Brenda and Steve for providing fantastic accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that comes with sea and river views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Breathtaking views as soon as we opened our 11th floor door, sat on the balcony watching whales frollicking out at sea, awesome welcome from owners Steve and Brenda, had both apartments on our floor and one below us as well. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, loads of space for 14 of us. Had a fabulous time, really secure having to use scanner access everywhere but hey, that's great! Everything we needed, undercover parking, best heated spa pool ever!

Waking each morning to watch the sunrise over that beautiful horizon just makes you appreciate the Gold Coast so much more.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Really disappointed in this accommodation and in the attitude of Brenda and Steve. I don't know why it has such good reviews because it was awful. Maybe we had the bad room but it wasn't very nicely furnished, it had white tiled floors with no mats, and minimal implements etc in the kitchen. The living area was smaller than expected. The worst thing about it was that there is a light rail being build directly below the hotel on the street and we were on the street side. The loud drilling was continuous throughout the day and night so I couldn't sleep and we were all on edge. We actually left the night before we were due to go because it was too hard to stand anymore. It wasn't a room I could feel relaxed in and I didn't like being there.
A couple of nights in I asked Brenda if we could move rooms or have a refund because it was making me sick and my health was deteriorating. She initially agreed to allow us to change rooms but when the time came she retracted it, saying it had been booked. Her comment was, 'It's not our problem if you can't sleep'.
They could have done something to help us but they don't care. I feel we should have been warned about the noise prior to booking.
This accommodation completely spoilt holiday and you could do a lot better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side would be better as the surf would drown out the roadwork noise. These are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,881 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#23 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn One

Address: Capricorn One 198 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £68 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capricorn One 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Capricorn One's brilliant OCEAN and RIVER Views... here you are just metres from a beautiful safe and patrolled uncrowded BEACH... TRANSPORT from one end of the Gold Coast to the other is available almost at the door, some say our LOCATION is the BEST on the Gold Coast, MANY FACILITIES other resorts don't have - Tennis, Large Pool, enormous SPA and Sauna, FAMILY FRIENDLY all apartments are 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom MUCH LARGER than just a hotel room, fully furnished and self contained almost every luxury of home is supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capricorn One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capricorn 1
Capricorn One Hotel Surfers Paradise
Capricorn One Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing