We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scoopon deal Unlimited Wifi is misleading!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ipanema Resort Apartments
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scoopon deal Unlimited Wifi is misleading!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just came back using Scoopon $129 deal, which includes unlimited internet service.

Asked about the unlimited internet service upon check-in. The receptionist gave me an "iRoom Prepaid Internet Voucher" with username and password.

However, the internet was cut off around 7:40pm. I called the reception. No one answered as the reception closed at 5pm.

I called the "iRoom" technical support and was told that I had used up all the credit. What? How could there be any limit for unlimited internet service?

I then called resort afterhours number and was told that she knew nothing about the unlimited internet deal. She told me to contact reception next day after 8:30am.

What a rip-off!

The Scoopon so-called unlimited internet service never exists.

Room Tip: Scoopon's unlimited internet service was misleading. The reception closes at 5pm so if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1q2w3e75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    50
    29
    11
    26
See reviews for
32
62
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Pro: beautiful clean pool and spa.

CONS:
Keys to room didn't work, took hour to get into room. Even receptionist couldn't unlock door.
Room smelt, furnature was damp and sticky.
Kitchenette was useless, No utensils at all. Fridge broken.
Beds had springs sticking out.
Extra cost for toilet paper!!!
NO cable TV or WiFi as advertised, TV was 1980's analog model and ariel broken, =snowy picture. No in room phone, not even to call reception.
NOISE - constant 24hr roadworks (not fault of resort but warning should is issued to all potential guests.
Staff close desk early or aren't there full stop, made attempts to complain pittyful.
Booked 1 bedroom apartment and was put in studio, told no other rooms available, dispite the resort appering empty.
NO restaurant dispite being advertised with one, even in room restaurant guide stated it was locted on ground floor.

Overall very disappointed! Room and resort did not match description.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We check in, the keys don't work. Waited for staff to come open it, and when we finally get in, the place reeked of a foul stench! THere is something wrong with the fridge and it was open with towels around it, the man said something was wrong with it and they would fix it. Furniture was damn and smelly! The spa and one of the pools were not working, after talking with other people staying there apparently it has been off for weeks getting 'repaired'. The reception always checked out earlier than the office hours so we found it very difficult getting help! Wifi moves at a glacial pace! This place is definately what the good reviews said it was before I went so i am here to put the record straight= this place is a NO! Look elsewhere! Waste of Money and definately not coming back!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if u value cleanliness and customer service and VALUE
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

well where do i start,check in was at 12pm but we couldnt get checked in till 2pm as rooms wernt cleaned or ready yet.so we missed our confrerence and then when we got our rooms they were dirty and the floors stained rooms were ment to be stuido rooms but we recived hotel suite,WOULD NOT LET MY DOG SLEEP THERE.they dont state that they only book the bottom 4 floors,so no ocean or nerang river views would not recommend this hotel to anyone staff are very rude and not helpfull at all SO BEWARE OF THIS MOTEL IF YOU WANT TO ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY hotel is only just above backpackers acc this is not four star lucky if it would be 2 star

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Quite disappointing really.
First impression when we walked into the room was not bad but as the holiday went on we realized the lack of maintenance to the resort.
First night there was no hot water which we weren't informed off.
First morning we couldn't cook simple shaker pancakes as there was no fry pan and when I used the electric skillet the very cheap spatula melted into the pancakes. The appliances were greasy and the kitchen doors were either sticking or falling of the hinges. Completely defeated the purpose of renting a place with the kitchen.
When I told the gentleman at the desk all he did was send someone up to wipe the kitchen down.
We were expected to buy bin liners, dishwashing powder and toilet paper when we only needed one more roll and bag. Not practical for us since we flew here and couldn't take much back with us. There was minimal dishes, cutlery and even fewer utensils for cooking.
The dishwasher stopped working after the first load. (not even full)
Unfortunately the road works outside made things very noisy 24hrs a day. This probably wouldn't be so bad in other hotels with walls that aren't made of paper, we could hear pretty much every noise outside and in the other rooms next to us.
Having the air con on the balcony ment you couldn't have the air con on while you were out there as the fan blew hot air over the whole area.
Location is smack bang in between surfers and broadbeach, about 30+mins walk either way.
The pool was lovely and the BBQ area was nice. That is the only thing that was enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyb3r321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at Ipanema for six nights and thought it was absolutely fantastic for the very low price!

We had booked a one bedroom apartment and on arrival found we had been given a two bedroom - great for storing luggage, etc. Our flight arrived at around 10 pm and checking in at that time was no hassle at all. On booking we requested an apartment with a view, and we were pleasantly surprised to find our apartment was on the 7th floor overlooking the pool/BBQ area, with great views of the beach from the master bedroom and lounge/dining area.

The apartment was clean and tidy, and nice and modern. Unfortunately, due to construction work in order to prepare for the light rail, the street is a bit of an eye-sore at the moment, but you only really need to walk 50m around the corner and you're heading down to the beach. The apartments are about a 2-3 km walk to the centre of Surfer's, and buses are really easy - pretty much right on the doorstep.

The staff were great - helped with info on Go Cards and buses, and also arranged cloaking for our luggage after we had checked out on our last day, as our flight wasn't until later that night.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbur5545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

It was a good place to stay reception explained everything on arrival showed us how to use the swipe and told us when our breakfast would arrive. Had a 2 bedroom apartment. I could have stayed for a week I love it. Only problem which they can't help is being on the gold coast high way it's a busy street, an when I was having a dumb moment and couldn't find my car in the car park; I couldn't go back up to reception as you need a swipe key to press the lift buttons.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awesometripmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.6 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Resort Apartments

Property: Ipanema Resort Apartments
Address: 2865 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ipanema Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our apartments at Ipanema Surfers Paradise offer great views of the hinterland, Nerang River and the ocean. This unique holiday building is located on the beach side of the Gold Coast Highway, between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ipanema Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Resort Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing