We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place once Again A+++++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ipanema Resort Apartments
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Excellent Place once Again A+++++”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A Wonderful place to stay in my latest visit to Surfers. I got a Studio apartment with a great view of Q1, the beach and the Nerang river. Room consisted of a bathroom with shower over bath, hair dryer, common separate Laundry with Washer and dryer, balcony overlooking the views and swimming pool area. Very comfortable bed, kitchenette with Microwave, medium bar fridge, cooktop, a sink, cutlery, glasses and cookery for 2. The was a walk in wardrobe to hang clothes and fold and stack clothes swell, Great aircond that has a central control panel on the wall, a good sized LCD TV with all the digital channels + a number of Foxtel Movie channels, Nick, News, Fox Sports 1,2,3, I must say that the Tv stand used in the room is typical of ones used in Gold Coast apartments/hotels its not tall enough to prop up a LCD tv to be appreciated its too low down to the ground i think. The room also has a foot stool that had seen better days it was ripped to shreds, also the carpets in parts of the room has seen better days, with parts discoloured in a rusty colour such as under the side stand next to the bed. The lighting in room is varied the main light is weak, i found out that by switching the lights above the bed made the room much more brighter, also the lighting above the kitchenette is poor, its seems the light switch or the light bulb above the exhaust fan on top of the cook top had broken or blown. The Garbage disposal station on level 6 is broken the shute when you pull it pulls all the way, also the shower over bath water can escape out the rear of the bath tiled surface and drip onto the bathroom floor eventually creating a riverette towards the drain near the bathroom vanity thus drenching the tiled floor eventually over night after a overnight use of the shower. There is outside noises from the main entry door as this was a Studio B room with a common entryway with a bigger 'A' room, so when someone enters the common door way the opening and closing of the common door and sub A and B doors could be heard. The resort has 3 bodies of water a big sized oddly shaped pool that can be technically be a lap pool, it was not as heated, but as you body adapts to the temp of the main pool you will find the main pool to be comfortable to refreshing during the day and nighttimes, the depth markings are not placed everywhere on the pool but the pool gets deeper than the marking of 1.3m, I reckon it was 1.6m deep. The other body of water was a Roman bath that was heated its was around 45cm deep, it was a good pool to sit in on a cold night to warm up and 3rd water body was a Spa, which was quite warm and foamy suds often developed like the water had soap in it. The was a sauna which i had no idea how to start it and how to turn on the light there was not much instructions, (The locals knew how to work it as i observed during my visits to the pool), a small Gym with a handful of Gym equipment, a nice BBQ area with glass outdoor tables, The BBQ is a real Perm BBQ without the Drip hole that is found in many other Parks, Hotels and Accoms around the Gold Coast. Then the was the grassed areas that looked like they could host weddings and parties, they were manicured so well, also there is a side gate to take you to Wharf Rd and thus the beach, also this side path i can foresee as being a great entry way for wedding processions, so the bridal party could enter via Wharf Road and the alter could be around the BBQ area, the Gardening along the side pathway was impressive, Presentation back in the day must have been top notch, i could image that the grassed areas being cordoned off for wedding tents. The Ipanema Resort has history written all over it from its current form there is a conference room, outdoor eating area, that seems to have gone disused for years now, the presentation of the lobby and the grounds is still top notch and i can see Limousines and prestige cars exit the Gold Coast Hwy on to the grand drive way of the IPanema. The iPanema must have been a grand hotel in the past there is plenty of under cover parking enough for a conference and hotel guests and the top floor pent house(s) i would assume would of gotten a Celebrity or two in the past. I guess it is important for owners of these apartments to keep the appearance of this great facility top notch, anyway great staff, the bus stop configuration has changed since the light rail works the north bound bus stop exists but the south bound Gold Coast Hwy bus stop is moved 500m south walk towards 2nd Ave or 500m north where Surfers Bvd and GC Hwy split, The alternative stop would be the 750 Seawold/Pac fair Bus and that stop is on old Burleigh Road or Surf Parade.
Def will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    50
    29
    11
    26
See reviews for
32
62
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

DON'T STAY HERE IF YOU PLAN ON COOKING FAMILY MEALS - the 'basic' kitchen means they include a broken microwave and a hotplate in the tea and coffee making area!! Not a single sharp knife, no utensils, one micro pot/pan without lids - its BYO but then you may as well go camping if you need to bring everything. I burned myself cooking without a lid on splattering hot fat and also burned myself on the toaster which had a wire wrapped across the top of the slots that got hot during use - staff weren't concerned about my injuries, didn't apologise and just shifted blame to me for their negligence. If you want to cook a meal book somewhere with a full kitchen.

If you want a sunny room forget it - I noticed that a lot of the rooms on the sunny side overlooking the pool are occupied by residents. Both chairs on the balcony were broken and useless and the lock on the balcony door was damaged (screws missing) taking forever to open and close. It was all a major inconvenience.

The room had an overpowering smell of bleach and the carpets were stained. The bed was hard and it was cold with only one blanket and no quilt. They advertised that your room is equipped with a laundry but they don't tell you it's a SHARED laundry outside the room.

The sauna doesn't even get hot as there is a two inch gap under the door.

The small old TV didn't even have a plug for headphone use so forget about sleeping if someone wants to watch telly until late.

The room did have a nice view (but you can this at any other hotel tower in the area) although noisy long-term roadworks are going on directly outside.

Overall a cold (both the room and the staff) and unpleasant place to stay. If you want a problem free stay - and a spare roll of toilet paper - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Sorrento, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My second time returning here and was just as good as last time. I witnessed the lady on reception blasting someone on the phone, I was almost scared to check-out. The only other thing was my apartment had falling apart furniture & a broken chair. I made several calls to reception to make sure that I wasn't going to be held responsible for these, the next day the maintenance Manager came up and removed the chair and fixed the faulty falling apart couch. All in all pretty good 8/10

Room Tip: Perfect if you wanna be close to the heart of Surfers but not in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthTraveller3943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a spacious 2 bedroom apartment and it suited the 4 of us well. Our Lounge had a deck overlooking the pool and we enjoyed a few swims there as well as a spa. The website isn't mis-leading like some other hotels or resorts that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Good location, and great rooms!.and.the facilities here are.great the rooms could with a little more cleaning but nothing to bad! Would recommend staying here!

The only.complaint i have was that we.didn't.know.that nobody was here in reception on a Sunday but the after hour phone was.easy to use! Would have been just to be told that's all

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The two best things about this complex is the Pool and it's location to the ocean as well as walking distance to all the major entertainment in Surfers Paradise. The furniture was very old and there where dead spots in the cushions on the couch. The shower leaked so I was having to mop up water in the bathroom after every shower. The beds where very hard and very uncomfortable to sleep on.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrNate316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed here for a week in October, we arrived outside of the reception opening hours but it was very easy to get the key. We had a two bedroomed apartment, very spacious and three balconies all with great views. The BBQ area is a great way to spend a relaxing evening and the spa and heated pool was great. Short walk to the beach and across the road from the bus stop which takes you to all the attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhianSPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.6 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Resort Apartments

Property: Ipanema Resort Apartments
Address: 2865 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ipanema Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our apartments at Ipanema Surfers Paradise offer great views of the hinterland, Nerang River and the ocean. This unique holiday building is located on the beach side of the Gold Coast Highway, between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ipanema Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Resort Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing