We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ipanema Resort Apartments
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Good:

Location is very good, within short walking distance to Cavall Ave and the Beach. Soon to open Tram Stop just outside the hotel.
Secure parking was very convenient and there was always plenty of vacant spaces. Staff seemed very friendly and helpful.
Outside pool and spa bath were clean. Hotel had its own gym and sauna, which we didn't use but appeared very clean.
We had amazing views of the beach, city and river.
The apartment was modern with everything you would need. Lounge with sofa , coffee table, flatscreen TV with free to view digital channels. Kitchen with oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and dishwasher. Laundry with washing machine, clothes dryer and sink tub.

The Bad:

All crockery, glasses, pans etc hadn't been washed from the previous user.
Discarded open packets of food in the cupboards.
Toast crumbs and spilt cooking oil on cupboard shelves.
Hair in bathroom and on bed sheets from previous user or the cleaner.
Toilet did not flush (however plumber attended next day).
Shower head bracket broken so shower head fell off everytime water was turned off.
Sliding door to balcony very stiff and hard to open.
Pool water was constantly cold due to it being in shadow of surrounding buildings during most of day.
Apartment is starting to look dated. Cheap flatpack furniture showing signs of wear. Carpet starting to discolour. Cheap furniture - lounges very uncomfortable.
Although technically a 2 bedroom unit, the 2nd bedroom was actually an alcove behind the kitchen with no door to it so no privacy should it be occupied.

Room Tip: Hotel were able to accomodate our request for a beach view even though they were fully booked due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ten10million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    50
    30
    11
    26
See reviews for
32
62
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My wife & I booked into Ipanema for a 7 day holiday & were extremely happy with the amenities & service at the apartments. We were given a free upgrade on arrival with beautiful views of the Ocean, City & Nerang River. Room was well appointed, clean & fresh, lovely pools & spa/sauna facilities. Staff were excellent & most helpful at all times. Highly recommended for all, especially if you're looking for top value for money in a great location.
Pete & Marg Johnson

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frigair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Loved our 1 bedroom apartment with sweeping views of the river the city and the ocean.

Check in was hassle free and staff that checked us in was fabulous - cheerful and provided great advice.

We recommend this facility for families and encourage use of the facilities, gym, sauna, jacuzzi, pool, bbq area.

Our kitchen was also well equipped.

We're happy to overlook the lumpy bed, tired outdoor setting on the balcony, anesthetics of the air conditioning unit on the balcony and stained carpet because our views was incredible. An absolute Christmas treat for first time visitors to the Gold Coast.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jp2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Very happy with the room.
Nice and clean mosern facilities very large shower with lots of hot water.

Location is fairly central to the shops.

Good secure parking and easy check in after hours.

On the whole great value that was found on Agoda by my office staff for me

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we been there for 1 week in end of Feb.
rooms are with old dirty carpet- smells like dusty old carpet. we could not get rid of the smell.
the bathroom was full with hair from the previous attended. (in the bathtub and bathroom floor)
the bedlinen was dirty.
all in all the Ipanema had its best time a long long time ago.

IMPORTANT: the WIFI is NOT included and very expensive to use. 1 hour- 8$
24 hours around $15.

it is NOT located next to the beach- 7 min walk.

reception- unfriendly and not always there.

Room Tip: no free WIFI (expensive ) old carpet smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roy_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My daughter and I had a "girly" weekend and were thrilled with the accomodation that we stayed in. The room was a little small but we spent most of the time exploring Surfers Paradise. The people at reception were welcoming and were helpful with our enquiries.
The facilities in the room were sufficient and it was great to have the option to stay in for dinner. Awesome to have a laundry facility as well!
The facilities at the hotel were great, the pool and spa and bbq areas were fantatic and the location was fantastic.
I woul dhave liked a beach view, but it was awesome to watch the sun setting over the land rather than the ocean for a change!
Really good value for money and would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbeeh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

After reading through various reviews on the website, I went with my gut instinct and booked the Studio apartment at Ipanema Resort. I was secretly hoping that it would just be a decent and comfortable room for us both to last for 3 nights. For the price we are paying, I wouldn't complain!

We reached there about 2:30pm on a Saturday afternoon which is after reception hours, using the intercom, I was directed by a kind lady to unlock the safe and withdraw the keys to my room. It was very convenient to have ample and spacious secured undercover car park for our hire car. And the instructions was clear and precise. Overall fast transition through the room.

Reading through some of the reviews they do not get the bed arrangements they ask for. Thank god, we had a queen bed as we have requested. Was also quite pleased to know that we had the second highest floor apartment and having the balcony facing the beach is a bonus! Was too difficult to head back to reality!

We drove around most of the time, hence, the location has been fantastic just 5 minutes drive to Surfers and 3 minutes walk to the beach (Broadbeach)! Couldn't complain more! We do not need to have much contact with the staff, however, the guy who is at the reception on Sunday morning and Melissa has been a great help. Although our shower light isn't working, it didn't bother us too much.

It has been quite a splendid stay and definitely will come back to room 1304! FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: High Floors and Beach facing are awesome away from the noise and crowd! Get an awesome sea breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anathyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.6 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,056 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Resort Apartments

Property: Ipanema Resort Apartments
Address: 2865 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ipanema Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our apartments at Ipanema Surfers Paradise offer great views of the hinterland, Nerang River and the ocean. This unique holiday building is located on the beach side of the Gold Coast Highway, between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ipanema Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Hotel Surfers Paradise
Ipanema Resort Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing