We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Viscount
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still can't beat the location”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Just returned from my annual stay at Viscount. As usual it was a break with my aussie relatives after a week and a half of business travel and it was just perfect. Just a couple of hours looking at that view and listening to the surf was enough to totally unwind. The incredible rain that nearly washed away the Gold Coast had no impact on our stay. No leaks ot power outages or any of the other things you would expect during a big storm.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shandydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    39
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
94
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed at the Viscount Towers for four wonderful nights in mid January 2010. Hosts Marion and David made us feel extremely welcome on our arrival and were able to provide excellent advice on local activities, shopping and restaurants.

When apartments say they are 'beach front' some are actually across a road or have obstructed views of the beach....this is most definitley NOT the case with Viscount Towers. The location is about as close to 'beach front' as you could get. Stunning.

Our two bedroom apartment was on the 4th floor and was spacious, clean and more than met our expectations.

The most difficult about our stay was getting the kids to pack so we could leave! I would highly recommend Viscount Towers for beach front accomodation in Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCMFDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I agree with some of the other reviewers regarding the parking - we parked out on the street and had no problem. Also, the building is somewhat dated and does not have air conditioning, but these were not important considerations for us. What really mattered to our family was cleanliness, comfort and location and, on all of three criteria, the Viscount Towers met our expectations. The 3 br, 2 bath apartment we rented was spotless and very well equipped: spacious for 6 adult-sized people, a full kitchen, fabulous views over the beach and 3 balconies - 1 large facing the beach and 2 small off the bedrooms. The temperature was in the low to mid 30 degrees C and the apartment was very comfortable at that temperature. We left the doors open at night for the breeze and there were fans to circulate the air so we all slept well. The area is quiet and I loved getting up really early (5 to 6 a.m.) to join loads of people walking the fabulous beach. In either direction, there are surf clubs with patrolled swimming areas. On the roof, a barbecue area and hot tub provides even better views. I recomend this spot to anyone looking for a comfortable, reasonably priced apartment in a prime location and will happily stay there again myself. Not sure about the swimming pool, which is in the basement - I didn't actually see it myself but with the beach right there, can't see it is necessary at least for older children. Lovely management team, David and Marion, as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwiadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Viscount Towers has premium position overlooking beach. ie. great beach access and views the length of Surfers Paradise. Apartments are dated however, with decor and fittings showing their age. Also no air conditioning which can make it uncomfortable in summer. Leaving windows open at night can make it difficult sleeping because of close proximity of surf. Overall average facilities compared to more modern apartments in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mons_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

One of the better posistions in Surfers.No road to cross ,just walk straight out onto the beach.
Apartment carpark is very small and would be a nightmare to try and park in if the place was very busy.(We had a people mover)
We stayed not long after a storm had been through and none of the windows or balcony glass had been cleaned.A simple job that my husband did in 5 mins and then we had an awesome view.We were in a 3 bedroom apartment which was huge and very comfortable inside for a family.Our friends stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which seemed to definitely have the better views looking straight onto the beach whereas we ended up on the side of the hotel for our view.
This place has a fantastic clean bbq area on the rooftop which we made use of every night we were there.I think overall this place was good value for money.It is defintely an older building but very roomy and with a fantastic location

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cowfarmer350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

It was lovely being right on the beach. Not much traffic noise just the lovely sounds of the waves ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! The Viscount Towers had their own Beach Access, so no worries about crossing the road etc.

Greatly reccommend the room we were in (room 25), it was spacious clean and had lovely views of the beach. Bedrooms were also spacious.

A fully equipped kitchen which had a huge fridge, microwave, dishwasher and stove, so if u didn't feel like/afford going out every night this was handy.

Marion and David the managers were friendly, helpful and went out of their way on many occasions.

The reception area is full of info about local attractions, with lots of pamplets

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwibrit2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
443 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Just got back from a 6 night stay on the Gold Coast.We had booked our apartment online and were in constant contact with the managers,David & Marion in regards to arrival dates etc.They were very helpful.We had a three bedroom, 2 bath apartment right on the beach.Two rooms had a double bed and the third had 2 singles.The couch could have slept another person.The Apartment was modern and spotlessly clean.It came with all mod cons including a dishwasher,washer and dryer and in built hairdryers.It was completely self contained which meant we could cook all our own meals had we wanted to(I was on holidays so that wasnt going to happen!!)You had clean linen and a supply of dishwashing powder for the first night.It was Location,location being in walking distance to Surfers and all that it offered.The theme parks were a short 20 minute drive and there was no shortage of restaurants.The office in the hotel had all the information and pamphlets you needed to find everything to do in Surfers.The views were 180 degrees and you just took the lift down to the ground floor and could walk for miles on the beach.The roof top had BBQ's,a spa and a sauna.The pool was on the ground floor.I couldnt recommend these apartments enough and would suit families with small children,teenagers and couples.There were balconies to every bedroom and running along the front of the living area.Just perfect.You had security parking under the building but this was its only negative point.It was very difficult to park and it was cramped and parking took 3 or 4 times to fit in.I would advise people to buy their own food from the supermarket and to take packed lunches to the Theme Parks as the food is limited and very expensive.Burgers and chips are the go!!!!The apt was $270 a night and was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#5 of 21 in Broadbeach
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Viscount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Viscount

Property: Beachfront Viscount
Address: Viscount Tower 1 First Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Viscount Towers on the Beach)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Viscount 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family orientated and friendly atmosphere Fully Self Contained apartments with great sea views 2 and 3 bedroom apartments available, Absolute beachfront. Pool, Spa pool ,Sauna and BBQ areas on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Viscount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Hotel Surfers Paradise
Beachfront Viscount Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing