We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Surfers Paradise”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Kingscliff, Australia
1 review
“Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Surfers Paradise”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A wonderful experience with well appointed, spacious apartments, absolutely stunning views, good security, and very efficient and friendly staff. Right in the heart of Surfers so there is ample to keep you busy. I will certainly return.
Jacqueline

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for spending time providing feedback to other travellars.It is great to see such positive comments about our apartments. I was also really pleased to see you recognised our fantastic and friendly staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 resort and Spa in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    693
    302
    153
    128
See reviews for
961
697
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

If there's one thing I can say about the Mantra group of hotels, it's that they are consistent. I've stayed in quite few of their properties now, and they are always grotty, poorly furnished and amenities are basic. I had high hopes for Q1, as ihad been told it was a beautiful property. Not so. As soon as I arrived I was given my room key and a pass for the car park. The lobby looked very nice, apart from the hordes of drunken 18-25 year olds, and the security teams following them around. I went to the car park to ark my car, only to fi d the security pass didn't work. This is problematic as you then can't enter the building use the lift or car park without it. After three trips to the front desk, it finally worked. Then got to my room to find that my room key didn't work. Two more trips to the front desk sorted this too. Of course, apologies for the inconvenience were only forthcoming after the 5th visit.

The room was unremarkable. Drab, vacant. A bed cover that the salvos would reject, with the obligatory body fluid stains (which were also all over the satin cushions too). I figure the less Mantra put in their rooms, the less the overall replacement and maintenance cost, because this place is barren.

In terms of things like towels and toiletries, only the basics are supplied. And your lucky if they give you fresh towels etc during your stay (lucky you have a washing machine and drier). No mini bar either.

I was on the 9th floor overlooking the city, which is a pity because the Mantra website brags about it's spectacular views. Mine was anything but.

If you want an apartment, and your not an 18-24 year old looking to get loose on cavil ave, go to Broadbeach and stay at Air. Much more civilized.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your concerns after your recent stay. We genuinely appreciate the feedback we receive from guests and use it improve and monitor the level of service we offer.
I was very sorry to read that your perception of the apartments and amenities in the room did not meet your expectations.
I would like to also apologise for the issues that you mentioned about your security keys as we strive to ensure that guests experience is free of any maintenance issues, and you can be assured this is being looked into to avoid any further system issues.
Mantra Resorts are the onsite letting agents and resident Resort managers at Q Resort controlling approximately 40% of the 526 apartments at Q1.Unfortunately we cannot control all of the clientelle in the property.
I agree that Broad beach is a much quiter area and would recommend our newest property Peppers Broadbeach.

We hope to welcome you back to Q1 Resort & Spa, or that you might try Peppers Broadbeach in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We rented a 3br apartment through a private person at a fraction of the cost of the normal price. The room was clean n tidy, had great views from 42nd floor looking south down the beach n across into the hinterland. I would stay again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your concerns after your recent stay at Q1 Resort & Spa. We genuinely appreciate the feedback we receive from guests and use it proactively to improve the level of service we offer. I trust that you also enjoyed your experience of Surfers Paradise.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We are indeed world famous for our views.
I understand that you stayed in a private apartment and would urge you to stay with us at Q1 Resort and Spa upon your next visit. Our prices are very competitive and you will enjoy the full spectrum of services that the Resort has to offer.

Kind Regards

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Pines, Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at the resort for our Anniversary and we were so impressed that we had to write a review! Right from the beginning, we were made to feel welcome and appreciated by a lovely gentleman named Roger who showed us to our room. Then when we got settled in our room, and could not believe how beautiful and modern the rooms were. All the facilities were accomodating and the general atmosphere of the rooms was fantastic. We later ate at the restaurant and our taste buds were in heaven. To top it all off, we enjoyed the next morning by sitting poolside and soaking up the beautiful outdoor area. The location was central, yet we felt relaxed and laid back without the usual fast-paced city pressures. All in all, we had a fantastic time and the way we were treated by staff will ensure that we continue to make return trips to the resort. With all our hearts, we thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_jeffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

The team at Q1 Resort and Spa are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us on the Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I was pleased to hear that you found our location & facilities to your liking.and I will be sure to pass on your great comments about our staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort and Spa in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My partner, friends and I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for one night. The apartment itself was beautiful, spotless and comfortable with plenty of space (more than we needed in fact). One room contained a queen and the other has two single beds which they push together they form a double. It wasn't a big issue for us; we slept very well. The apartment also contained 2 clean, good-sized bathrooms.

Barely a minutes walk from the accommodation is a liquor store and a convenience store. Restaurants and nightlife is pretty close by too.

If we had any issues or queries, the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

The only not so good parts of the stay:
- I tried ringing reception, front desk, concierge from the phone in the apartment but no one answered.
- there were only 2 front staff at any one time and therefore we spent a bit of time waiting in a queue for service.

A couple of things to note:
-this is a serviced apartment so you are expected to take your own rubbish to a waste chute on the same floor.
-you also need to put the dishwasher on if you use dishes, glasses, or other kitchenware.
-every person staying in your apartment are required to sign a no-party policy.

Other than that, we had a very enjoyable stay and I would come back again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank applemintfrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at the Q1 Resort & Spa. Your feedback is truly appreciated and proactively used as a tool to improve our service quality.

We are delighted to read that you found the apartment beautiful and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. The Q1 is indeed located in a privileged area within walking distance to a range of amenities, we do pride ourselves on our location and are glad that you were able to enjoy Surfers Paradise during your stay with us.

The issues you have mentioned regarding the phone not being answered and the wait for being service have been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Lovely helpful staff and wonderful service. The conference facility was great and staff were helpful and ran on time to our conference. I would recommend this venue to any business associate for a conference.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you had a good experience during your stay with us and that we were able to suit your business needs. We do appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the Q1 Resort & Spa for your future holidays!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed for one night after work function, queued for 20 mins to check-in for our two bedroom apartment on 23 floor.
As the hotel was full we were only given one card which allowed access to the floor. Simply ridiculous having to coordinate four people to meet on the grd floor just to gain access to your room level.

The room itself was large with great views but there were wha appeared to cigarette holes in the couch and bed cover. The shower in the main bedrooms on suite sprayed in all directions including over the shower screen.

As someone who lives an hr away from surfers I would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Q1 Resort & Spa. I am sorry to read that you have experienced a few issues during your stay, be advised that those have been addressed with the relevant departments and action has been taken to avoid such shortfalls. The problems you have faced during your stay does not reflect our usally very high standards and we do trust you will have a better impression of our services in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing