We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
542 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“what a view”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

we were quiet high up and the view was great, the rooms were big and had everything we needed all in the one place. the balcony was great as it was enclosed but airy, the rooms were clean and mostly modern, it was central to everything and the staff were helpful, the pool was nice. my only problem was for a modern motel they were using old box TVs, part from that it was a great stay and would stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vampslayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Vampslayer01,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay on Trip Advisor, we genuinely appreciate all feedback and use it to proactively improve the levels of service that we offer.

I am please that you enjoyed almost all aspects of you stay. Q1 is very well known for having fabulous views and out enclosed balconies have windows that open up to let in the ocean breezes. In regards to the TVs, we are continuing a refurbishment program in 2012 that will see many apartments with new TVs and furnishings. We trust you will enjoy this when next you visit Q1.

Kind Regrds


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    692
    302
    153
    128
See reviews for
960
697
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I've stayed here a few times for work. My first reaction was "Wow - I could live here". Since then I've started noticing things like frayed dirty carpeting in all the hallways, grimey furniture, missing kitchenware and the uncomfortable beds.

The building is great, and if you get a floor from 15 up the view is good, even if you don't have an ocean view. The units are large, and should have a complete set of kitchen furnishings and washer/dryer. Bathrooms are large and all the units I've stayed in have a jetted tub and separate shower. Two outdoor pools, a BBQ area, an adequate exercise area, and close to the beach.

The mattresses on the beds are much less desireable than the view. It is rare that I sleep on a king size mattress and feel the spring sets underneath. You won't be sleeping in the center of the bed.

Not all of the units in the Q1 building are managed by Mantra. If your rooms aren't booked with them you may have a totally different room experience, and the hotel staff can't help with keys, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Bob E,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we genuinely appreciate the feedback and use it to proactively improve the product and services that we offer.

I am pleased that you enjoy our location and our views and that you keep coming back is terrific. However, I am concerned that you feel some aspects of the facilities such as the public area carpets and the comfort level of the bedding is becomming less than satisfoactory.

Q1 Resort and Spa is now under new Management, so it is no longer managed by Mantra and the new owners are commited to finalise a refurbishment project that commenced in 2011, including new beds, furniture and carpets.

Thankyou once again for your important feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to Q1 Resort and Spa.

Kind Regards,


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Q1 provided everything promised with the added bonus of extremely friendly staff who enoyed going the extra yards to help us out, will return asap.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hynsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear hynsy,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on-line on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. We genuinely appreciate the feedback we receive from guests and use it proactively to improve the level of service we offer.

I am very pleased that we exceeded you expectations on this occaision. We endevour to deliver all that we promise and that is why so many of our guests return. All accommodation venues offer rooms and beds but Q1 does indeed have a point of difference in its staff that sets it apart from other resorts. Our staff are well trained and are passionate about providing excellent service and genuinely want your stay to be as great as it can be. Thankyou for putting Linda's name up in lights. I am sure she will be delighted about the terrific review and she will be acknowledged for it.

Thankyou for staying at Q1 Resort and Spa, I hope you will return as you say, "asap" so we can help make your next stay as memorable. as this one was.


Kind Regards,


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We got the 2 bedroom suite which was amazing!!! This hotel has the most incredible view of Surfers Paradise! The suite was very clean, new and had a kitchen which was handy! The rooms must have decent soundproof walls because we all partied until sunrise with no complaints! Will be coming to stay here next time as well :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffyBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear SteffyBar,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your great stay at Q1 Resort and Spa.

Our 2 bedroom apartments are indeed spacious, fully furnished, air conditioned and self contained with kitchen and laundry facilities. Ideal for families or groups as these units can sleep up to six people. You have echoed what so many people say about thier time at Q1 in regards to the amazing views. Q1 is the tallest residential building in the world and what better place in the world to have such excellent views as the Gold Coast?

I am a little concerned to read you partied in the apartment. Whilst I'm pleased you had a good time, Q1 however has a strict no party policy and we adopt a zero tolerance stance in regard to parties in apartments and whilst our walls are thick, they are not "soundproof". Please note for your next stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this year and would love to welcome you back to Q1 Resort and Spa again in the future.


Kind Regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

`We stayed at the Q1 from the 27th - 30th of november. Schoolies was on in Surfers Paradise at the time but everthing was so well controlled. We really enjoyed seeing the kids having such a great time.

The Q1 is an enormous building. Ron loved the exhibition of building parts in the entrance to the sky deck bar. The statistics of this building are incredible.

We stayed on level 41 which was high enough for me. The view was a little daunting as it was so high.

Room Tip: i would say any room in the Q1 above level 6 would have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear Betty R,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa, we genuinely appreciate the feedback we receive from guests and use it proactively to improve the level of service we offer.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Q1. Many people may book with some degree of trepidation if the stay is during Schoolies Week on the Gold Coast. However, at Q1 we took every precaution, rostered on plenty of security, briefed every single Schoolie on our strict house rules and planned the Schoolies period well in advance to ensure the interuption to our non-schoolies guests was minimal. I t also helps when the school leavers are well behaved. For the most part I am happy to say that they were outstanding in 2011.

I am pleased that you took advantage of our stunning location by going up to the Skypoint observation deck. It certainly is a great attraction in such an iconic building.

Thankyou for staying at Q1 Resort and Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Just a few words regarding Q1 Resort, Surfers.
I have stayed there a few times now and have nothing but praise for a fully professional operation. Every time I arrive, the room is always ready in spotless condition, although one time it took me 5 mins to find the TV remote. The amenities are first class with everything else that you need within walking distance. The staff are always polite and very helpful, no matter what time of day or night. But beware!!! Only, only, only, book your stay with the Resort itself. They are always there to be of assistance to you, anytime. NEVER book with an outside booking agent, like I unfortunately did last time. Never again, learnt my lesson the hard way. All they want is your money. They offer NO reception, NO assistance, NO information. Where's your room, where's the key, where do I park? who knows? Good luck, because no one is there to help you. Is that what you want that after a long trip with 2 or 3 little kids, tired and cranky. It would be like going to a fine dining restaurant and then having to go buy the ingredients and cook the dinner yourself.
I want professional service with all the trimmings when I travel and that's why I stay At Q1, booked through the Resort itself. Just how it should be and a little bit more.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a number of different rooms, ones with a ocean view are brilliant, but generally any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear Don M,

Thankyou for taking the time to write an online review recently on Trip Advisor. We genuinely appreciate all feedback and endevour to continually improve the product and services we offer to remaim a leading competitor in the Gold Coast accommodation venue market.

Thankyou for choosing to stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. When you stay directly with the Resort, you have the advantage of all the services we have to offer - 24 hour reception, a professional hospitality team, porterage on request, free luggage storage, tour bookings and enquiries, free undercover parking and full use of all the facilities. Some private agents that have apartments at Q1 do not offer these full range of services and, we believe, do not have the uniform consistency of high quality accommodation that we offer.

Thankyou once again for staying at the Resort, now that you have experienced a private agent, I am sure you will book directly through the Resort in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort and Spa.

Warm Regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for a weekend, and it was great. Not to discount some of the experiences other reviewers have had, but I guess because Q1 is the most prominent building on the coast, people have high expectations. We did too, but ours were met. It was a luxury apartment, great views, loads of space, great lounge area, and good service.

For night life, Q1 is in a good location between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. For surf, there are better breaks on the Gold Coast but the spot out front of Q1 has some good banks too. From memory, parking was free downstairs too.

If you can get a good deal on the price through Wotif or Last Minute, Q1 is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view; try your luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleWingBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraQ1, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Littlewin,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa,

I am very pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. It is something we aspire to do for all our guests. Whilst it is true that Q1 is such an iconic and world famous building, some people will have high expectations which we always endevour to meet, as we have done on this occasion.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the Apartment, the service and the views, which are often spectacular. We do indeed offer free parking to our Resort guests during thier stay. We are only metres from the Beach and I am pleased that you had an opportunity to go for a surf. Our location is walking distance to the centre of Surfers Paradise but not so close to be affected by the noise of Cavil Mall.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort and Spa

Kind Regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,056 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing