We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family getaway!”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were so excited to be staying at Q1 and from miles away we saw the striking awesome structure on our drive there. Once we arrived, our stay didn't disappoint!
From our speedy check in to our awesome room some 100 metres above the ground on floor 35...and once we opened the door to see our amazing view up the coast - spectacular!
The apartment's furnishings are pleasing to the eye with everything matching. The CD player was a bonus as was the DVD player. The enclosed balcony was also a nice feature and great for drying wet towels and swimmers!

We stayed in a 1 br apartment which was more like the size of a 2 br anywhere else. It was such a great size and our 6 yr old son thought his 'bedroom' was pretty special. By day that room is another lounge room/office with desk and internet facilities.

Our master suite was just that. Divine! Beautifully furnished, walk in robe and access to bathroom - complete with spa. The bed was super comfortable and the air cond temp just perfect. (fully adjustable air cond).

Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and full laundry, everything you could want to self cater if that was your plan. But alas, several restaurants within a short walk of Q1 has every taste catered for. Our first night was at Longboards up on the Eastern corner of the property. Great pizzas and well priced drinks and a delightful setting makes it easy to settle in for a few hours!

The pool was used every day we stayed there and had it pretty much to ourselves. The gym was great, as was the spa. There is security access to everything keeping it safe.

We loved our stay at Q1, the staff were pleasing and attentive and we just can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrshowty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear mrshowty,

Thankyou for your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. All comments, even the more subjective ones, are important to us as they let us know what people are really thinking about thier Q1 experience which helps us to make things even better for our valued guests.

I am pleased that you loved every aspect of your stay and that Q1 was able to exceed your expectations. I am pleased that you made the most of the Resorts facilities and the spacious, fully self contained apartment that you stayed in.

I know that when you have an fantastic Resort experience, the only bad thing is having to leave! I look forward to welcoming back again and trust that you will have a great time on your next stay too.

Warm regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,098 - 2,104 of 2,630 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We enjoyed our 10 days on the Gold Coast and certainly staying at Q1 was fine on the whole but I guess knowing it is the largest residential tower and how amazing it looks on the outside you tend to expect more. The pool area and outside complex is great, fab bbq's, spacious and the pools huge. The disapointment is in the furnishings of the apartments. As they are privately owned I guess they decorate them to their taste/budget so what you see on the website can be misleading. The carpets and walls in common areas need a revamp and one of our showers was leaking, bit dodgy.

The other disapointing part of the Q1 experience is the breakfast. You pay for continental only and the setup is rather poor for such a big hotel. The main drawcard of course is the view so I get the feeling they rip you off at breakfast thinking you won't care. Seems silly you then have to pay $15 or $19 for a hot breakfast to accompany what you have already paid for continental. I wouldn't eat in the restaurant again.

The views are spectacular and it is reasonably priced. I may stay again, hard to say, depends on what else I came across.

Staff were okay, not overly friendly but certainly not rude.

Thanks

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are so worth it, pay the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear boats01,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. We certainly appreciate all feedback and use it to proactively improve upon the product and services that we provide.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay on the fabulous Gold Coast and that you enjoyed the location and the facilities of the Resort. We understand that the Gold Coast accommodation market is highly competitive and we actively engage in ensuring our valued guests feel that they have made the right decision by staying with us. I acknowledge that the furnishings in the apartment that you stayed in was not up to your expectations and sincerely apologise for this. Our owner relations Manager has been informed so that we continue to meet and exceed expectations in regards to furnishings. The common areas are generally very well maintained, however, I am sorry that there was also a shortfall in this respect.

The continental breakfast at Skypoint with wonderful views of the Gold Coast is popular with guests and locals. We understand that the standard breakfast package includes continental buffet and not the full hot breakfast so Q1 is endevouring to make this better value for money for our valued guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 again and I am confident that your next stay will be even better.

Warm regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights, with my Family and friends we had two - two bedroom apartments across two floors (34 and 39).

Overall our stay was just OK. Not knowing much about the Q1 building apart from it being very tall and that it was a four star hotel, and the reviews on TP.

I would like to say the stay was amazing, but quite frankly it was just OK - this is not a proper four star hotel more like a residential building that has a front desk attached to a spa.

The apartments were spacious with great views of the GC mountains and glimpses of ocean. However the finishes weren't great, walls and paint peeling in areas where its clearly visible therefore should have been repaired. The furniture in both apartment varied, the one on 34 looked a bit tired and chipped whereas on 39 was still new -ish. Both apartments lacked any lamps in the living room and more annoyingly there wasn't a second light switch near the beds to turn off the room lights (standard in most hotels!)

The proximity to the beach is good, 50 meters perhaps closer. The pools are nice, entry is a bit annoying having to use passes to get to and from areas. Finding the sauna and steam room was hard - note - its through the gym toilets!

The atmosphere of the whole building was more like "party central" whereby walking through the halls you could hear the other rooms having a good time, in your rooms you can here the people above you (having a good time), you can also here the people in the next other apartment (and yes if they were having a good time you can hear them too!). So if you're here for a relaxing quite weekend - perhaps avoid staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Roxanne T,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. All feedback is appreciated and read by Q1 Management which aids us to further improving the Resort for our valued guests and clients.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the views and location to be ideal, however, I acknowledge that it did not live up to your expectations in every aspect. Q1 is an iconic and reputable building and understandable, people do expect a better than average experience from the Resort.

I invite you to stay with us again and trust that your next stay will be even better as we strive for continuous improvement so that Q1 remains one of the preferred Resorts on the Gold Coast..

Warm regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here with 10 mates last October during the Gold Coast 7s - absolutely perfect location. Very helpful staff. The 57th floor view is great too :) Will definitely stay this year again - perhaps with a bigger crowd!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelFEEGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear TravelFEEGEE,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay in October 2012 with your mates. All reviews are used by Management as a valuable tool for maintaining the Resort as well as identifying any areas that we can improve upon.

I am pleased that you loved your stay at Q1 and found the venue to be ideal for your group. I am pleased that the staff were friendly and helpful too. Q1 is a great Resort for groups and families as our fully self contained spacious apartments can accommodate up to 8 people comfortably, as well as our famous leisure facilities which are hugely popular.

I look forward to your stay again this year and good luck in the 7's tournament whether you are a player or a fan.

warm regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

thought we were booking a bit of luxury (sub penthouse) but it was far from luxurious......great space but furnishings were tacky and dirty....looked nothing like website...obviously set up for schoolies week. We should have been told about furnishings and dinginess of penthouse. Owner or manager of these penthouses was very rude and unapologetic.

Room Tip: do not go for the sub penthouses that are set up for schoolies week
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupert1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear rupert 1953,

Thankyou for taking the time to write on line about your recent experience at the Q1 building. All reviews are read by Q1 Resort Management and used to improve upon the apartments that we Manage and the Resort.

Unfortunately, your stay was not in an apartment that is managed by Q1 Resort and Spa. The person with whon your spoke with who you described as bieng rude an unapologetic is a private operator who lets out units and does not represent Q1 Resort in any capacity whatsoever. This operator is disreputable and we have been informed on many occaisions that this operator is unscrupulous and does not have thie clients best interests in mind. I recommend that you pursue this individual further directly with your greivance and I trust that your comments are a warning to others who may think twice before booking with this individual.
Had you booked and stayed with Q1 Resort and Spa, your experience would have been a better one and you would have enjoyed the full range of services, such as 24 reception, free parking luggage storage, tour desk information and professional on site management which does represent Q1. I urge you to book direct and stay with the Resort on the next occaision and am confident that you will enjoy your next stay.

Kind regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We live locally so 2-night package was an opportunity to see our own backyard from the tallest residential building. Apartment 1503 is a lovely large spacious 1-bedroom apartment that looks diectly across to residential block with only partial seaviews. This was very disappointing customer service especially when you have asked and expect to get uninterupted views. The modular lounge was uncomfortable, kingsize bed was two-singles pushed together, glass shower did not close properly so floor was constantly wet, noisy blinds from a/c draft. Package included entry to Skypoint on 77th floor and continental breakfast. No problems with direct booking and parking facilities. Lift service is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank my3sonss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear my3sonss,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent experience at q1 Resort and Spa. Feedback is a vital part of any business and we appreciate all comments.

I am pleased that you had the opportunity to stay at Q1 and gave given us a perspective as a Gold Coast local. Many people who live on the Gold Coast have enjoyed a stay at Q1 and what better way to view the Gold Coast than from Australia's tallest beachside tower?! I sincerely apologise that your stay did not live up to your expectations in all aspects. Although Q1 is less than 100 metres to the beach, we are not directly on the beach so ocean views are often not uninterrupted, I apologise if you were informed otherwise. Our owner relations Manager has been informed of your comments regarding the bedding and the lounge.

I look forward to you staying with Q1 again in the future and am confident that your next stay will be a better one.

Warm regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were really looking forward to staying at this hotel but feel let down. Obviously the rooms are privately owned and then rented. Our furnishing were very average, no lamp in the lounge, terrible lighting expecially in the bathrooms and the lack of crockery was annoying. Took 3 hours to fill the spa bath for the kids. On the plus side the grandchildren has a wonderful time in the pools which were massive. For what we paid, we expected more. Would we stay there again - No.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Dianne L,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on line regarding your recent experience at Q1. All feedback is appreciated and used as a tool for proactively improving upon the product and services that we provide.

You comment that you stayed in a privately owned rented apartment. It appears that you did not in fact stay at Q1 Resort and Spa so I cannot comment on your accommodation. I regret that your stay was not a positive one overall. However, I am pleased that your family enjoyed the wonderful facilities that the Resort has to offer including three swimming pools, gymnasium and the Spa.

I urge you to consider staying with us in the future as I am confident that your next stay will be a great improvement.

warm regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £101 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing