We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, shame about everything else.”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked 2 nights in an ocean view 2 bedroom apartment here, great location but the rest of the experience was distinctly poor for the $. Dirty room, very cheaply furnished, uncomfortable bed, and the cleaning left a lot of be desired. Large clot of ketchup (we hope) on the coffee table for example. For the price charged we'd expect furniture that didn't look like a package deal from a bargain furniture warehouse.

Calling the room an ocean view also not exactly accurate, yes you could see the ocean through a slot between 2 other tower blocks but not quite what we were expecting.

Also left standing around outside the reception knocking on the glass doors on arrival whilst the desk staff had a chat amongst themselves rather than opening the door to let us in. Not the best when arriving at 11:30pm at night after a flight!

For the amount charged it was very poor value with far better available in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear abr02,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. All feedback is valued by the Management team as it can identify areas that may require improvement.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, however, I was concerned to read that your perceptions of the apartment did not live up to your expectations. I apologise for this. We have an onsite Owner Services Manager who is dedicated to ensuring our modern managed apartments are presented in a manner that meets or exceeds the expectations of the discerning apartment accommodation market. I invite you to contact myself directly with the apartment number that you stayed in so that we may ascertain if it is an apartment Managed by us, and if so, make the appropriate improvements.
I am sorry that our overnight reception staff were not attentive to you upon your arrival to the Resort, this will be addressed directly with them.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,931 - 1,937 of 2,630 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom with ocean views. The apartment was fantastic! With all modern amenities. Only wished we'd made more use of them. Great location. Short distance to beach and shops. Couldn't have asked for anything more! Will surely return next time we're in town again!

Room Tip: You will get partial view of ocean if staying in a one bedroom apartment. Was told only 3 BR apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Yes it was clean, yes it was central .... but atmosphere not really suited to families ... lacked atmosphere for a family group, lots of rules to abide by ... and this is not a problem ... but they also promised top notch accommodation ... dishwasher out of action(with a threat that if someone turned it on they would be met by a technician cost to visit ... unnecessary really), showerhead in the ensuite did not work - so that could not be used ... one dish per person ... two towels supplied for four people ... took another 24 hours to get more as we went through an agent which is only open 9.00 - 5.00, a cost if you are unable to check in if your flight has been delayed ... and on and on it goes ... the apartments aren't that crash hot really ... basically I got the impression that they really hope that all the additional costs could be charged. Didn't even go to the pool/spa area as it was just a pain in the butt when you only have two cards to be divided up between four people's activities (have a 16 year old who does his own thing).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrynann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Kerrynan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on line about your recent stay at the Q1 buildiing. All feedback is highly valued as it assists Management in maintaining the quality for which Q1 is so well renowned.

Unfortunately, you did not stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. You stayed with a private agent who does not represent the Resort in any way whatsoever, so you did not enjoy the typical experience that our guests have such as 24 hour reception, extra keys available upon request, tour desk and luggage services as well as an on site housekeeping and maintenance department. I urge you to book and stay direct with the Resort on your next visit to the Gold Coast and experience the difference.

Warm regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Awesome location with a Brilliant room and a Great pool and gym.
Superb break at Q1 on Surfers Paradise.
The view was stunning from the glass fronted patio in the room.
The Spa bath was really good too.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Alway a pleasure to stay at q1. The only place to stay on the Gold Coast. Central location, great views, friendly staff and everything you could ask for and more all in one place. Big thanks to the q1 staff, and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jchar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great stay, great view, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

I felt we got great value for the price of the hotel! Definitely would stay here again!

Only negative... Bed was a bit hard but overall we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My girlfriends and I had organised a girls weekend away for some months prior to arriving. We were all so excited to be staying (again) at this amazing establishment Q1.
We arrived late afternoon just in time for happy hour and were staying on the 34th floor (about 1/2 way up) with the perfect ocean and canal views. Our only regret was the realisation that 2 nights was never going to be long enough to enjoy all Q1 has to offer.

What greeted us through the double entry doors was amazing! 2 huge bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spa, full kitchen, 2 living areas and a balcony (enclosed)...all beautifully presented and the décor nice on the eye. Uncluttered, comfortable and relaxing!

The first night we made it to 'Longboards' the adjoining café/restaurant and part of the Q1 environ, and sampled the best mojitos ever....it was unanimous...we all agreed, they were perfect!!

Night 2 was a trip to the adjoining Teppanyaki restaurant where again we were all keen to sample the taste of this restaurant we'd heard so much about. This is a must do on your visit and the staff are friendly and the food amazing.

You will be blown away by the facilities that Q1 offers. We had intentions of using the day spa...but sadly ran out of time! The pool is beautiful and plenty of space for everyone. There's also an indoor pool, heated, spa and gym. All the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We can't wait to do it all again...just need to work up a few more brownie points at home first.

Stay and play at Q1...you will be so glad you did.

Room Tip: Half way up is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrshowty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £101 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing