We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premium price not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Premium price not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked a 3 bed apartment on the 41st floor ,
Staff at reception were not very welcoming and were quite short , rude .
Room was a good size ,Nice view but the sofa was worn out and dirty , dining chairs one was broken , no curtains only blinds so the sun shone in at 5am
dish washer was rank , we had to run it empty to get the smell out , walls were chipped and dirty
Floor tiles had stains on , shower head had to be held up while you had a shower as it kept falling down .Only one towel each for the three days ,
was not impressed for the money we paid

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. We value all reviews on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and that the staff at reception were not as friendly as the great reputation they are known for.
I appreciate that you have informed us of the apartment that you stayed in. This information will be read and actioned by our Maintenance Manager and Executive Housekeeper to ensure that our high standards are well maintained. I am sorry for the shortfalls that you experienced.
Some of our special rates do not include daily housekeeing service to offer our guests excellent value for money as our fully self contained apartments contain a clothes washer and dryer. If your rate did include a daily towel replacement, then I apologise if this was not done.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    671
    288
    147
    125
See reviews for
915
665
38
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Value for money without a doubt!

We had a famiily apartment on the 47th floor; the views were incredible, windows are a little flimsy yes and could do with a wash but it didnt take away from th fact the apartmwent was massive and clean - and the spa and pool are excellent!

I'd go back!






spa and pool area are superb and views were fantatsic - only critisisisum is the wondows awere

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieselbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in a sub penthouse so you expect a certain class especially for the price. The dining chairs didn't match, all cushions were stained badly I'd hate to think with what, the fake leather couches were pealing away, the windows were flimsy so it was very noisy with the wind echoing through. The staff tried there absolute best to help make our stay better which was nice of then but I'm not paying for the staff I'm paying for a decent room. Location is fine there are better if you want to be closer to it all try Hilton or Circle on Cav. The facilities are nice here too but again nothing so special if was worth the money...sour taste in our mouths after that stay - felt like a big waste of money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisdosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear crisdosk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Q1. All feedback is valued and read by the Resort Management team.

Whilst I am pleased that the staff tried thier very best to please you, I was concerned to read that not every aspect of your stay lived up to your expectations and that your perception was not one of great value for money. I am sorry that your apartment was not as well presented as you expected. Indeed, as you described it, it certainly is not consistent with our high standards of accommodation. I invite you to contact us directly to advise us of the apartment number that you stayed in so that we may ascertain if it is an apartment that is managed by Q1 Resort or a private agent. If this apartment is Managed by Q1 Resort, this feedback will give us he opportunity to ensure that it is of the high standards for which Q1 Resort is renowned.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you are after an apartment style stay with beautiful views and with the best location in the Gold Coast then this is the place to stay! Apartments are huge and hall all facilities with views of the beach, town and the marina

Room Tip: Be aware that during the month of November that it is Schoolies which is when a large amount of 17 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vixta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in a three bedroom apartment with our two small children. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The highlights - amazing view, excellent front desk service (we made a number of requests which were quickly and pleasantly seen to), super large and pleasant apartment (bigger than our house), convenient location to the beach, nice pool and games facilities and quality toiletries. The lowlights - rooom was a little shabby (no plug for the spa, old plug for the kitchen, torn light fitting, small chunk missing out of plaster) and the overal height a little worrying with a three year old (but the "balcony" is enclosed and thankfully our boy didn't show any interest in playing with the windows). The breakfast on floor 77 was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ughboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

one of most beautiful places I haved stayed in ,,, location is great everything was cool ... I advise to try it when going to gold cost ..
Rooms are large and spaceful you feel comfortable in it ..
Choose top floors theview is awsome and charming ...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reemooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I had a wonderful stay and was happy with the staff! nice and close to everything with perfect views of the ocean, and night life. We went for a birthday and stayed on level 66 sub penthouse, as well as a three bedroomer! I recommend the Q1 as i thoroughly enjoyed it, as did my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lou_5_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing