We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Poor but not quite average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern East, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Poor but not quite average”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Now, I'm an easy going guy but when the Q1 website states the rooms are elite and exclusive you start to expect something special. What we got was white, mouldy and uncomfortable , I've seen more charm in a dental surgery. The shower had mould on the walls and bathroom fan couldn't extract anything. When booking, I was given the option of adding house keeping at an additional cost, which we chose. I could make the bed better whilst flossing my teeth. All the furniture was uncomfortable and the window blinds were continually banging on the window frames when the AC was on. I recommend using blue-tac to secure the blinds to the window frame. I have no idea how so many people on trip advisor gave the Q1 glowing reviews, it's not that great!!! Oh yeah, I loved how the pool spends most of the afternoon in the shade, seriously who designed this place?

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Phil S,

Thank you for your review of your recent Q1 Experience which has been read by Q1 Management.

I read with concern that your stay did not live up to your expectations and that your housekeeping services was not of the high standard for which Q1 is well known. I apologise that your experience was not consistent with the great majority of our guests, which may explain why we do recieve positive reviews on social media.
We have three fabulous swimming pools to choose from as part of the Resort's facilities, I am sorry that one of the pools was shaded during the afternoon. In answer to your enquiry as to who designed Q1, it was Atelier SDG and the project was developed by the Sunland construction group. Q1 has won numerous international design awards since it's openng in 2005.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    681
    293
    148
    126
See reviews for
924
679
39
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were on the 39th floor in a three bedroom apartment with four adults and two children, we did not get in each others way, plenty of room.
The views were brilliant.
The lifts were very fast which was nice getting to our rooms quickly after a long day out.
We found the staff to be very friendly and tried to do everything we asked of them. :)
We will definately be back.

Room Tip: We were in a three bedroom apartment, if you want space then Q1 is the way to go....
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank roddy_mcfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

It wasn't how I expected!! The apartment furniture was old hated the dinning table reminded me of my granny's I was told on the phone that everything was modern b4 I've booked it!! The disk services it was not professional the ladies behind the disk were chatting while I was waiting to be checked in!! But I loved the location and the sky rise view on Lvl 77 but that was it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noorana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

After reading some bad reviews on tripadvisor, decided to try it out myself and was very pleased. Amazing place!
Reception space is Gorgeous, the pools get sun for the most of the day, apartment very spacious and modern.
I had an issue with the dishwasher and the lobby manager was extremely helpful and apologetic. By the time we had a little walk to the centre, the dishwasher was fixed.
Thank you Q1 we had an amazing time and we'll be back.
P.S. My brother stayed at Hilton at the time as he was put off by Q1 reviews and his two bed apartment couldnt compare to our one bedroom.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElziS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The only place to stay on the Gold Coast. The rooms are a great size and are self sufficient. Excellent views of the ocean and surrounding features of the coast. Staff are tops and are always willing to help with your requests.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awwchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our first stay at Q1 in early November this year, and was a wonderful experience ever!
The hotel is situated very close the the beach, and just took a 5 mins walk for a beach walk or swimming under fruitful sunshine, which is a very good location! We had chosen a room at higher floor in which it had a great view of beach and residential area on the opposite side of river. The room was clean and equipped with all essential machines that we could enjoy cooking and relaxing for a whole evening! The swimming and SPA pools facilities in hotel were also very good and clean! The staff were all very kind and helpful, one midnight we had a door lock malfunctioned and the staff arranged the maintanence service efficiently! Car parking was secure and spacious, which was nice compared to many other private parking lots. Everything you need is so close to the hotel, like eateries, bars, shops, casino, which was really convenient! One special thing we enjoyed unexpectedly was the Friday Surfer Paradise night market, with the charity event and fireworks on beach, which was amazing and we enjoyed it very much!
Will definitely stay at Q1 again in our next trip to Aussie!

Room Tip: Definitely rooms facing to the beach at high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highfields, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a fantastic time when we at the Q1 Resort and Spa in November 2013. Swimming pools were excellent and we were very happy with our room. It had all the ammendities that we needed with beautiful views of the city. We will be coming back again to stay in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing