We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but don't use the wi Fi”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great but don't use the wi Fi”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Q1 resort is possibly the best hotel room view I have seen

It is located near the centre of surfers paradise and has really good amenities

Pools gym everything is modern very clean and the staff are knowledgable and are service orientated

It all goes wrong if you need to use wifi , it is available for 15$ Australian a day BUT it's not provided by the hotel it's a 3rd party. My experience was on night 1 the money came off my credit card but the log in did not work , so at 2am I was advised to come downstairs and I would be given a login . 20 minutes later I was connected . Day 2 I then bought another day successfully this time at 4pm but unfortunately at 2 am registration had expired the 24 hr access after 8 hours did not work . At 6am and a visit to reception , again a new sign in provided by hotel no charge and it worked .


The third party that supplies the service , does not offer 24 hour support , and according to the staff at q1 the problem is that customers complain all the time but we can't do anything about the wifi.

I agree it is the HOTELS problem as wifi is now a given and whether it's a 15$ charge or not it should work. Two nights in a row with problems , means that a relaxing break in a superb hotel were wasted as I ended up using data roaming ( UK mobile) instead at over 35£ on an iPhone not ideal

BUT if you don't need wifi this is a great hotel

Room Tip: See above if no wifi needed all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Howard N,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. All feedback is read by Q1 Management and is genuinely appreciated.

I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us, however, I was concerned to read that you were not satisfied with the Wi-Fi provided for our guests. We understand that fast and reliablre Wi-Fi is something that guests expect and I am sorry that twe fell short of your expectations on this occaision. I invite you to contact myself directly with further information regarding your Wi-Fi purchase and I will arrange a refund of this for you.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    709
    308
    153
    132
See reviews for
992
713
43
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Hi, we had the best holiday ever staying at Q1, So close to everything and the view from our room was fantastic, Cant wait to go there again. I stayed with my son and he loved it, we spent the day in the pool then strolled over the road to the beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a lovely 2 night stay early in the new year - as Gold Coast residents we are familiar with a lot of the resorts - we chose the Q1 for its iconic aspect and great location - the words stunning ocean views did also influence our decision!

We were on the 22nd floor and had more hinterland southern ocean views than ocean frontage but got a fabulous view of a storm on one day and wonderful night light views so couldn't really complain!

The Apartment set up was fabulous, the glassed in balcony did have opening windows for those that prefer fresh air. The apartment design is for actual living not just holiday let so very generous proportions and decent space including a full laundry and Kitchen.

Room Tip: I think the north side rooms have a more easterly aspect giving wider ocean views but we really enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I went with my husband and daughters and we all enjoyed our stay! We were treated like gods from the minute we arrived! The staff were absolutely friendly, understanding and kind and dealt with every request like professionals. The rooms were family friendly with a laundry, full sized kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and large bathroom. The balcony on the 50th floor offered stunning views that were worth every penny! The facilities available made each and everyone of us happy. Affordable, luxurious spa treatments for myself, a games room and pools for the kids and a gym for the hubby. The location was fabulous! In the heart of Surfer's Paradise, we endured beach trips, shopping and experienced the night life! It was also very close to the theme parks so we saved a bit of money on the taxi bill. Great value!!! Absolutely recommend this hotel for any traveller!!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Pick ocean view. More value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the q1 resort for five nights just after Christmas. It has the most pleasant and helpful reception staff and the rooms were just perfect. We stayed in a one bed spa room with ocean views and it didn't disappoint whatsoever. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amystephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was our second stay at Q1 and as always had a fantastic time.
Couldn't get a better location, great apartment, amazing views and great facilities. We were in a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment. We would recommend Q1 Resort to anyone. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: Ocean View is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Could not recommend this hotel enough. We changed from the towers of chevron renaissance after a 3 hour stay, as it was filthy, smelly and very run down. It was disgusting and the pool was as dirty as I've ever seen. This is our 6th time to the Gold Coast, and so far the Q1 is the best by far. The Q1 was clean, light bright and a great location. Facilities are excellent, great pool area and the rooms are very well maintained and furnished. We are on the 47 floor, with great beach views. More like a 5 star hotel than 4. Very very impressed all round. Staff here are polite and helpfull. I am here with my wife and 2 children aged 9 and 10. Great place for all. Would stay here again no problem

Room Tip: Great views and excellent modern rooms with all facilities at your doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xlr82014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing