We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment. Shocking customer service. Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment. Shocking customer service. Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our apartment was lovely. There were a few things that weren't up to scratch (broken DVD player, broken curtain, part missing from vacuum cleaner) which we brought to management attention (purely so we wouldn't get the blame for it...not because it was a big deal) and they got angry at us for complaining (which we actually weren't doing!!). Our credit card was charged a few days after check out. When I queried the fee, I was eventually told it was a charge for early check-in. I never requested to pay for early check-in and we weren't given early check-in anyway (we waited for 20 minutes until the 2pm check-in time). When I forwarded the email confirming that we did not want to pay for early check-in, again, management got angry with me and was extremely rude and refused to refund the money. Extremely disappointing customer service. Had to make a complaint with the Office of Fair Trading and forward the issue to NAB dispute resolution for a bank chargeback. I've been hung up on on the phone twice by Lisa and had shocking email exchanges with Danilo. Really upset and disappointed. How hard is it to be nice to be people when it's your job? Shouldn't people in customer service be able to relate to people with respect? Is there any need to turn to nastiness and abuse? Especially when the customer is in the right and the company has done the wrong thing? Really disappointed that it had to get to this point when it all could have been sorted out immediately with a bit of kindness and understanding. Lisa and Danilo really ruined the experience with their attitude (and charging our credit card without permission!!). Unethical and irresponsible business practice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Natasha S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experiences in the Q1 Building; however, you did not stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. You were the unfortunate customer of a private agent who does not represent Q1 Resort in any capacity whatsoever despite what they may claim otherwise.
It is disappointing that a minority of unethical and unscupulous agents who operate on the Gold Coast are sometimes associated through thier dealings with reputatble business such as Q1 Resort.
Had you stayed as a Resort guest, your experience would have been vastly different. Q1 Resort and Spa is the only officially appointed AAA tourism rated onsite Management group for Q1. Bieng onsite, we offer a pofessional Management team including 24 hour reception, luggage services, on site housekeeping and maintenance divisions as well as special holiday offers exclusively for Resort guests.

I urge you to stay with us on your next visit to the Gold Coast and write another review so that readers can see the difference. I trust that this review will serve as a warning to other readers to only stay with the official Q1 Resort team.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    681
    293
    148
    126
See reviews for
925
679
39
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Q1 is what I personally refer to as a Dubai building: big and impressive on the outside, but lacking substance on the inside.

We decided to get away for a few days, and caught a good last minute deal on our room. Our check-in was smooth, and there was secure parking available. I can only speak for the one-bedroom spa with ocean view we booked, and although it was spacious, and pretty well laid out, we were not impressed by the overall room. The room had a bland feel, and lacked inspiration. For example, the cut-out fridge space was occupied by a small refrigerator that looked totally out of place. All the walls and cabinets were pure white; the artwork and furniture were a bit tacky as well.

The bathroom was quite nice, with its dual entrances, spa bath, and nice sized shower with good water pressure. We didn't find the outlets until the last day, which are located in the drawer underneath the wash basin. We were taken aback by the clumps of dust falling out of the vent, which is located at the end of the bath, above the towel rack.

The bedroom had a comfortable enough bed. The flatscreen sat in the corner, with a DVD player. We liked the big sliding opaque glass door to the lounge room/kitchen. There were nice floor to ceiling windows with a view out onto the little terrace, which was enclosed with windows which could be slid up to open up the space. We were awoken several times during the night, however, because of the fact the apartment creaks like an old ship! It was uncanny. At first we thought it was because we left the windows open, but once we closed them, the noise didn't let up. I've stayed in many tall buildings, but never have I had a noise problem like that. Honestly, it freaked me out the first two nights we were there, because it sounded like someone was in the apartment. We finally came to terms with the fact that the apartment is just noisy, and creaky.

The well designed lobby and amazing pool area are definitely worth noting, though. These were the only areas we were impressed by. The SkyPoint observation deck at the top of the building is a nice feature but is owned separately, so you have to pay an entrance fee just to get in there; unless you want to have breakfast/lunch/dinner up there, in which case the front desk will provide you with $15 "vouchers" to use towards your meal in SkyPoint. Upon checkout we were confused because we ended having to pay for the "vouchers" we used. We had a much better experience going to the Longboards cafe which is attached to the hotel.

All in all we weren't impressed with the Q1. Next time we'll go for a place that isn't also a residential building, because it all seemed a bit slapped together, and out of focus on what a real world class hotel should be (as the Q1 is a staple of the Gold Coast). We're just glad we didn't pay a cent more than what we did.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Deat Tahno D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your spacious one bedroom apartment and that you were impressed with our facilities. However, I was concerned that the aesthetics of the design of the apartment was not to your taste that that some aspects of the apartment were not as you expected. I apologise that there was dust in the air vent, this has been reported to our housekeeping department. Your report of a creaking noise in your apartment is not something that has been experienced before, I inviste you to contact us directly with the apartment number that you stayed in so that we may ascertain the source of this noise.
Please consider staying with us again as I am confident your next stay will be a great improvement.

Warm regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highfields, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely and spacious and clean. I was pleasantly surprised by the design of the appartment and found it to be most comfortable and an enjoyable stay. The views were lovely and the location is very good. I shall be definitely staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for 5 Nights on the 47th floor in an ocean view 3 bed apartment. The view was amazing and the accommodation its self lived up to our expectations. The rooms were spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The staff were polite and always happy to help with things such as booking trips.
The pool area was always clean and although we had to move from one pool to the other throughout the day to stay in the sun, there was never a shortage of sunbeds.
The resort is in a great location, stones throw away from the beach and a short walk from the main strip in Surfers Paradise.
Highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely recommend paying the extra for the 3 bed so you are on a higher floor, the view alone is worth the extra money.
Thanks Q1!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shobden1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Excellent holiday. Great views day and night from our wonderful 2 bedroom apartment. The pool, spa and gym were fully equipped and the resort was close to all attractions on the Gold Coast. Would not hesitate to recommend Q1 to all my friends and co-workers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We drove into the Gold Coast from NSW and q1 were able to cater our needs at very short notice!! We had a beautiful view and the biggest apartment with all beautiful furnishings and it was so clean....loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephyk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Accommodation was clean and room was good. Rooms closest to ours were occupied by young party types, which a pain. Lots of drunken arguments and noise.
Requested a room as high as possible and was given the 4th floor. Still had views though.

Probably not the best accommodation for families with the amount of younger party types staying here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mt8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing