We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ambience, just great views”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

For a $299 a night room, I could not believe how poor the breakfast was at their Seventy7 Cafe. I would strongly advise going elsewhere for breakfast. The quality and variety of the breakfast selection was appalling. And whilst nobody can deny that the views are spectacular it stills lacks ambience.
And the same can be said about the entry and reception area - it is just dull.
The bed was the tiniest queen bed I had ever slept in, and the air conditioning made the curtains rattle. The powerpoint in the bathroom was concealed in a drawer - a bit bizarre.
On the up side, the staff were nice and helpful and that makes for a pleasant stay.
I'm not sure I'd recommend it at $299 a night but if you can get for less then you will appreciate it. But go somewhere else for brekkie.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustyStainless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear RustyStainless,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent Q1 experinece.
We appreciate your valuable feedback and will use it to proactively improve upon the quality of the Resort and the services that we provide.
I am pleased that you loved the views and found the staff to be helpful and friendly, I am sorry that you did not perceive that you received excellent value for money in some of the other aspects of your stay. Skypoint is one of the Resort's venues for breakfast and is seperately managed to the Resort. I will ensure that your comments are forwarded on to them.

Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wow, we put a request in for a high apartment and were certainly not disappointed, 53 floors high overlooking the the entire Gold Coast, very well appointed rooms and so spacious. Friendly reception team, great pool and services and parking that is the best of any high rise we have ever stayed in, plenty of it and easy access. Fast lifts, the list goes on, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our second stay at Q1, and does not disappoint. Ocean View 2 bedroom with balcony. Great views of the beach/ocean, and fantastic location only minutes away from Calvill Ave. Used gym facilities, would be nice if towels were supplied for gym equipment, and if air condition facilities were on, as it was a little warm in there. We will be back. Thanks for having us, and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macleej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The only place we stay when we travel to the Gold Coast. Luxury accommodation and facilities to match. Great service and attention to detail. 5 star Luxury at reasonable pricing. Location is perfect, with some of the best views of Gold Coast amazing beaches. We have stayed at Q1 for the last 6 year and it still presents as new. Stay at Q1 and you will not be dissatisfied. Smile all round from my family. Thank you to the Q1 team.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozHOtelProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I had a romantic escape to the beautiful Gold Coast! Love was in the air, we had a wedding to go to and couldn't think of a better place to than the Q1 to stay to make the most of our long weekend! Everything we needed was within walking distance and we woke up to an ocean view on one side and wound down to the city of lights!! A truly amazing place!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room with half ocean views and half city views!!!! Best of both worlds !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Near to the beach. Check in was fast and earlier than promised time which is good. Breakfast wise, dont bother paying for it on the site. Choose the ala carte if you must. The view from the breakfast area is good and informative.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel room was nice. Appliances could be upgraded. Spa bath wasn't working which was disappointing. Great location within walking distance to everything. Beautiful views. Would definately go back and hopefully would have a working spa

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalise404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,674 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £92 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing