We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday Getaway”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The resort was fantastic from the moment we arrived out front, quick park at front door, check in with a smile and a genuine welcome, off to park our car in the secured car park than zoomed up to the 17th Flr. Our apartment 1705 was very spacious, 2 bedroom ocean view with spa, modern, comfortable and very clean with a well appointed kitchen, bathrooms were large and very clean and the spa was very relaxing at the end of each day...........everything we needed was supplied. Beds were very comfortable and overall we found the Q1 resort offered everything required for a great holiday.........gym, indoor pool(heated), large outdoor pool, poolside bar.....great place for a cold beer and great burger in the afternoon.

Location was fantastic with many restaurants within walking distance or if preferred there is a supermarket also within walking distance if you wish to prepare your own meals in the well equipped full size kitchen.

Our views were great from the 17th floor, looking out to sea and to the south, approx. 180 degrees clear viewing and being a little lower there was no loss of perspective.

All staff members were very helpful and friendly and they all helped make our first experience at Q1 Resort & Spa a very memorable experience. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view spa room offers a great view and a little morning sun to warm up on a winters day.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandGaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,595)
There are newer reviews for Q1 Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The resort was great for a winter getaway. The room was very spacious and modern and the facilities had everything that we wanted. We used the gym and indoor pool and the poolside bar. The only thing that I hoped for that it didn't have was a view from the spa in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked 2 nights in a 2 bedroom ocean spa apartment for a surprise birthday celebration for our son. Our apartment on the 32nd floor was stunning. It faced directly out to the ocean but we still had some limited views to the north and sweeping views to the south and hinterland - almost 180 degrees. The rooms were large and clean, with all the mod cons you would expect for the (high) price.
However, there were a few niggles. Firstly, our compendium was very tatty (stained, ripped pages) and light on detail. Under WiFi/Internet it referred us to the information brochure in the room. There was none. Upon enquiring at reception I was told to simply logon to the Q1 hotspot and the all the payment details would be provided. $14.95 for one day's access. Yikes! We've stayed in countless hotels/motels across Australia, New Zealand and the US which have cost us half of Q1's tariff and still provided free WiFi.
Our other issue was smoking. The resort proudly proclaims, "Q1 Resort & Spa is a smoke free environment." on its home page. There are numerous stickers and signs in the apartment reiterating this directive. Unfortunately it would seem that some guests are too stupid or arrogant to heed this message. The balcony in the apartments are enclosed apart from four large sliding windows which allow fresh sea air into the apartment. Unless, of course, some moron below you starts puffing away in their own balcony. That was our experience. Not only did we have to close our windows but also the sliding doors to the balcony to stop the smoke permeating the whole apartment. When their cigarette ash came floating through the window, we decided to contact reception. We were told unless we knew the exact apartment there was very little they could do. An hour later we discovered the culprit was in a unit directly two floors below ours. We even took a few snaps to prove it. On our way to lunch we dropped in to reception to let them know. Not really sure why we bothered. The receptionist was surprised we had a photo but had no interest in viewing it. We were told that the duty manager would be informed but if the apartment had been leased by another company, there wasn't much they could do. It all seemed like it was in the "too hard" basket. The problem is that we were the ones who had done nothing wrong yet our Q1 experience was being compromised. My husband or I are not confrontational and decided to try and forget about it, and enjoy our holiday. However, this did impact on our enjoyment - we couldn't use our balcony to its full extent. The fact that there was no follow-up from reception or the duty manager is extremely poor in our opinion.
So, the apartment was fantastic, the views stunning and the location is perfect. You just might want to keep the windows closed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jerjen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Guest Relations Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear jerjen99,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you had a great time with us and trust that you will be back. All of our in room guest compendiums have recently been replaced and I am sorry that yours was not of a high quality standard.
I any of our guests are concerned about a breach of building by-laws such as noxious odours (smoking), then certainly our Manager on Duty should have resolved the matter as per your request. I am sorry that this was not done and I assure you that procedures will be refined so that this does not occur again.
Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort soon and trust that your next stay will be even better.
Kind regards,

Jason Boggs
Manager on Duty
Q1 Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Mum and I visited the Gold Coast to get away from the frosty cold Melbourne weather. We stayed at the Q1 for 12 wonderful day. On arrival the hotel presentation is impeccable and we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who explained everything I needed to know about the hotel and its facilities. The pool area and spa facilities are just an Oasis on there own. I requested a low level floor which was accommodated.

Once on our level and opening the apartment door, both mum and I had a smile from ear to ear. the room was so spacious, very clean and modern with all appliances that made our stay comfortable. The room and had that new feel to it.

The indoor balcony was sensational as you still felt open yet feel safe and snug.

For my next visit to the Gold Coast, I wouldn't stay anywhere else and I have recommend the Q1 to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great location, room was very large on a high floor level. Spent 7 nights there and everything was good. One of the Receptionist could have been friendlier as it felt she did not wanted to help us at all. All other staff members were great and very helpful even when I had to change the breakfast vouchers for the correct days.
I would stay here again as the location is great with short walks to the beach or town centre. Once the tram is operating it would help as well to travel between the different areas. Bus ticket is quite expensive and realised you can get a taxi for the same price and you get even dropped off right in front of the door.
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: High level rooms have a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter875486584547587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed on the 59th floor and couldn't believe the view we had! It was beyond amazing. The staff were very helpful and the apartment was just beautiful! It was also very clean. We will be back for sure. The mid-stay room clean and tidy was greatly appreciated. 10/10 for room 10/10 for cleanliness presentation 11/10 for customer service. So happy!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllieCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Love staying in here! Such a beautiful building with spacious rooms, great staff and nice pools. It is also right above an awesome teppanyaki place and within walking distance to everything you need!! I would definitely recommend staying here if you were given the chance.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Justinn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £96 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing