We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay would recommend to anyone”
Review of Breakers North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers North
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay would recommend to anyone”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Travelled from Ireland to Surfers for family wedding and holiday. Stayed for 3 weeks our apartment was first class on the 5th floor. Very clean and had everything we needed and more. The grouds of apartments was extremely clean and access to the beach was great. Other members of my family was on the 5th and 13th floor and again apartments top class! We will be back visiting family again and would not stay anywere else but Breakers North. Would like to thank Jim Bell who was very friendly and a great help to all my family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    48
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
59
33
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeton
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We booked a sub penthouse room at a very reasonable rate, particularly as it was school holidays. It was a very modern two bedroom unit with two bathrooms and spacious living area. The view was magnificent with about 180 degrees of the ocean and beach. One morning we even watched whales making their way up the coast! It has a great pool and spa, with a tennis court and bbq area. It is about half way between Surfers and the heart of Broadbeach but this really suited us and it was only about a 15 minute walk to both places. The manager whose name was JIm, was great and assisted us anyway he could. A couple of days after we left they sent us an e mail offering us a discount on our next trip and I thought this customer servuce was great. I could not fault this place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyLeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Have just returned from a great holiday staying at Breakers North with family amd a couple of friends - we had a great time - feel a bit sorry for those poor souls that seem to wish to write negative reviews about a great place like Breakers North. Not sure if they are actually for real - they seem like competitors complaints. The couple that run this apartment complex are beaut people and I think they would only upset the real moaners in life. The Gold Coast is a great place to have a holiday, and Breakers North is a great place to stay. The apartment complex is right on the beach - why people would moan about the views I have no idea. We have stayed here on 4 occasions now, 2 with family including teenage kids, and the other two occasions with family and friends. Each time we have been impressed with the apartments that we have been given, and we have absolutely no complaints about the cleanliness of the apartments. Some people seem to go on holiday to pick holes in the places they are staying at - we go to have a great time and enjoy ourselves. We have not once been disappointed at Breakers North. The couple that run the place are hard working Aussies and really nice people - but be warned - if you moan for no reason at all they are likely to suggest to you that you should get a life. I was once at reception where a person complained about a stupid thing - think it had to do with the lift being slow or something - and the manager Gaynor did tell the guests that they should get a life and smell the roses. I agreed completely with them. Best things about Breakers North - close to everything - on the beach - nice apartments - near good restaurants - good pool and tennis court - great bbq - and nice managers. Worst things about Breakers North - sometimes it rains !!!! ( as it goes everywhere !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasonfatheroffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We booked at Breakers North on the strength of a recommendation from friends, and were very pleased with the accomodation. Had read the reviews prior to going, and felt some trepidation about the negative ones, but seriously folks, if you want a beachfront apartment, then ASK for one at the time of booking, and don't whinge about not getting one if you don't. We too checked in after reception had closed for the day, and since we actually read the instructions provided at time of booking, had no trouble accessing night reception, and our keys. As for that person who complained that the advertising was "misleading" because it was not "absolute beachfront"- well- any closer, andyou would be on the sand dunes! Our apartment was clean and modern, and the reception staff (the "married couple" so quickly dismissed in some reviews) were helpful and friendly. The patrolled beach is just metres away. The pool, spa, tennis courts and BBQ are immaculately kept, and were in use constantly during our stay. The location is fantastic- off the busy road, yet within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Our teenage kids loved the place, and we will be happy to rebook a return trip here. As for the negative reviews...forget them.....some people just love (and live) to complain.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmv_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The good and the bad of it....

The apartments are on the beach, but not all apartments have beach views.

The pictures on the internet are not what you are getting.

We stayed in 13A which was comfortable but uninspired. The bad aspects of our room included: mismatched decor, out dated furniture and in need of some repairs. The second bedroom window didn't lock which is a REAL danger if you have small children (who like to have a look outside! Good grief!). We had to attach a make-shift lock using outdoor furniture parts as a temporary fix otherwise it was utterly unsafe to leave children unattended in that room. We didn't use the kitchen much but there didn't appear to be much in the way of decent cooking utensils (plenty of serving platters if you want to plate up a nice cheese plate). We had a beach aspect....mainly looking out to the beach but also the building next door and the hinterland. We had specifically asked for (on numerous occasions) and paid for ABSOLUTE beachfront (ie the apartment next door to ours) so I guess management has a different interpretation despite our numerous discussions and assurances. The apartment hadn't been cleaned very well....the floors were sticky, the carpet not properly vacuumed, other people's hair left behind etc. It was obviously a quick once over and I found myself tidying up a bit before we got started. The advertised Foxtel was so limited we watched free view the whole time. At night, on occasion, the drone of nearby airconditioning units was louder than the ocean waves. There was very limited and unhelpful local information available in the room (for instance, no information about local restaurants etc).

The good aspects of our room included: very comfortable queen bed, well functioning shower with decent hot water flow, two recliners, nice size apartment, carpeted (for those that want it).

Negative aspects of the building included: car parking is not friendly; two lifts that were very slow; it's a far distance walk to anything if you don't have a car.

Good things about the building include: it's right at the beach; it's relatively quiet for a Gold Coast location; internet access downstairs with attached printing facilities worked well.

But... I leave the best for last.....

MANAGEMENT!! On the evening before we were to check out, Gaynor (female part of the dynamic duo management team) came bashing on our apartment door calling out for us to open up. I couldn't get to the door and called out to my husband to attend (thinking something drastic had happened) but before he got to the door, she had helped herself in! The reason? To replace a cord for the frypan....which we hadn't used, hadn't asked about. I was taken aback by her need to barge unannounced into our apartment for something so trivial (no one was on fire!). She nearly caught me on the toilet with the door open! Who was I to think someone would barge in! When I went to ask why this matter could not have been attended to tomorrow morning....when we were checking out (after a 7 day stay), she said she was sorry if I was "offended" but she was the "manager and had the right to enter any of the apartments at any time" she saw fit! She then went into a lunatic fit about how she "didn't need this", she was "going on holiday next week", and "honestly, some people!".......we were gobsmacked! She slammed doors, stormed in and out of reception yelling. Her partner in crime, Jim, excused her completely unprofessional and unwarranted behaviour with a "don't worry about it...it's forgotten...I've already forgotten about it"....hmmmm. And, as elsewhere noted on these reviews, we got the standard "no one else has complained about it" tag line. Well.... I'm officially complaining about the standard of the management at Breakers North as at Sept 2010....Be warned!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Just stayed here over the school holidays. You can't beat the location right on the beach and we could hear the waves crashing below us. Very quiet area away from the bustle of Cavill Ave. Walking distance to both Cavill Ave and Oasis shopping centre for eating out/shopping. Pool area is nice. It was wonderful to sit on the deck chairs and look out over the beach/sea on the grassy area. Lots of families staying here with a very relaxed laid back feel. Our apartment was a beachfront location which I would highly recommend. You have to supply face cloths, toilet paper, laundry powder etc and wash your own towels, no problem with that though. Our apartment was very clean and newly renovated with lovely artwork displayed. We would definately stay again.
ps/ the two false fire alarms in the morning, one being 2.45am just added to the excitement of our holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwitraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We travelled to Qld as a group of 3 families from Melbourne in July 2010, all staying at Breakers North. One family had the Sub Penthouse on the 15th floor, beachside - charged $1200 for 7 nights, but were only allowed to stay for 6 nights... I’m not sure how that works? This is the unit shown in most of the photographs with the red couch which has faded a LOT since these early photos. (Mostly pink now.) Despite the sub-penthouse being advertised with an in-room spa, the spa was not impressive, simply being a ¾ bath, same as ours, but fitted with a few jets. The rest of the Penthouse was very nice and would suit a large family.

Our other friends stayed on the 8th floor ($899/7 nights), roadside, in an otherwise unremarkable unit, with no bath, older décor and old fittings/kitchen. When we were told our unit was on the 1st floor, northside (Unit 1D, also $899) we were disappointed at first, but it was a different story once inside. 1D overlooks the spa and pool, with fairly good views of the ocean, and the interior of the unit has recently been renovated and newly furnished. Our kitchen was almost brand new and the bathrooms had a quality comfortable feel to them. I recommend 1D to anyone who enjoys a pleasant atmosphere and is not too worried about the views from higher up. As we spent a lot of time with the kids in the very, very cosy outdoor spa and lovely warm pool, it was handy to be able to pass items up and down to our balcony.

The spa heater broke down 2 days before we left, which was disappointing. Surprisingly, we were told it was OUR responsibility to inform Body Corporate!! We decided to ignore this responsibility so it’s probably still broken, sorry about that.

Being mid-winter and much to the amusement of the locals, we did enjoy a few BBQ’s near the beach. The BBQ area was always very clean and tidy, although lack of a sink makes things interesting. Tennis courts must be booked and there is a fee to use them. I don’t play so that didn’t worry me, but I did think it was a bit tight considering there was no one there. The sauna was rarely in use and quite nice, but they might want to hose the floor out one day soon.

One drawback of the complex is the security system, which is perhaps overly secure, depending on your needs. The security token only allows you access to your own floor, ground floor and basement, so visiting friends on other floors proved difficult. Apparently the tokens are not easily modified, or the person who is able to easily modify them is not easily motivated to modify them, but we worked around it. We ended up meeting via the ground floor when moving from room to room, although we did try elevator-roulette on some occasions with limited success.

As other reviewers have mentioned here, the managers are not overly enthusiastic nor particularly matey, but as we were on holiday and not there to socialise with them, it didn’t bother us much. These rooms are not serviced, so it is BYO toilet paper, and wash your own towels; not too much difficulty, with supermarkets close by and a washer and drier provided. One of my personal highlights was chatting with the maintenance bloke/cleaner on our departure, who in no uncertain terms let me know exactly how he feels about Victorians. I suggest you tell him you’re from Sydney or Adelaide, should you run into him. :)

The place was generally quiet, clean and our stay was very pleasant, but it would have been nice to cop a smile from management when you walk past the front desk on your way out to the pool.... or even eye contact, for that matter. Oh well, maybe actually living in paradise isn’t heaven for some.

I give it an 8/10 overall, for the grumpy managers and broken spa heater.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.5 mi away
Ocean Royale
Ocean Royale
#15 of 21 in Broadbeach
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#11 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#23 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Viscount
Beachfront Viscount
#2 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#19 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Pacific
Ocean Pacific
#1 of 35 in Broadbeach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers North

Property: Breakers North
Address: 50 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers North 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beach front property with own private board walk, no roads to cross. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom fully self contained apartments with free wifi, Foxtel, security access only, free parking, heated pool and spa, sauna , full size tennis court and the best BBQ area on the coast right next to the beach. Located mid way between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach, close to Oasis Centre Casino and Convention Centre, Public transport and Northcliffe SLC & Broadbeach Bowls Club A short walk to Metro Café for your morning coffee We also have free security parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers North Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing