We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, great staff, great apartment”
Review of Regent Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regent Apartments
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We've stayed at the Regent twice, in May 2007 and April 2006, with our two children (aged 2/3 and 9/10 at the time of our stays). Overall it is great, it is a little way out of town, about 15 minute brisk walk to Cavill Ave, so is a very quiet location. Both times we stayed on the 14th floor, from memory I believe we had apartment 14a. Views are fantastic, the apartment is fully equipped, has everything you need, and is clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, and there are two pools - an outdoor with a waterslide and a heated indoor pool and spa. Also a tennis court and sauna. There is a convenience store and takeaway across the road, although these tended to be a bit expensive. I can fully recommend the Regent as a great family place to stay, particularly good if you want relatively cheap rates and don't mind being a little out of town (benefit of this is that it is much quieter), but still easy walking distance.. The rates are relatively cheap for Surfers, however, this year we did find an equally good apartment accommodation closer to town even cheaper than the Regent, that I have also reviewed - Surfers Mayfair.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2008

Our family has stayed regularly at The Regent for over a 4 year period. We have seen the management change several times with very mixed results, in the beginning the original couple were brilliant and are sorely missed by permemant residents and guests alike. The replacement management were absolutely dreadful, rude, arrogant and the maintenance of the building and facilities was a direct reflection of their disgusting attitude. I have only had a short stay since the most recent change of management and they had not long started. I have just booked a 5 day stay for the end of next week and am hopeful the place has picked up again. The facilities for families with children are excellent, two pools, indoor and outdoor, tennis court etc. My only suggestion is that a dedicated BBQ area be developed between the court and the pool, existing facilities have a very unwelcoming, tacked on feel about them. The 2 bedroom apartments on the whole are excellent, I would recommend people ask for the A or B block apartments above the 6 floor or higher. We were once put in a D block apartment that faced due west into the summer heat, with animal hair all over the place and beds that would not be seen in a Thai brothel. This apartment was definately a one off for this building and when we complained were moved the next morning. We have also had the pleasure of a free upgrade to the 3 bedroom penthouse at no additional cost, if you have the budget this is a wonderful option with its own private roof top spa, BBQ area and 360 degree views of the coast, absolutely fabulous, right down to the in unit telescope for scanning the stars. We have two children 14, and 8 and we have on the whole had great holidays here, facilities within EASY walking distance, beach across the road and the apartments are easy to entertain friends in if you wish to do so. So fingers crossed the new management has kicked some goals and things are back to how they should be.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank Weekend-Runaway-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

From our apartment, that faced the beach, we had a view that was about 230 deg with the wrap around balcony and we could see the down towards the main area of Surfers Paradise as well as the beach and over to the hills in the west. The beach is difficult to see with other buildings obscuring the view, a room on a higher level may be better if a sea view is required.
The staff were very friendly and always helpful, the owner/manager was always around to assist for any issues. The 'lobby' area has a large array of tourist information and one PAYG Internet computer.
The room was quite large with two bedrooms (one double bed, two single beds), two bathrooms, laundry and the main living area with open plan kitchen. All was clean and reasonably modern with tiled living area and carpeted bedrooms. The windows were very dirty with salt spray but as they faced the sea they maybe difficult to keep clean. They have a Foxtel (pay TV) package included in the room price with many channels (not all) that will suit most members of a family with some sport, some movies, some kids and some news/entertainment as well as the Qld FTA TV.
With it being a family unit there was plenty of crockery and cooking utensils, but there were only 4 drinking glasses, 9 wine glasses and 10 coffee cups, we could have done with more drinking glasses and less wine glasses.
The once a week cleaning was done three times in our 11 day stay with new sheets and towels etc each time – that was good.
The location of the apartment is very convenient with the main shopping area just a 10 minute walk away. Within one minute there is a small block of 4 shops that has a take away chicken shop that will serve breakfast all day, a take away pizza and pasta shop (highly recommended), a very small supermarket (good for bread, milk, Vegemite, paper, washing powder, tampons, etc) and a liquor outlet. The public transport is all located within a two minute walk of the apartment and this will take you all the way down to Tweed Heads or up to Dreamworld. A quick word of warning if it is school holidays leave early if going to any theme park as the public buses fill up quickly and may travel past the stop and not pick up. The beach is only a two minute walk and a patrolled area is just one street over from the apartment.
On arrival we were given two credit card 'keys' for entry to the apartment and this worked out well, whenever the reception was vacant the key was needed to enter the building and at all times the key was needed to get into the lift and room, as well as the indoor pool area. The security was adequate for this type of facility.
There were a few minor maintenance tasks that were required with the tennis court having one of its four lights not working and within the room some of the lights did not have globes. One area that annoyed our kids was the advertised kids games room did not exist and I was told that the permanent residents had it closed and made into a storage room, also the outdoor pool was very cold, in fact it was so cold that the kids only went in it once and from then on only swam in the indoor pool. The indoor pool was very good, warm and had a spa.
To sum up we very much enjoyed our stay at the Regent and if returning to Surfers Paradise I would be happy to stay there again, it is not overly luxurious but for the money it is good value.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

My family stayed at the Regent in October 07. 2 adults and 2 children. Booked direct with the property as this was the best deal I could find.
Advertised on their website that it was fully refurbished but found our room a bit dated with old tiles and appliances and quite a musty smell so not sure if we lucked out and got one that wasn't. Cleaners could have done a better job as well. On a good note it was very spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a seperate laundry and a wrap around balcony. Had a partial ocean view as we faced away from the coast.
Location was great for the beach and about a 10-15 min walk from the centre of Surfer's. Would probably try and get a bit closer next time as it was a bit too far for young children if walking out for dinner.
2 Pools (not big but adequate) were cleaned every morning, outdoor one was very cold but that was probably the time of year. Outdoor furniture was a bit tired and shabby with some holes in the material.
Quite a lot of the apartments have permanent residents with Wentworth managing the rest. Was not greatly impressed with the receptionists. The first barely managed a smile when we checked in and when approached at other times during our stay they gave us the impression we were disturbing them.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but the bad points unfortunatley outweighed the good and we would not return to the Regent if we travelling to Surfers again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travellingthru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

we had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, lounge, wrap around balcony, kitchen, dining room, built in robes self contained appartment, The apartment was stylish (not dated at all) - had everything that you needed.

It was clean (but not spotless). Ocean views.

The complex includes an indoor 24hr pool/spa. a tennis court. An outdoor pool (8am - 9pm) with a garden featue water slide for the kids.

Reception was helpful and accommodating, transfer pickup/drop off out side the door, mini grocery, bottle shop, take away food around the corner, bus stops at the end of the street and the whole complex was secure.

Lovely holiday - kids had a ball, We had a ball and we will definitely go back again

8  Thank Collicots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 海の眺めを希望するのであれば、高層階のA,Bの部屋を、夕日を楽しみたい人は、C,Dの部屋を希望して下さい。 Greg氏は対応してくれると思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015
Thank lina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.9 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,582 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra Sun City
Mantra Sun City
#11 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Apartments

Address: Regent 18 - 24 Aubrey St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £81 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regent Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Apartments offers an abundance of leisure and holiday activities in a great central location. Enjoy a game of tennis on the full size tennis court or relax with a soothing sauna. How about a swim in one of the two swimming pools – the fabulous indoor heated pool and spa or the heated outdoor pool with its fantastic water slide – a real favourite with the kids. Maybe a quiet BBQ with the family in the covered entertainment area. Utilize the free basement car parking or the public transport to all theme parks and attractions just outside the front door. Accommodation consists of very spacious air conditioned, 1 and 2 bedroom standard or superior apartments and one 3 bedroom rooftop apartment. Run by the friendly, professional on site management team. The Regent Apartments is ‘Perfect for the Whole Family.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regent Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regent Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Regent
Regent Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing