We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Parade Resort
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
US$120
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
US$153
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
169
129
33
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
129
33
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa baththe gold coastbooking tourssmall gymself servicedwashing machinegood sizecar hireocean viewsecure underground parkingtennis courtslarge balconyminute walkfull kitchengreat place to stayself cateringair con
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2008

After a hard year of work, my partner and I were thoroughly looking forward to a nice and relaxing holiday. We stayed at Surf Parade Resort…. and what a mistake that was!

Although the location was good and the room/resort amenities were adequate (aside from the skin irritation both my partner and I developed after getting out of the spa), we were extremely disappointed with the management of the resort, and unfortunately for us, it ruined our holiday.

I have never in my life felt so unwelcome by the staff of a resort. We felt like we were constantly being watched by management- in the lobby, at the pool (they scrutinized us while they sat drinking alcohol during work hours) and outside in the streets. I was absolutely shocked by the sheer rudeness of both Cathy and James, and feel sorry for the property owners who unknowingly allow them to unsuccessfully manage their property. Management needs a serious wake up call and I would also recommend they gain some interpersonal skills which are currently non-existent.

I was also disappointed with the hygiene of the resort. Our sheets were stained and when I contacted management again when the replacement sheet also came back stained and ripped, I was responded with “that’s just how they come back from laundry”- frankly Cathy this is just not good enough!

Reconsider staying at Surf parade resort before you book it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank Tammi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfpde, Manager at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2008

Our professional position as Managers limits the reply we can put to this review , however we completely denied the content of the review , which in our opinion is fictitious liable. I would again suggest that readers read between the lines of this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We had a fabulous time - stayed for a week in Apirl and found the reception staff tops in suggesting outings and even booking them for us. We also stayed in November 2006 for a week and found the same service. We recommend it to all our friends travelling to The Gold Coast and will be making it our first choice for accommodation whenever we go to Aussie in the future.
We found the pool, spa and sauna room as clean as and couldn't fault our room for cleanliness. We had the most relaxing time ever with absolutely spectacular views from our room and the resort is close to the beach, shopping - all the amenities you could want. An excellent place for anyone wanting to relax.

Stayed: April 2007
42  Thank tekuitites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Its great to read your review and see that you have had great experiences at Surf Parade Resort . Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Have stayed at many Hotels in Europe and USA and this one was excellent. Stayed for nearly 3 weeks and found the place to great. Almost daily used the pool and spa and meet some wonderful people. The room was nice and very clean , like the rest of the hotel area. The staff were alway very friendy and chatty. Would stay again if we end up visiting this way again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
46  Thank DownunderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks for the positive reveiw. We hope that all guest have your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We stayed for 10 days over Xmas / New Year . It rained all the time but that couldn’t be helped and as I was told , much needed. We arrived late and the room was clean and tidy. The reception staff had arranged a bottle of sparkling wine as I requested. Cable TV helped with the rainy days and the room was very pleasent which helped alot. Overall the place was very clean and neat , with a nice pool,sauna and spa area. The Reception staff suggested a few activities for the rainy days and were very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. The beach was closed due to the weather , but the waves were an amazing experience. Everyone we meet there was very nice and overall , apart from the rain, we enjoyed our experience. Hopefully we will get some sunny days on our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
29  Thank MainlanderN_z_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Unfortunate about the rainbut pleased to see that overall it was a positve experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

For the AU$200 per night we paid, our apartment and the facilities were adequate. The whitegoods and air conditioning units were in working order, and the apartments provided reasonably sufficient space for a couple.

There was a fold-out couch for extra guests, but any extra people in the apartment would have definitely provided for insufficient space.

The pool and spa area was a reasonable size. The water in the spa looked like it hadn't been changed in a very long time, perhaps as a result of such strict water restrictions. However, such water restricions didn't stop James, one of the property managers, from spending over half an hour hosing down the footpath and surrounding concrete areas.

What really tarnished our stay was the attidude and conduct of property manager Cathy. She was not at all welcoming, and my wife and I felt like we were walking on eggshells every time we went past the reception area.

Cathy took every opportunity to berate us, whether it be for playing inflatable cricket in the pool, or leaving a shopping trolley too close to the property. On our final night, Cathy advised us in no uncertain terms that our rooms had better be spotless, and that we had better not check out one second later than 10am, at risk of incurring further charges.

I cancelled the credit card which I placed on file, in anticipation that Cathy was going to charge additional funds.

Cathy's husband James was equally as unfriendly, asking us to get off the property on new years eve, because we were apparently making too much noise.

Until the property managers undergo some very basic lessons in providing good customer service, I would strongly recommend that potential guests reconsider staying at the Surf Parade Resort.

Until then, no-one is beyond the rebuke of Cathy and James.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank hot_pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGoldCoast, Manager James - 07 55388863 Please phone me re this. at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2008



Litigious Review


If you read between the lines of “hot pies” review you will get a clearer picture. Unquestionably it is not in our interest as Managers to upset any guests stay. The motivation for such a review has to be questioned, especially when taking into consideration other reviews on this site.
Two other points. The spa is cleaned and monitored to an extremely high standard throughout each day, and I considered this point in the review to be very litigious . Our overall independent rating for cleanliness is outstanding. The use of spear pump water for cleaning paths etc is not restricted in the level 6 water restrictions presently in place on the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews