We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Surfers”
Review of Surf Parade Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Parade Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Surfers”
Reviewed 21 June 2008

As told in your email the following is the review I did and is resubmitted as advised by trip advisor

We found and booked Surf Parade Resort on the internet and was some what wary that it would not live up to the photos and description on the web site. The reception area was immaculate on our arrival and set the tone for the rest of our stay. The reception staff were great , putting us at ease from the moment we entered with their friendly manner and helping us with any queries we had during our stay. They also suggested other activities and attractionswhich we booked and enjoyed.The unit we stayed in was spotless and a credit to the cleaning staff. It was roomy and ideal for a couple. Everything you needed was there as well as the spa bath and we found the experience very quiet and relaxing. The outside area was up to the same high standard , neat and tidy with a great pool , spa and sauna area . Mostly other couples using the areas so it was a very relaxing experience. The Resort is a few minutes walk from the beach and local buses. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyHolidayBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2015
Another great review , we really appreciate this and will pass it on to those concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    115
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
61
190
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
219 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We have just returned from three weeks in Australia two weeks based at the Surf Parade Resort. The apartments are ideally situated in Broadbeach away from the louder Surfers Paradise and only a short walk from the beautiful beach. Good access to the local bus service just along the road.

The apartment we had was No 28 on the second floor at the back of the hotel. It was very modern, clean and well fitted out with all the mod cons you could want. My only disappointment was a lack of a sea view although the apartments at the back get the sun in the afternoon on the balcony.. We had been told the apartment was nice and quiet and so it proved to be.

The pool and pool area are really nice. I did think about using the gym and tennis court but common sense prevailed.

I do not know what went on in the few critical reviews earlier in the year but the management could not have been more helpful. We had a problem with the spa bath and it was fixed by the engineer within a few hours. All the staff and management were friendly and helpful.

We used the apartment as a base and went off from there to Brisbane, Sunshine Coast and Whitsundays Islands.

The area has lots to do for family members of all ages or simply lie on the miles of sandy beach.

  • Liked — Size and standard of the accommodation
  • Disliked — Lack of sea view.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Tafftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2015
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the resort over Christmas / New Years, and were slightly disappointed by the entire experience.

When I booked over the telephone, the manager was extremely friendly. However, upon arrival, the manager was abrupt and not particularly welcoming. This attitude continued throughout our stay.

We paid extra to have a room with air-conditioning, but the unit was not functioning correctly, and our attempts at getting the unit repaired were futile, as the property management was either unable or unwilling to assist.

The pool area was fine, as was the tennis court.

This place doesn't have much else going for it. The rooms are small, and you can hear everything from the apartments next door, in addition to everyone yelling in the corridors.

  • Liked — The foxtel.
  • Disliked — The customer service.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dibble-dubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2015
Thank for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

Stayed in Surf Parade for 2 weeks in Oct 07. We had a superb room, very spacious with a view overlooking the pool to our left and you could also see the sea from the right side of the balcony, we were on the 5th floor. We had a wonderful holiday and found the staff very friendly and exceptionally helpful and they gave us some good tips and advise. The kitchen had everything you need even down to a corkscrew for the very cheap Aussie white wine. Takes some beating.
The rooms were quite spacious and the bathroom was great with a spa bath and also the washing machine and dryer were in there as well. It's only about 7 or 8 mins walk from the beach which is very clean and well patrolled and there is also a bus stop about 3 mins walk away. The shops and bars of Broadbeach are about 15 mins walk away which is where we went as it was quieter than Surfers, though there are obviously not as many bars and restaurants, but we found enough to keep us going and it was not as boistrous, it's only 15 mins or walk away as well, so a very central resort.
Hiring a car is a good idea as we travelled as far up as Aussie Zoo and we also went quite a way down to Byrom Bay where from the lighthouse we saw hump back whales migrating, dolphins, turtles, stingrays, oh what a stupendous day we had.
Also not to be missed is Fraser Island which we did on a trip. It was long day being picked up at 6:00 am and not getting back till quite late, but well worth the visit and being tired the next day. What a place to go to, especially when met by Dingos on the beach. Well worth thinking about taking a trip up there.
All in all we could not fault Surf Parade Resort, very clean, nice pool area, it was also very quiet when we went even though the resort was quite full.
Would definitely recommend and would not think twice about going there again if visiting the Gold Coast.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and cheerful, friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing at all to complain about
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank LancashireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2015
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Surf Parade Resort was an excellent spot to stay at, and after spending two and a half weeks there the only bad thing was having to check out and return to work.
It was clean ,spacious and well appointed, the location is fantastic with only a short stroll to the beach and shopping centre, also really liked been able to jump on the bus to the theme parks, as the stop was maybe 50m from the reception. No resturant, but only a short stroll to heaps of cafes and eating places. Also having a full kitchen was great, we used the bbq at the pool alot, and were amazed how clean it was kept even though we cooked marinated meat a couple of nights,( wish whoever kept the bbq clean could come to my place). Reception made booking tours to Australia Zoo, Draculas, and theme park passes a breeze. Staff seemed more than happy to have you there and every one was friendly and helpful. After been worried I would find the Gold coast crowded and over the top, I was pleasantly proved wrong. We will definitely come back to the Gold coast, and definitely stay here again.It was like a home away from home except with lovely people to clean up after you ,cool rides, and the great view out your window!

  • Liked — Friendly faces, and location
  • Disliked — Checking out
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
48 Thank WyndhamTimmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2015
Thanks for such a great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2008

After a hard year of work, my partner and I were thoroughly looking forward to a nice and relaxing holiday. We stayed at Surf Parade Resort…. and what a mistake that was!

Although the location was good and the room/resort amenities were adequate (aside from the skin irritation both my partner and I developed after getting out of the spa), we were extremely disappointed with the management of the resort, and unfortunately for us, it ruined our holiday.

I have never in my life felt so unwelcome by the staff of a resort. We felt like we were constantly being watched by management- in the lobby, at the pool (they scrutinized us while they sat drinking alcohol during work hours) and outside in the streets. I was absolutely shocked by the sheer rudeness of both Cathy and James, and feel sorry for the property owners who unknowingly allow them to unsuccessfully manage their property. Management needs a serious wake up call and I would also recommend they gain some interpersonal skills which are currently non-existent.

I was also disappointed with the hygiene of the resort. Our sheets were stained and when I contacted management again when the replacement sheet also came back stained and ripped, I was responded with “that’s just how they come back from laundry”- frankly Cathy this is just not good enough!

Reconsider staying at Surf parade resort before you book it.

  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank Tammi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfpde, Manager at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2008
Our professional position as Managers limits the reply we can put to this review , however we completely denied the content of the review , which in our opinion is fictitious liable. I would again suggest that readers read between the lines of this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Kuiti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We had a fabulous time - stayed for a week in Apirl and found the reception staff tops in suggesting outings and even booking them for us. We also stayed in November 2006 for a week and found the same service. We recommend it to all our friends travelling to The Gold Coast and will be making it our first choice for accommodation whenever we go to Aussie in the future.
We found the pool, spa and sauna room as clean as and couldn't fault our room for cleanliness. We had the most relaxing time ever with absolutely spectacular views from our room and the resort is close to the beach, shopping - all the amenities you could want. An excellent place for anyone wanting to relax.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
42 Thank tekuitites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2015
Its great to read your review and see that you have had great experiences at Surf Parade Resort . Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Parade Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Parade Resort

Property: Surf Parade Resort
Address: 210 - 218 Surf Pde, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Parade Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free internet, free parking, air-conditioning, full sized tennis court, heated outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, mini-gymnasium, BBQ area and gazebo. Nestled perfectly between two of the most vibrant beach side suburbs on the Gold Coast, Surf Parade Resort offers you a relaxing and satisfying holiday. The superb one bedroom holiday apartments are perfect for couples and small families seeking comfortable and affordable Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise accommodation on the Gold Coast.Surf Parade Resort offers 98 fully self-contained apartments, all fully equipped with in-room corner spa bath, large curved balconies and air-conditioning. Each of the Broadbeach family apartments has modern interiors that are complimented by a lovely decor. Enjoy the first rate resort facilities that include a full sized tennis court, heated outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, mini-gymnasium, BBQ area and gazebo, and a lush tropical garden. All apartments have wireless internet connections available on a pay-to-use basis, thereby enabling guests to maintain email contact and internet access while on holiday. Surf Parade Resort is also a mere stone's throw away from the most exciting places on the Gold Coast. Get easy and convenient access to the most spectacular patrolled beaches and world class theme parks. Fabulous shops, innovative restaurants, trendy nightclubs and extravagant casino are all nearby our holiday accommodation in Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Parade Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Parade Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Parade Surfers Paradise
Surf Parade Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing