We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base”
Review of Surf Parade Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surf Parade Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed at Surf Parade Resort for three weeks Mar/Apr 2008.

First impressions is a great place, well maintained gardens and reception area.

We had a room on the third floor which was OK but looked into an adjacent property which was not great, but went to reception and asked if we could be moved and we were to the 6th floor, which a superb view of the hinterland.

This is a great base within easy reach of Broadbeach and Surfers, it is also a stones throw from the magnificient white sandy beach!

The apartments are clean and tidy, good size bathrooms.

At the reception desk they are helpful and here you can book your tours too.

The bus stops just along the road, a fantastic public service, you can obtain ezy pass from the driver which are good value for money, you can use all surfside bus services.

Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank newlife_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks for taking the time to review Surf Parade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2008

As told in your email the following is the review I did and is resubmitted as advised by trip advisor

We found and booked Surf Parade Resort on the internet and was some what wary that it would not live up to the photos and description on the web site. The reception area was immaculate on our arrival and set the tone for the rest of our stay. The reception staff were great , putting us at ease from the moment we entered with their friendly manner and helping us with any queries we had during our stay. They also suggested other activities and attractionswhich we booked and enjoyed.The unit we stayed in was spotless and a credit to the cleaning staff. It was roomy and ideal for a couple. Everything you needed was there as well as the spa bath and we found the experience very quiet and relaxing. The outside area was up to the same high standard , neat and tidy with a great pool , spa and sauna area . Mostly other couples using the areas so it was a very relaxing experience. The Resort is a few minutes walk from the beach and local buses. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HappyHolidayBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Another great review , we really appreciate this and will pass it on to those concerned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We have just returned from three weeks in Australia two weeks based at the Surf Parade Resort. The apartments are ideally situated in Broadbeach away from the louder Surfers Paradise and only a short walk from the beautiful beach. Good access to the local bus service just along the road.

The apartment we had was No 28 on the second floor at the back of the hotel. It was very modern, clean and well fitted out with all the mod cons you could want. My only disappointment was a lack of a sea view although the apartments at the back get the sun in the afternoon on the balcony.. We had been told the apartment was nice and quiet and so it proved to be.

The pool and pool area are really nice. I did think about using the gym and tennis court but common sense prevailed.

I do not know what went on in the few critical reviews earlier in the year but the management could not have been more helpful. We had a problem with the spa bath and it was fixed by the engineer within a few hours. All the staff and management were friendly and helpful.

We used the apartment as a base and went off from there to Brisbane, Sunshine Coast and Whitsundays Islands.

The area has lots to do for family members of all ages or simply lie on the miles of sandy beach.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Tafftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the resort over Christmas / New Years, and were slightly disappointed by the entire experience.

When I booked over the telephone, the manager was extremely friendly. However, upon arrival, the manager was abrupt and not particularly welcoming. This attitude continued throughout our stay.

We paid extra to have a room with air-conditioning, but the unit was not functioning correctly, and our attempts at getting the unit repaired were futile, as the property management was either unable or unwilling to assist.

The pool area was fine, as was the tennis court.

This place doesn't have much else going for it. The rooms are small, and you can hear everything from the apartments next door, in addition to everyone yelling in the corridors.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dibble-dubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thank for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

Stayed in Surf Parade for 2 weeks in Oct 07. We had a superb room, very spacious with a view overlooking the pool to our left and you could also see the sea from the right side of the balcony, we were on the 5th floor. We had a wonderful holiday and found the staff very friendly and exceptionally helpful and they gave us some good tips and advise. The kitchen had everything you need even down to a corkscrew for the very cheap Aussie white wine. Takes some beating.
The rooms were quite spacious and the bathroom was great with a spa bath and also the washing machine and dryer were in there as well. It's only about 7 or 8 mins walk from the beach which is very clean and well patrolled and there is also a bus stop about 3 mins walk away. The shops and bars of Broadbeach are about 15 mins walk away which is where we went as it was quieter than Surfers, though there are obviously not as many bars and restaurants, but we found enough to keep us going and it was not as boistrous, it's only 15 mins or walk away as well, so a very central resort.
Hiring a car is a good idea as we travelled as far up as Aussie Zoo and we also went quite a way down to Byrom Bay where from the lighthouse we saw hump back whales migrating, dolphins, turtles, stingrays, oh what a stupendous day we had.
Also not to be missed is Fraser Island which we did on a trip. It was long day being picked up at 6:00 am and not getting back till quite late, but well worth the visit and being tired the next day. What a place to go to, especially when met by Dingos on the beach. Well worth thinking about taking a trip up there.
All in all we could not fault Surf Parade Resort, very clean, nice pool area, it was also very quiet when we went even though the resort was quite full.
Would definitely recommend and would not think twice about going there again if visiting the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank LancashireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Surf Parade Resort was an excellent spot to stay at, and after spending two and a half weeks there the only bad thing was having to check out and return to work.
It was clean ,spacious and well appointed, the location is fantastic with only a short stroll to the beach and shopping centre, also really liked been able to jump on the bus to the theme parks, as the stop was maybe 50m from the reception. No resturant, but only a short stroll to heaps of cafes and eating places. Also having a full kitchen was great, we used the bbq at the pool alot, and were amazed how clean it was kept even though we cooked marinated meat a couple of nights,( wish whoever kept the bbq clean could come to my place). Reception made booking tours to Australia Zoo, Draculas, and theme park passes a breeze. Staff seemed more than happy to have you there and every one was friendly and helpful. After been worried I would find the Gold coast crowded and over the top, I was pleasantly proved wrong. We will definitely come back to the Gold coast, and definitely stay here again.It was like a home away from home except with lovely people to clean up after you ,cool rides, and the great view out your window!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
48  Thank WyndhamTimmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, Owner at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks for such a great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2008

After a hard year of work, my partner and I were thoroughly looking forward to a nice and relaxing holiday. We stayed at Surf Parade Resort…. and what a mistake that was!

Although the location was good and the room/resort amenities were adequate (aside from the skin irritation both my partner and I developed after getting out of the spa), we were extremely disappointed with the management of the resort, and unfortunately for us, it ruined our holiday.

I have never in my life felt so unwelcome by the staff of a resort. We felt like we were constantly being watched by management- in the lobby, at the pool (they scrutinized us while they sat drinking alcohol during work hours) and outside in the streets. I was absolutely shocked by the sheer rudeness of both Cathy and James, and feel sorry for the property owners who unknowingly allow them to unsuccessfully manage their property. Management needs a serious wake up call and I would also recommend they gain some interpersonal skills which are currently non-existent.

I was also disappointed with the hygiene of the resort. Our sheets were stained and when I contacted management again when the replacement sheet also came back stained and ripped, I was responded with “that’s just how they come back from laundry”- frankly Cathy this is just not good enough!

Reconsider staying at Surf parade resort before you book it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank Tammi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfpde, Manager at Surf Parade Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2008

Our professional position as Managers limits the reply we can put to this review , however we completely denied the content of the review , which in our opinion is fictitious liable. I would again suggest that readers read between the lines of this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.7 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#19 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#14 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
761 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
#71 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#46 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
Marrakesh Resort Apartments
#6 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
188 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Parade Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Parade Resort

Address: 210 - 218 Surf Parade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £68 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Parade Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free internet, free parking, air-conditioning, full sized tennis court, heated outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, mini-gymnasium, BBQ area and gazebo. Nestled perfectly between two of the most vibrant beach side suburbs on the Gold Coast, Surf Parade Resort offers you a relaxing and satisfying holiday. The superb one bedroom holiday apartments are perfect for couples and small families seeking comfortable and affordable Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise accommodation on the Gold Coast.Surf Parade Resort offers 98 fully self-contained apartments, all fully equipped with in-room corner spa bath, large curved balconies and air-conditioning. Each of the Broadbeach family apartments has modern interiors that are complimented by a lovely decor. Enjoy the first rate resort facilities that include a full sized tennis court, heated outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, mini-gymnasium, BBQ area and gazebo, and a lush tropical garden. All apartments have wireless internet connections available on a pay-to-use basis, thereby enabling guests to maintain email contact and internet access while on holiday. Surf Parade Resort is also a mere stone's throw away from the most exciting places on the Gold Coast. Get easy and convenient access to the most spectacular patrolled beaches and world class theme parks. Fabulous shops, innovative restaurants, trendy nightclubs and extravagant casino are all nearby our holiday accommodation in Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surf Parade Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Parade Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Parade Surfers Paradise
Surf Parade Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing