We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a let down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Towers of Chevron
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I just came back from staying in this place. We arrived late at night absolutely shattered after our flight and then drive to get there. We were able to get our keys without to much fuss but when we went to park the car the we had to spend 30min trying to find the right place to park. It was badly labeled and sign posted and very confusing. In order to enter the parking space you use a swipe key and the driver had to get out of the car to swipe the key.

The apartment view was amazing, it was a central location and had some ok food places. But it was the small things that really annoyed. We booked in for 4 people but only had towels for 2, we didn't have cleaning products for something as simple as wiping the kitchen top down, only one tea towel and only 2 toilet rolls. Our rock hard beds were short sheeted, they looked fantastic made up except for the fact that they didn't cover the last 2 feet of the bed. I have a tough time believing the cleaning staff hadn't noticed that. We noticed mud splatter on the lovely leather furniture and the apartment smelled slightly. I think there ventilation system might need a clean.

I will say this whenever we dealt with the staff the looked and acted professionally and friendly, and I'll be the first to admit that we were more than a bit cranky.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiki272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback Wiki272014.

I ma sorry to hear you found the car park difficult to find and navigate. We are currently in talks with body corporate to get new signage for this. I hope that the map and welcome letter in your envelope was of some assistance to you.

In regards to cleaning issues in the apartment, I hope that when reception was advised of this we arranged for housekeeping to attend and correct this as a matter of priority. All apartments should be cleaned and then checked by a supervisor before being released for guest check in and I shall certainly be speaking with the head of housekeeping regarding this particular incident in our next weekly meeting.

As we are self contained apartments, we provide an initial amenities pack, however once this runs out guests are expected to replenish this themselves (this included toilet paper, dishwashing liquid and laundry detergent).

I have arranged for our quality control manager to assess the beds in the apartment and ascertain if they need replacing.

I am glad to see you found the staff professional and friendly. We pride ourselves on our customer service and professionalism and we are happy to see this is evident to our guests.

I hope that this incident does not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. I would love the opportunity to personally welcome you back to experience what a true stay at Chevron Towers should really be like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    1,370
    641
    323
    307
See reviews for
2,512
418
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Chevron in tower 2 in April, from the 23rd - 27th April 2014. We stayed in a 3 bedroom sub-pentouse apartment (myself and 4 friends). Overall, we loved the location (shops are directly underneath!) and the view is amazing but there were a few small things we found disappointing. The second bathroom shower needed to be sealed as it leaked immensely whilst showering (we ended up sharing the shower in the main bathroom). There was no soap or tissues, and not enough dishwashing detergent. Not that we wanted to clean on our holiday, but a mop and floor cleaner would have come in handy as we ate breakfast in a lot, and made dinner one night; we wanted to leave the place as clean as we had found it. The two single beds in one of the bedrooms were on wheels and moved around quite a bit also. The dining room chairs wobbled and we would have appreciated a welcome letter. Pool area didn't have enough chairs. This apartment just needs some loose ends tied up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank evie_anarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback evie_anarchy.

I have forwarded your review to our Maintenance Manager and he shall address the leaking shower and wobbly dining chairs as soon as possible.

As the apartments are self contained we supply an initial amenities pack however once this has run out guests are expected to replenish this themselves.

Upon check in all guests are provided with a welcome letter map along with the necessary directions to park their car or walk to their room.

Overall I am glad to see you enjoyed your time here and made the most of our central location, wonderful views and world class facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Amazing apartments. Amazing prices. so central close to cavill ave!
got a 3 bedroom apartment with friends, had an amazing time. The pool here is perfect. Highly recommend this hotel. 5 stars, great service

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChevronManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay - we appreciate all feedback, and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond Terrace, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

First time there and loved it... Hard to figure out the security but once taught all good.. To find old chewing gum on counter, dirty undies and sock in washing machine was a bit disappointing..very central and dont need to use the car... Love how shops underneath...

Room Tip: Ask for extra blankets in cooler months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevrontowers, Front Office Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review Johanna,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed our location and spacious apartments.

I am disappointed to read the cleaning issues with the apartment. If you would like to contact me directly on stay@chevrontowers.com.au with your room number I will be able to advise housekeeping.

Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The three bedroom unit on the 38th Floor in Tower 3 was brilliant. There was plenty of room for the family to spread out and have our own space. Then the facilities were child friendly and the shopping centre on the ground level offered every convenience that was required. Our apartment could have done with a TV in the main bedroom and a darker shade as the sun was quite intense during the morning.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChevronManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay - we appreciate all feedback, and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent a week in a spacious and modern two-bedroom apartment at the Chevron Renaissance hotel. It was our first trip to Surfers Paradise. The apartment was fantastic and equipped with everything we needed - crockery, cutlery, laundry facilities, linen etc to Foxtel. We had two balconies with views of the ocean, hotel resort pool and to the river / waterways. Location was excellent - convenient to the city and beach. Concierge desk was helpful with all transfers to the theme parks at competitive prices. Overall we'd recommend this venue. Could be improved with overnight staff on the front desk and better value internet access (or included).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Von52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChevronManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay - we appreciate all feedback, and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Towers of Chevron Renaissance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

well where do I start !!!! apartment had a dirty oven,stains on kitchen benches. and in and around the washing machine(floor) was filthy with a lot of dust and rubbish , that you could only see when you took the ironing board out. we requested 2 queen size beds, we had 1 and 2 single beds, hmmm and we did book all this in January to stay in may !!! then to top it off we couldn't find our car when we were leaving !!! there should be a car space for every apartment , with a room number on it , when I went to reception , I told the girl that we couldn't find our car , and could she help us at all. we were rather rudely told NO !!! on the up side beautiful view over looking the ocean, but
will definitely think twice before staying here again :(

Room Tip: higher floors, great views, but not very clean and showing signs of age( paint bubbling, paint chip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank mich2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevrontowers, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Towers of Chevron, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We have attempted to contact you directly regarding your stay to ascertain further information so we can arrange to have the apartment assessed and take measures regarding the rude staff member, however to date we have not received a response.

All apartments should be cleaned and then checked by a supervisor before being released for guest check in. Our 2 bedroom apartments generally have 1 queen bed and 2 singles, however we can request housekeeping put the 2 singles together and sheet this as a queen. If this was not done on your arrival I hope that when reception was advised we sent someone up immediately.

Our complex comprises of over 700 apartments and the car parks has enough spaces to average 1.5 spot per unit. We do not allocate certain car spaces for holiday units, the only private and reserved spaces are for permanent residents in the complex. I apologise of the staff member was rude to you. Staff members cannot generally leave the front desk however they should have been able to ask questions and help you ascertain which level you parked on. We have made several staff changes since you stayed with us and it is my belief that the staff member in question is no longer employed here.

I can understand your hesitation however I hope that you will return to our resort in future. I am confident that your next stay would be 5 star in every aspect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Towers of Chevron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Towers of Chevron

Property: Mantra Towers of Chevron
Address: 23 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Towers of Chevron Renaissance)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Towers of Chevron 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mantra Towers of Chevron, located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, you will find the perfect accommodation from which to explore the beautiful and fun-filled Gold Coast. In your self-contained apartment you'll feel truly at ease. All apartments are self-contained and feature kitchens equipped with modern appliances, a full service laundry, cable TV and a DVD player. All the conveniences of home can be found here. Located atop the trendy Chevron Renaissance precinct, you need only duck downstairs to enjoy a delicious meal or to wander through unique and designer boutiques. If you're on holiday with the kids, the Infinity attraction is a must visit. They're bound to be entertained exploring the fun-house full of mirrors, optical illusions and sound effects. You can choose between 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments or superior apartments, which are furnished in contemporary neutral tones. Or for larger groups wishing to truly holiday in style, the 3 bedroom penthouse apartments are the ideal choice. At Mantra Towers of Chevron you will have access to the resorts Health Pavilion, featuring indoor and outdoor lap pools and full gymnasium. BBQ facilities, the private theatre and also 'Beaches in the Sky', the resorts outdoor leisure area featuring sub-tropical gardens and a 600m2 lagoon style pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Towers of Chevron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towers Of Chevron Renaissance Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Of Chevron Renaissance
Renaissance Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Renaissance
Mantra Towers Of Chevron Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing