We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good .... But”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Texas, QLD
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All good .... But”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A great hotel that ticks almost every box. Check in was a breeze, the room was clean, comfy and spacious, the shower and bathroom where superb. The hotel had free under cover parking and a pillow menu. It is well located, just a pleasant 10 minute stroll form Broadbeach. Nothing to fault except they still didn't have free wifi. What is it with hotels in Australia? Having traveled extensively throughout the world it seems almost like customer gouging to charge $9.95 per day for wifi. Asia, Europe, the USA and UK wifi is free, and fast. Most people just want to post a few facebook updates and check emails. It really detracts from the experience to think the hotel is so focused on profit they feel the need to charge for this service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigpetesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hello Bigpetesol,

I'm glad to see that you had a good stay with us and we ticked almost every box for you on your recent stay with us. Glad to see you were a fan of the free parking and the pillow menu that we offer guests.

I am sorry to see that your only fault with us was the charge for the internet. I am surprised to see this as, as of January 2014, IHG properties offer free internet to all IHG rewards Club members, as membership is free it is a great way to access free internet on your holiday/business visit. Our Reception staff do mention this on check-in so I do apologise if this option wasn't offered to you. If you would like to send me details of your stay, then I will look into this matter for you. You can contact me on victoria.thornton@ihg.com.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback and review, we appreciate you doing so.

Many thanks,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    182
    70
    11
    15
See reviews for
78
205
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with 2 teenage sons. Room had 2 double beds and the boys had trouble sharing. View from Balcony lovely although a bit windy. Biggest gripe is NO free internet- they charged $9 for 2 hours, and whilst paying for a pricey hotel this is outrageous. Hotel is not conveniently located being midway between Surfers Paradise and broadbeach ,so unless you want to drive the walk is always 15 to 30 minutes to get anywhere, which can be a bit exhausting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bimme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Bimme_12,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise on your recent stay to the Gold Coast. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your view from the room.

I am sorry to see that your biggest gripe of your stay was that you didn't have free internet. However, as of January 1st this year, we now offer free internet to all IHG Rewards Club members. IHG Rewards Club is free to join so is an affordable way to utilise internet at IHG properties for future stays. If this wasn't communicated to you by staff upon your enquiry of internet then I will follow up with this on your behalf with relevant staff.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern tablelands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here as part of a family holiday in December 2013. We had a 1 bedroom room with a beautiful view of the ocean on the 20th floor. The room was clean but the furniture and decor was dated. The bed is made up with white covers and sheets which look fresh. We had asked for the sofa bed to be made up for our children, which it was but it was on a weird angle and broken. It was rectified swiftly with two rollaway beds. The restaurant near the foyer had a great menu with plenty of gluten free options. The food was excellent but a little overpriced.
It is a five minute walk to the beach and close to some good restaurants.
We had a hire car and there was plenty of parking for us. Other reviewers mention the hotel is expensive but we booked a Wotif deal and it was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Stay above the 10th floor for a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hello relaxed_9

Thank you for leaving us with a review after your recent stay with us, I'm sorry to hear about the sofa bed - but am glad to hear that it was rectified immediately for you.

Glad to see that you were a fan of the Relish Restaurant menu and the Gluten Free options that we have available.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Absolutely superb restaurant. We used shopper dockets and went out to dine at the revolving restaurant. The views were amazing, the food was exceptional, the service was perfect, the staff were very friendly and had lots of time for the customers. It was well worth every dollar we spent. It is a perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just to go out and spoil yourselves. Hard to find such great food AND service nowadays. Definitely highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi frrrt,

So very pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant experience. The views are pretty spectacular - the lunchtime view is my favourite, being able to see up and down the entire coastline.

I will pass on your compliments to our staff.

Many thanks,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean and tiny, close to the beach, boasts a revolving restaurant with fantastic seafood buffet and is extremely convenient for most coast excursions, but is quite dated in furnishings and decorations and overpriced.
The room hadn't been redecorated for a long time and, while clean, felt more like a roadside motel than a luxury hotel. The cost of the room was twice what we paid the next night to stay in a five star luxury hotel in Brisbane CBD.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hello Jay C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review after your recent stay with us - your feedback is appreciated.

So glad to see that you enjoyed yourself at Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

..........Upgraded to a suite as a Platium IHG member. Great room! Views over the GC Hwy and beach which was fairly lively during the early hours! A lot of the hotels in the area are geared towards the younger generation back-packers.

Would I stay again......definitely!

Room Tip: Facing the beach and high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hello _forevergreen_Uk,

Thanks for taking the time to review us after your recent stay with us. So glad to see that you enjoyed your upgrade to a suite and loved the views! Great tip for the Irish bar up the road - also great in winter with a fireplace roaring!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise on your next visit.

Have a Merry Christmas and a safe New Year.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked one night and found the hotel to be better than anticipated. Obtained a very good room rate via the hotel website and received a large room on a mid level floor. The doors open onto a balcony which made for lovely breeze and views (I would not have opened these with kids in the room). It's not new but the facilities were pleasant with large bath and separate shower.

A good location with proximity to the beach. The parking was free and plenty of spaces available. For one night it was ideal, but I wouldn't probably choose it for a long vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PouletFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hello PouletFish,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review after your recent one night stay with us. Glad to hear that you were happy with the proximity to the beach and of the views.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
Address: 2809 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located adjacent to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. The Crowne Plaza Gold Tower offers premium hotel rooms and spacious self contained apartments including studio and one and two bedroom suites in a resort style setting. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The Studio and Suites also offer kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Major shopping centres, award winning dining, nightlife and world famous Gold Coast beaches are all within walking distance of the hotel. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower shares the extensive resort facilities with Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise including two outdoor swimming pools with heated spas and sundecks, gymnasium, full sized tennis court, games room and two restaurants and bars. The hotel features 9 flexible meeting rooms and can cater for up to 550 people. Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant is Queensland's only revolving restaurant. It offers panoramic views of the Gold Coast hinterland and Pacific Ocean as well as a delicious seafood and Central Mediterranean buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing