We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights in January. Booked for a basic king room but paid an extra $30/night to uprgade to the top floor which was well worth it. Amazing view of the ocean and excellent facilities with kitchen, dishwasher and washing machine. Room also comes with spa but it is too small for 2 people. Easy parking and free undernweath the hotel. walking distnace or short cab ride to everywhere.

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor possibe. all rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diva d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi diva d,

So glad that you were able to enjoy our ocean views form a high floor after taking advantage of the upgrade option and that you were a fan of the hotel and the facilities.

The Gold Tower's kitchenettes do come in handy, along with the dishwasher and the washing machine - especially for those staying with us longer term.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    182
    69
    11
    15
See reviews for
77
204
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in an Ocean View King Room in the Gold Tower of the Crown Plaza for 5 nights (on the 17th floor).

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and efficient staff at the the front desk. The room was spotlessly clean and the cleaners did a fantastic job of cleaning the room everyday. We ate at two of the three restaurants. We had a buffet breakfast at the Relish restaurant which had a great choice of food and lunch at the Tavern. The Tavern bar tender was very friendly and welcoming.

The hotel has two swimming pools, which are also very clean and great to have a swim in.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza and would go again (this was our second stay there in the last 5 years).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Cenelle,

So very happy to read that you had a successful stay with us recently and that you found everything to be enjoyable and friendly. Good to see you were able to enjoy the nice weather and take advantage of the two pools.

Thank you for returning to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I enjoyed the views above all. Observation: Urgently needed more housekeepers to clean rooms as it is too much for 1 person assigned to the whole floor. No wonder the housekeeping standard is not up to scratch. Please don't skimp on these things and also, pay them well so it will reflect on their work and take pride.

The staff had all been friendly and wonderful. No hassles at all. Not pretentious. Easy stay, felt relax, and at home on all our 5 nights stay at the Gold Tower.

As we are in the construction business, there are a lot of repairs done on walls, windows etc, on different parts of the hotel, which looked like had been done by my 75 year old Mum. Please do take value on good finish. It's worth it.

The kids enjoyed the pool, the bedding was so crisp, clean and comfortable.Only the location created havoc on my feet by walking to Surfers and Broadbeach back and forth.

Overall experience was I would be coming back, because of the front line people, the outstanding views and no hassle environment. Hopefully, the management will take heed of
the above comments. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RvL723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello RvL723,

So glad to read that you enjoyed the views from our hotel, as well as the pool, bedding linen as well as our staff.
Thank you for your feedback in regards to housekeeping and maintenance, if you are able to send me details of your stay then I will be able to follow up with relevant departments and follow up on your comments thoroughly.

I am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that you would like to stay with us again. I will pass this along to the time.

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us with your feedback - we appreciate you doing so.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
victoria.thornton@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed for one night in Room 2016 on the 20th floor of the Gold Tower with my husband. We bought a Wotif Wot Ocean View mystery room for $184.50 including card fee. Very happy with the result. Even though the room showed some signs of aging (don't we all?) it was like a grand old lady - still plenty of class, elegance and comfort. View was wonderful, bed and pillows comfortable, lovely bathroom with spa, walk through robe, separate toilet. Not sure what the normal room rate is as it is difficult to figure out what kind of room it was - King size bed with ocean views and a spa.Short walk to the beach, short walk to fabulous Thai at Chang Mai Thai. Plenty of secure under cover parking. Very helpful reception staff who didn't give us attitude for being Wotif mystery customers (which we have had at other establishments). I would love to come back here.

Room Tip: Ocean view was lovely as well as being up so high
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSearchEngine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi TheSearchEngine,

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us recently and that you enjoyed your room in the Gold Tower, your description is quite lovely.
Good to see that you got out and about and made your way to the local restaurants, as well as the beach. I will pass your comments along to our front desk staff.

Thank you for taking the time to review Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, we appreciate you doing so and look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Have arrived today with friend (separate rooms) and been told that I have been given a upgrade to higher floor but she hasn't.. Receptionist was quite rude when we asked if there was a compromise so we could be on same level..
No information in room about wifi even though I'm ihg member..
Also television reception keeps cutting in and out..
I'm disappointed :(

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nom_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello Nom_qld,

I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your stay after checking in to the hotel and that you were frustrated that you were upgraded but your friend was not. It is quite likely that you were upgraded as you are an IHG Rewards Club member, as we do try to upgrade our members where possible. Unfortunately, being at full capacity during this time of the year, it is highly likely that we did not have another upgraded room available for your friend. I will follow up with the front desk team for you on your feedback, however.
If you're having issues connecting to the complimentary WIFI as you're an IHG Rewards Club member, please just dial 9 from your in-room phone and someone will be happy to assist you.

I am sorry to hear about your TV - if you advise one of our staff members, by either dialing 9 or stopping by the front desk then we will be able to have one of our engineers look at this for you to rectify the issue.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback, it has been noted and we appreciate you doing so.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms are a bit expensive, given that the hotel is reasonably far from the city centre, but if you can twin share it is more reasonable. The problem of easy connection to the city centre will be solved when the light rail that passes along the main street outside the hotel is finished soon. My room was up on a high floor and I had a view of the hinterland, tall buildings and the sea- perfect really and a great set of contrasts. There are a couple of nice restaurants close by and the beach is only a short walk from the hotel. Staff were professional and helpful. Rooms are large and well appointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi AlexMaz,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback, I am very glad to see that you were a big fan of our view.
You're right, in that the light rail will be a huge asset to our guest once it is completed as it will connect guest easily with Broadbeach, Surfers Paradise centre, Main Beach and Southport. We're looking forward to seeing it completed mid this year!

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Warm wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I am a Platinum member of Intercontinental Group. We chose this hotel as it is part of the group, and there is plenty of choice on the Gold Coast.
The Hotel itself is very good, we booked a Spa Ocean Suite. The amenities are good for this class but not exceptional. There is no information in the room for facilities in the hotel.
The bedroom was very comfortable, the kitchen excellent plus 2 balconies.

Lets say the management do not recognise any part of the Platinum membership. There is no separate check in for members. They provide nothing. We had a problem with the internet as in it didn't work for nearly 5 days, their solution to ask us to pay for premium cable connection.
The gym is a joke, and should not even be called a gym with a single poor quality 4 station machine, no hand weights or benches, no bosu,......
There are 2 pools, with the Gold Tower pool not providing towels, so you have to collect towels at the central pool and then go to the tower pool, even though the Tower is the more expensive area of the hotel.
Management further made a fuss with regard to late check out - 1pm.
The property is way better than the management of the property - front desk is most unhelpful.

Room Tip: Read the website very carefully, and call and ask questions before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello Alex S,

I am happy to see that you you liked the hotel on your recent stay with us, and found the bedroom to be comfortable and you found the kitchen to be excellent. Each of the rooms are appointed with a compendium, that have been recently updated, so I'm not too sure why you were not able to locate information on hotel facilities. I will follow this up with housekeeping for you, however.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with parts of your stay. I am surprised to hear of the issue with the internet so I will absolutely follow this up for you with the relevant department, as well as the late check out issue that you mentioned.
If you would like to contact me directly with the details of your stay then I will be able to look into this more thoroughly for you. You can contact me on victoria.thornton@ihg.com

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback in regards to other areas of the hotel such as the Gold Tower towels and the gym - it has been noted.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
Address: 2809 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located adjacent to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. The Crowne Plaza Gold Tower offers premium hotel rooms and spacious self contained apartments including studio and one and two bedroom suites in a resort style setting. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The Studio and Suites also offer kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Major shopping centres, award winning dining, nightlife and world famous Gold Coast beaches are all within walking distance of the hotel. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower shares the extensive resort facilities with Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise including two outdoor swimming pools with heated spas and sundecks, gymnasium, full sized tennis court, games room and two restaurants and bars. The hotel features 9 flexible meeting rooms and can cater for up to 550 people. Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant is Queensland's only revolving restaurant. It offers panoramic views of the Gold Coast hinterland and Pacific Ocean as well as a delicious seafood and Central Mediterranean buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing