We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it just gets better and better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“it just gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

booked the night before, room rate was good. drove up and checked in bags whisked away, parked my car went up to the room wow what a view non one of the best location,
went to the lobby bar for a few beers not bad , went for dinner at the seafood buffet top floor
wow didn't know the whole restaurant revolved nice one.
after dinner went to the pub bar attached to the hotel not bad pokies and flowing beer was good.
will be back

Room Tip: all rooms face to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefgoldstar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello Chefgoldstar80,

So lovely to read your review after your recent stay, and to see that you were delighted by our revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    181
    69
    11
    15
See reviews for
76
204
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The staff at this hotel were good. The spa bath was a highlight and room service was of a high quality.

However, the interior felt dated and our room's decor was a bit tired. I would have expected a more up-to-date look given that this is a mid to high level brand that you pay the extra for. In addition, although in-room wifi was never advertised, not having in-room wifi and only having a 'business centre' downstairs feels like you've travelled back in time ten years. Hopefully Crowne Plaza will move to renovate this hotel and include in-room wifi in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durianfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello durianfruit,

Delighted to see that you found our staff to be good and that the spa was a highlight for you, as well as room service.
Thank you for your feedback on the interior, we appreciate all guest feedback and I will pass this along.
We do offer guests in-room WIFI, I do apologise if this wasn't mentioned on check-in, as we also offer free WIFI to our IHG Rewards Club members, and membership is free.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed there in April for 3 days.Room was spacious and neat and tidy.The kids fold out bed was made up already which was nice.Bathroom was big and a great robe for storage.Staff were friendly and nice with a short walk to the beach.Only negative is that you had to pay for wifi in your room and only had 30 mins free in the lobby.Surely for theses prices and stars you should have free wifi in your room.Pool is also a little cold.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoodlesNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi NoodlesNilsson,

Thank you for leaving your review for us and for other travelers. I am glad to see that you had a good time with your family on your stay with us.
Just in regards to your feedback of the WIFI, we do offer free WIFI for all IHG Rewards Club members, which is free to join, which could be an option next time you stay with us? Additionally, I noticed that you mentioned that the pool was a little bit cold for your liking, our Gold Tower pool is heated if you would like to try that one on your next visit to us.

We do look forward to seeing you again.

Warm wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL GOLD TOWER SURFERS PARADISE for 10 nights, it was good, but, I was expecting something better from such name, comparing to my previous experience with IHG group.
the hotel itself was good, but the service was under expected, the restaurant was good for the breakfast, but the items are limited.
I suggest the hotel for those who are looking for a quite environment, but if you are looking for an area in the heart of Surfers Paradise I thing you have to think more.
It takes 30 minutes walking to surfers paradise, and 10 minutes to the closest fast food restaurant.

Room Tip: The GOLD TOWER was rated as the best rooms available, but I think it is not because it is far away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buyaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello buyaser,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see that the service was not up to standard for you. We do pride ourselves on our service so I am sorry to hear that on this occasion it wasn't up to standard.
I am glad to read that you were a fan of the hotel overall, however.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here during the APP Conference period. Rooms are large and comfortable, the decor is a little dated - but spacious none-the-less.

Service was good.

Ordered room service for lunch - chicken breast on a bed of cous cous & vegetables. It was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NausicaaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello NausicaaJ,

So glad to see that you enjoyed your meal and stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This one is good, very good. Pretty ordinary but typical building as you drive up to it and a lobby which pretends to be grand but is not much more than standard. Then the lift ride to your room (awesome) and you are there. Get an ocean view and just kick back on a very comfortable bed, leave the doors open and enjoy the breeze and the sound of the surf. It was a ice relaxing stay and I extended it purely because the room and the view was so good.
Room service was OK ( seemed expensive for what it was) but overall I would recommend this place and I'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 62grantb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello 62grantb,

How lovely to read your review and your enthusiasm for the room and the view, so much that you extended your stay with us.

Thank you for your review and for your recommendation.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Good location only a short walk to the beach, broadbeach restaurants and surfers paradise precinct. We stayed for 5 nights in the gold tower which was easily accessible directly or via the main building. Our room was enormous, fantastic view with private balcony. The decor was a little dated but clean and elegant. Large bathroom including a spa and the toilet was separate for added convenience. Hotel staff were polite and accommodating. The gold tower had its own pool and spa, separate from the main tower and was often empty. It was nice to have a cool dip without the crowds. The only criticisms we had were the gym equipment, good tredmills but the weights machine was a little flimsy. Also smoking was permitted on the balconies so the scent of cigarette smoke would seep into our room from adjoining balconies if we left the door to our balcony open. Quite annoying for non smokers. Overall a good hotel and I would come back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissMacGyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello MissMacGyver,

Thank you for your review and for your feedback of the gym equipment and guests smoking on their balconies. We welcome all guest feedback and this will definitely be reviewed.

Glad to see that otherwise, you had a successful stay with us and that you found everything to be pleasing. Great tip for the Gold Tower and the pool for other travelers who are wanting something a bit quieter.

All the best,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise
Address: 2809 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located adjacent to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. The Crowne Plaza Gold Tower offers premium hotel rooms and spacious self contained apartments including studio and one and two bedroom suites in a resort style setting. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The Studio and Suites also offer kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower is located between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. Major shopping centres, award winning dining, nightlife and world famous Gold Coast beaches are all within walking distance of the hotel. Crowne Plaza Gold Tower shares the extensive resort facilities with Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise including two outdoor swimming pools with heated spas and sundecks, gymnasium, full sized tennis court, games room and two restaurants and bars. The hotel features 9 flexible meeting rooms and can cater for up to 550 people. Four Winds 360 Revolving Restaurant is Queensland's only revolving restaurant. It offers panoramic views of the Gold Coast hinterland and Pacific Ocean as well as a delicious seafood and Central Mediterranean buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Hotel Gold Tower Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing