We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible ocean view”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible ocean view”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Excellent apartments - very clean & modern though only 1 small sachet of dishwashing detergent provided so you'll have to bring your own if you're staying a while.

Very convenient location as shops & eateries all within walking distance.

Another plus - underground parking. Very useful when it's raining & you have shopping & kids to handle. Though some of the parking spaces are tight (lot 42) especially if you have a big car. We didn't ask for another space but maybe we should have!

Our family of 6 stayed at apartment 42, 7th floor, which was a 2 bedder 2 bathroom, beautiful & newly renovated with an incredible ocean view. We stayed in June and the weather was cold for us Singaporeans - luckily the apartment has reverse cycle aircons that warmed us up nicely. No extra charge for the heating.

Staff Karyn & Lyn were very kind, helpful & generous with their time & advice. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudineM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Great to hear of your enjoyable stay and thanks for the compliment on the cleaning (which I will pass on to our cleaning staff).
Re the dishwashing detergent - it seems that a lot of guests are not really aware of the difference between hotel style accommodation and a self contained apartment. The self contained apartment is fitted with all the requirements necessary for you to live as you do in your own home and only an initial supply of condiments/toilet paper/soap and cleaning detergents are supplied for your arrival to get you started and then when you go shopping for your food you would then replenish these for the balance of your stay.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    86
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
142
81
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The unit 52 was great - best chance to see the sun, sea and hinterland - people were great - thanks

Room Tip: Unit 52 Level 9 - best view of the sea and the hinterland
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Lovely to hear your positive comments re the apartment you stayed in. This apartment, as are others in this same aspect, are certainly favourites with a lot of guests particularly during the winter months as they do get all that warm afternoon sun yet still have wonderful ocean views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here for 14 nights in a one bedroom superior apartment, the views were fantastic! The apartment itself was well laid out which made for an enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and having a basement carpark was handy for us with shopping etc. We were right on the beach and only a short stroll along the beach sees you in the heart of Surfers. In the opposite direction about 2 minutes away were a conveniently situated cafe, bottle store, fish 'n' chip shop and convenience store which was handy. We would thoroughly recommend these apartments and we look forward to visiting again next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view apartments are definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose and Leon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay - it certainly is pleasing to hear.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent one week in a one bedroom apartment in May 2012. Clean, perfect in every way. A little walk to the supermarket (i.e. takes 20 minutes) but enjoyable none the less. If one had a car, no trouble at all. I would have liked a sachet or two of laundry powder, as it's difficult buying it when travelling on a plane - or else bring your own from home. More detergent for the kitchen would have been nice as well. We would love to go again. The pool and barbeque areas were great. All in all a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We're in our early 60s and managed to walk to the supermaket and shops. Probably older people m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rochelle5228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you are looking for a good value place to stay, this is the property - Very good and friendly

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The location is great and the staff are very friendly. We found the room to be clean, comfortable and generous in size. Our room had fantastic views of the beach/ocean. Very nice constant sea breeze into our apartment. There was a nice heated pool and convenient entry to the beach. The only disappointment was that an additional daily charge of $10aud was required for the use of the airconditioner (remote to operate unit was missing). This was not mentioned in the booking of the apartment so we found this very misleading. Also, we found the bed to be very uncomfortable, giving us both sore backs and necks each morning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonozacery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Apartment was dated and poorly maintained and the a number of the appliances were not working when we arrived, which is a real pain in the neck when advertised as fully self contained. Staff were friendly although unhelpful in fixing the problems. Location is good (right on the beach), however with the large amount of accomadation on the Gold Coast there is better appointed apartments and better value elsewhere. Overall we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room (ours wasn't)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 60 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing