We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved The Breakers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Loved The Breakers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This year was our first time coming to Breakers and we absolutely loved it.From the time of booking until our last day of stay the staff at the reception has been very helpful and friendly.
The rooms are vey clean and the view from the balcony is magnificent.
I will highly recommend The Breakers to anyone who wants to have a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: From a higher level the ocean view is absolutely stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z_m30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and that you will be recommending our fabulous place - very happy that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise on the beachfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    85
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
139
78
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We rented a two bedroom apartment here in the September school holidays. It was comfortable and quite spacious, with a nice view of the beach. Having the beach on your doorstep, with the sound of the surf rolling in is great. This apartment block is also pretty well located about 10 - 15 minutes walk from Broadbeach.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Happy to hear you loved our location as many others do - The Breakers is close enough yet far enough away to enjoy both Broadbeach and Surfers without being right in amongst the hustle and bustle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noosa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

First impressions of apartment ... Rare glimpses like pics on website & a very loose interpretation of
superior claim- apartment very tired but to be fair good size, view to beach great, beachside pool & BBQ good. Newish paint over old 70-80's fittings & carpet, older upgrade to ensuite but that was it. Main bathroom, furniture, kitchen oven/ cooktop/ range hood & furnishings very tired perhaps seen better days. Mouldy curtains through out the clincher for us that it deserves an 'inferior rating'.
Discovered no bed or towels for 3rd child Jasmin the booking person thought two 6yo twins should be able to share a 'single' (bizzare given OH&S regs & the fact they have rollouts available) extra bed finally arrived 10pm after repeated calls insisting we wanted that night not tomorrow as they suggested. We waited 2hrs while the manager finished dinner. No genuine apology just a blaze miscommunication claim. Very odd I'm my experience indeed. Booking system confirmation by email should specify no persons & bed configuration and this simply wouldn't have happened. Other issues; sheets too short for single beds & come off all the time, lights x 2 not working, washing machine stops mid cycle all the time , tap broken, dusty plastic flowers orchards?, faded print on wall next to kitchen (a couple of new bright prints to replace the depressing daggy ones would make a huge differnce!!)) We paid $280 a night, the venue had paid managers and these things just shouldn't slip through the cracks if you do proper regular maintenance checks. Guests should not be the trigger for identifying so many maintenance problems. We are here for a holiday. Also try
sitting on the old style velour couch ...my husband ended up at the local Physio on our second day after sitting on one of two hard bars in the middle.
It's perhaps time the owners were contacted & informed perhaps this apartment might be to their personal taste or saving a dollar on repairs & maint. but it's not what a holiday let should be like for the superior claim & price - otherwise say it's older/ standard and discount it. It's NOT superior it's a false claim. It seems (to be fair) other apartments have been improved much more than no 50. I think this one is letting the standard of Breakers down by the looks of other reviews. What's even more bizzare is today I spoke to Jasmin to let them know I was dissatisfied & I was writing this and they said why didn't you tell us we could have moved you into a better one as we had room to do so. It begs the question as to why in earth didn't you just out us in a better one on the first place??? Any way we won't be back much much better value around Broadbeach we found once searching. We wish you well and hope the necessary improvements can be made to ensure your reputation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank good-times-for-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
It is most disappointing to hear your comments and even more disappointing to discover all your grievances after you have stayed.
We have never had any issues with the apartment you stayed in with regards to the comments you made and if you had contacted the office at the time or, in fact, at any time during your stay, this would have given us an opportunity to do something for you. It is unfortunate you have chosen to wait until after your departure to bring this up.
Regarding the bedding that was not supplied - I was on that day and I did notice that you had an extra child and knowing I was going out for dinner I checked if extra bedding was required. There were clear instructions/notes on your booking that said "Has twins that sleep together - does not want a rollaway bed for third child". Hence no extra bedding was supplied. I have since spoken with Jasmin re this and she did mention that she had offered you the rollaway bed for the extra charge, however, you elected not to take this as your twins would sleep together in the one bed. (as per the notes attached to your booking)
Once again I stress to you and any future guests that if there are issues do not let it spoil your holiday - say something at the time - not after you leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had originally booked to stay at Breakers North next door, but due to a flooding issue in our apartment we were booked into here at The Breakers. We weren't disappointed!! Nine floors up, with two balconies - one overlooking the beach (patrolled) and the other overlooking the city and the hinterland in the distance, we had a lovely view. The whales put on a good display for us (so thankful for our binoculars). The bed was roomy and comfortable, the kitchen had all necessary utensils to create meals and there was table setting for 8 people which we thought was quite generous. The only issue we had was that we didn't know how to work the dishwasher - and the bath in the main bathroom wasn't functional. We loved the position of the apartment - a nice stroll south to the Oasis Shopping Centre at Broadbeach and about the same to Surfers Paradise. Close to a vast range of dining and entertainment but not right in the hub. The reception crew were really friendly and obliging, which makes a stay so much more pleasant. The local restaurant down the road called Lola's has awesome food if you don't want to cook. We will return!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to place your review. Really happy you did enjoy your stay with us and that the whales were doing their thing - I must say that you are the third guest who has made a point just recently of how much whale activity there is out there and the best part is that all our apartments get to see that. Binoculars are certainly the way to go. Sorry you could not work the dishwasher. Please never hesitate to contact us at reception to assist with this as all the apartments are individually owned and all have different appliances - we would have guided you on its operation. The same applies with the bath - there is actually a pull out button on the wall which allows the bath to change from shower to bath spout.
I have to agree also that Lola's down the road is a fabulous little café/restaurant - they are always flat out and we also enjoy many a good meal down there. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Love this place, stayed there last year and returned to the same apartment. North east corner, sea and sun, we had Lyn looking after us on both occasions and we could not have asked for a brighter and more helpful person. Close to all the sites and amenities of the Gold Coast. Will definitely return next time we are travelling north.

Room Tip: we like the north east corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Really happy you enjoyed your stay once again. It was my pleasure to look after you also and I do look forward to seeing you on your next trip north. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family and I had a five night night escape and stayed at The Breakers. We had a two bedroom apartment and it was huge. Plenty of room to spread out and the view from the balcony was great. Full kitchen facilities which were great. My only very small negative was that the bathroom (which was functional) was a little dated and could have had a small makeover. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. Close to Surfers and Theme Parks. I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debz6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
So true re the size of the apartments - the older buildings were certainly built with a lot of room to move as opposed to more current developments. As you may be aware all the apartments are individually owned and we are constantly working with owners to update and this in some cases is done on a gradual basis as this can be quite an expensive exercise. So good that you did enjoy your stay with us - we also thank you for your kind words and appreciate you recommending The Breakers to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Breakers during a weekend in August, we rented a 2 bedroom superior apartment, #60 on level 10 – amazing views up and down the Coast, balcony facing the ocean – lovely. The host lady was very welcoming and helpful, when we needed anything she was quick to help out. Would stay here again but next time will request an apartment facing north as we didn’t get any afternoon sun facing the beach.
Carpark in the basement which was super handy as we had a hire car. Good security in the complex. Only reason I didn’t give it another star is I don’t believe our apartment was a superior one, as no renovations had been made on it, apart from perhaps a new dining table.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdossantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakers7, Manager at The Breakers, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Really glad you enjoyed your time with us - agreed the views up and down the coast are wonderful. With regard to the apartment being classified as superior - all beachfront apartments are put in this category as they do capture the fabulous aspect directly over the beach and I guess everyone has their own interpretation of this category. We would love for you to come back and enjoy the north east aspect apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 60 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing