We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 21 March 2009

These are basically owner owned apartments which are rented out individually. The one we had had a land side facing balcony (spectacular views) and views of the sea and beach from the bedroom and kitchen. Fairly well appointed, large flat screen TV, two sofas, good sized bedroom, laundry room and large bathroom. Although the latter need a facelift but was clean. Beware there are extra charges for internet (very expensive, but if you have wifi you can pick up Jimojo) and the Air Conditioning!!
We had a dedicated parking space and there was quite tight security on the block. The swimming pool was a good size and well kept but you are right on the beach and we only used it during the hottest part of the day, as it has umbrellas.
You can walk to Surfers (like Magaluf at night and to be avoided) and Broadbeach (great for restaurants) easily either on the beach or on through the park. Lola's, a stones throw from the block, is also brilliant for breakfast or evening meals.
Reasonable apartments in a brilliant location and surroundings. We want to live there!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    86
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
140
81
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We just arrived home after staying in apartment 42 on level 7 for 6 nights. We wandered in off the street after being bitterly disappointed with the apartment we had been given at another establishment nearby. We found the staff at The Breakers to be very friendly and competent and upon hearing our tale of woe offered us apartment 42. The apartment was clean, modern, bright and spacious and offered a great standard of accommodation. Much more akin with what we are used to @ home.

The two balconies offered views of the both the city and the beach and we couldn't have been happier. We went to sleep with the sounds of the waves breaking on the shore rather than the sound of the traffic. We opened the windows in the kitchen slightly and took advantage of the cool night breeze.

Use of Foxtel on a large screen lcd was included in the price. The air conditioning was extra simply because previous tenants had not been conservative in their use. I had no issue with paying extra. After having an intial cool on arrival we saw no need to use the conditioner again.

The car park for no. 42 might be challenging for someone not familiar with their car - we had no trouble. The pool/bbq area and beach are accessable via a door in the basement. This meant easy access without disturbing other guests.

The location was wonderful and we appeared to be halfway between Surfers and Broadbeach. Either location was easily accessable.

We are a family of 4 with 2 small children. We hired a safe & sturdy portacot with bedding from The Breakers for 6 days for $45. We had an enjoyable stay and plan to return later in the year & ask for no. 42.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The street noise - though that was easily bearable.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LisaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Hi,
The Breakers "Cabana" was OK. The cabana was a three storey townhouse with the main bedroom on the second floor and the kids loft on the third level. This particular cabana NO5 had no air conditioning- which was ok for us at the time because the weather was dismal but couldn't imagine it would be too comfortable in the heat of summer!! The position was absolute beachfront perfect!! literally out your door ten steps to the gate and you are on the beach. The only downside was the cabana was a little run down and had a lot of rising damp affecting walls and windows. The stairs leading to the top storey were extremely steep and wouldn't recommend for small children under 5. We stayed in the cabana for 6 nights and then moved into the main building for the last two nights.
The apartment in the main building was fantastic!
Apartment 19 Level 2 we would highly recommend it.. The apartment was clean, decorated with modern relaxed minimalistic decor. It had a spacious main living area which had fantastic views of the ocean/beachfront. We had wet tropical rainfall for the whole week but managed to do all the theme parks wearing ponchos in the rain!!! Our family had a ball
regardless and on the last day we awoke to sunshine would you believe it!!
Thanks to all members who expressed their opinions we took your advice and it worked so well. Merry Christmas to all

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank quicktripper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We had a great holiday here with our two teenage kids 12 and 17. They loved the large spacious units. We stayed in Unit 42 which has just been fully refurnished - very trendy and welcoming. Our unit was airconditioned and had two balaconies looking out over the hinterland and the beach. No roads to cross to the beach and there is well provided BBQ which is great for sunset dinners. It was a really friendly place too which was noce more personal that a big hotel which our children liked. We learnt that each unit is privately owned so the quality may vary - ask to inspect your unit before you check in. Unit 42 was just fantastic!!

It is walking distance (10 Mins) to the nice cafes and resturants at Broadbeach. I also highly recommend the Chang Rai Thai resturant as well!

  • Liked — Well appointed unit and beach front - no roads to cross to the beach and BBQ on the beachfront
  • Disliked — Underground parking is great some spots are a bit tight - but we managed
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BradandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 60 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing