We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Just spent 10 days at the Breakers and were very happy with our choice. The apartment was large and roomy with 2 balconies and great views of the beach. They had just finished installing new carpet and I've got no complaints about the room conditions whatsoever. Granted the furnishings and some decor was older, but the place was functional and airy. For all of the self-catering apartments I looked at The Breakers was the best value I found. The location was good for us, between Surfers and Broadbeach, so we got none of the noise or crowds from the busier sections. That means that you have about a 10 minute walk to get downtown to either place for restaurants and entertainment. Pool was excellent and the patrolled beach is just minutes away. We made use of the BBQ facilities which were clean and all in good working order. The reception was helpful with booking reduced tickets for area attractions and helped us out of a big bind when the volcano prevented our return to Europe. I would definitely stay here again, if I were to return to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    84
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
138
76
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Absolutley fantastic location. Beach access right there, no roads to cross, handy to restaurants and shops.
Some sites had this property as a 4 star which I wouldn't agree with. The decor was a little dated - 70's bathrooms, kitchen was pretty good, furniture dated and not that comfortable. Very spacious 2 bed unit though (unit 22).
I don't like that they charge extra for air conditioning ($10 per day). We booked through Quickbeds and it said air con was included so I was not happy when they charged me extra. I called Quickbeds and got it sorted though, and the Breakers staff were pleasant enough with regards to it all.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugtogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

Although my experience with The Breaker's started off poorly; they refused me a refund for one of the rooms I booked, over a week before it was due, on arriving I found the rooms neatly presented and well looked after. However, if you are a stranger to the Coast, I would recommend Breaker's North next door, or any of the other self catering apartment's for a number of reasons. The first point, probably most important, the price. Although the price I stayed at ($50 a night) wasn't too expensive, compared to could've been had for $40 a night at Breakers North next door, or Victoria Squares down the road for $30 a night (my only other points of reference in the locality), the offering is very weak. The apartment didn't have a garbage chute, heated pool, tennis court or nice customer service, all which meant we had to drag all of our garbage down through the elavator, all the way through the carpark, and heave it into a giant can of smelly, that the tennis rackets we brought were for nothing, we spent a portion of the trip freezing in the pool, and the bad customer service meant we started off our trip irritated. What happened was, when I phoned ahead to find out about what exactly was inside our apartments, re: TV's, stereos, DVD players, the receptionist I was on the phone with could only tell me that it varied from room to room, and when I asked about the stereo system told me that I would have to keep it down (not an unreasonable request, just didn't answer my question) and then moved into the territory of inquiring about the ages of my compatriots. She then informed that it was "illegal" for people under 21 to book a hotel room and proceeded to tell me that our rooms (on separate floors) were in fact just above the manager's room, and we would be "checked up on" if we did anything out of line. I am not quite sure what she was expecting, but she apparently changed her mind about us, and noted that we were in her "good books" when we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smackofham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed here with 2 adults, one 7 yr old and one 16 yr old. Hotel is in a fabulous location with a great pool. There is also a great bbq area near the pool. We all enjoyed the pool. there is a life guard 50m or so down the beach which was very handly. Easy walk to the supermarket at the Oasis shopping centre and the Kurrawa surf club.
The only thing were were disappointed with was the room. It was clean but very old. To give you an idea, the bedroom furniture was chipboard, Queen Anne style and the kitchen had an cooktop with the old style solid metal hot plates which were a real pain. The bathroom fixtures were fromt he 70's. I would recommend this hotel, but ask to view an apartment first. The receptionist told us that the apartments are individually owned.
Don't stay in apartment 47 on the 8th Floor..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonython
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Great family type apartments. Close to all things on the Gold Coast plus in a quiter street. We stayed in unit 42 (7 floor) and great views of sea and hinterland. Only small drawback was car space very difficult to get into/out of. Facilities high standard and service excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

The first thing that one needs to mention about The Breakers is that it is incredibly well located - bang on the beach ; and midway between Surfer's and Broadbeach so you are close to the action and far enough not to suffer any fallouts .
The title of this review comes from the fact that the property is a 'collection' of individual owner apartments so what specific unit you land up with will play a big role in determining how you would find The Breakers on an overall basis . We checked in to Unit 33 which is a one bedroom apartment and was a real washout . It was jaded and gloomy - definitely not a place where you would like to hang out ( and we were forced to do a lot of that since it rained almost all week ) . We were lucky that we had not checked in 'after hours' and were able to upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment - No. 20 and subsequently No. 30 , both of which were wonderful , tastefully done and very well appointed .- and had excellent views as well . The units had all necessary equipment , in good condition . Due to the rain and due to the fact that we have a 2 year old , we were forced to spend a lot of time indoors and we did not mind that a bit in these units .
So the advice to folks planning to book The Breakers , be very sure of what unit you are getting . Unfortunately , we are not in a position to give further tips on how to do that succesfully . Maybe the best way to do that is to ask the staff very detailed questions .
In terms of the area , you have plenty of shopping nearby ( Broadbeach Mall , Pacific Fair ) and of course a large number of restaurants catering to every taste in Surfer's and Broadbeach . We would like to mention a delightful little cafe called Cafe Rendezvous which is at a short walking distance from The Breakers. It serves the most delicious pizzas , sandwiches and wraps at very reasonable prices . The staff is also very nice . For breakfast and lunch ( they shut at 4 PM ) , it is possibly your wisest choice if you are broadly in that area ( we , in fact found nothing better even in the heart of Surfer's ) and are not looking for a speciality .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hedgefund007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom, ocean view apartment on the ninth floor for four nights at the beginning of June. The location is very good - in between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach, so that it is fairly close to everything but not so busy and noisy as in the heart of Surfers. The apartment had a reasonably spacious living area, very modern kitchen, with plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils, two reasonably sized bedrooms, and two bathrooms. We had a balcony off the living area with fantastic views out over the beautiful beach. The apartments have direct access onto the beach (they are beachfront, so no roads to cross). The pool is on the beach side of the building and has a toddler's area up one end which our three year old loved. The grounds are lovely - well maintained. We found the management/reception staff to be friendly and helpful and all in all, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnieLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 60 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing