We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location + perfect accommadation = the perfect holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“perfect location + perfect accommadation = the perfect holiday”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I stayed at the Breakers Hotel for a week and in that experience, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The room was just what the girls and I were looking for, topped off with an amazing beach view. Cheerful and always helpful service made the stay feel like home, in saying that I would deffinately come stay again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashkate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    85
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
139
78
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Right on the beach, spacious, comfortable, everything you need included, very reasonable rates and well-kept apartments. Great sound-proofing. Very central, within walking distance to Surfers Paradise. Great communication with reception prior to our stay, then left alone to enjoy ourselves unless we needed something. Secure undercover parking. More than we expected for the price without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylez67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My partner, 8 month old daughter and I stayed in a one bedroom ocean view room this month and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is close to bus stops which take you straight to all the theme parks, shopping centres and even the airport.
The pool is pretty much on the beach which was nice. The only thing we regret is ordering room service (from restaurants) we payed $70 for chinese for two people, it was nice but not worth that much, we also got a baked dinner which wasn't worth it. Buy your own food and cook it :)
It was also very quiet which was lovely!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Security system overbearing. Difficulty not being able to buzz friends between apartments without going down to ground floor. Lifts need air-conditioning, as very small and claustrophobic. Very helpful, friendly staff. Will definetly return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceystrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We were having a hard time finding a place at the Gold Coast that would accommodate 13 people. We were a family of 3, 1 family was 2 adults, 2 children, the other was 2 adults and 4 children (ages 18, 14, 11 and 9) and the last family was 2 adults and 1 infant. Obviously we were on a budget so trying to book a hotel/apartment for each family was out of the question because at most each room/apartment only accommodate a maximum of 4 people, which meant that we would have had to get an extra room/apartment. I inquired with no less than 5 establishments and they were not flexible enough and could not accommodate for our needs.
The moment that I contacted Lyn and Karyn they were really helpful. Initially we had some communications issues via email but that was partly due to the quote that we had been given. I had to send them the number of people a few times because I thought that the price was so cheap that surely they must have not gotten the number of people correct.
We paid the deposit and I was still hesitant with what we were going to get for the price we paid. Being in charge of the accommodation for our trip I feared that the rest of the group would get disappointed with what we got and I would be the one blamed for picking a bad accommodation.
Arriving late Saturday evening we had a little issue with the security door in the foyer because we came in after hours. But that was quickly sorted out.
Finally after parking our hired cars in the secured car park below we went to our rooms to find them nice and spacious. We were on the first floor and the others were on 8th and 10th.
It was really nice, we've stayed at Surfers Paradise, Ashmore and Burleigh Heads before. The accommodation in those places that we had stayed before were nice but for value for money, location and friendliness of staff, nothing beats The Breakers. The good things were easy access to patrolled beach, secured parking (security guard as it was during schoolies), close to most shopping at the GC and Cavill Avenue meaning also close to restaurants.
We agreed that we would definitely come back to The Breakers again, and since, we have had no issues telling our family and friends about staying there.

PS - they have a ''no schoolies policy'' which is good for families.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We booked to stay at Breakers after reading other reviews on here. The photos on their website were also enticing, showing nice modern apartments. When we enquired though, we weren't told that our apartment wasn't renovated, so we were fairly disappointed to check in and find #60 being at least 10 years overdue for a reno.
The carpet was worn bare in some places and tacs were sticking up, the old curtains were coming off some hooks and didn't cover the windows properly and the couch was so hard in some places that we really had to choose where we sat.
It was clean though and the view was amazing, so we put up with the old apartment given we were out most of the days.
We also found the pool quite dangerous. A resident told us it was new, but it was made from tiles so has very sharp edges and there is a step running around the side of the deep end that you can't even see and isn't marked anywhere. It would have been nice to have a more child-friendly pool, one that included a shallow end where they can stand by themselves.
We would stay again, but only in a renovated apartment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dame59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Manager was very pleasant on check in.The room was very spacious and clean and location was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowtownClank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,846 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 60 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breakers 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers - This classic beachfront high-rise on the golden sands of Australia’s Gold Coast is perfectly positioned between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach.Five minutes north, and you’re in downtown Cavill Avenue soaking up the atmosphere of surf city. Five minutes south, and you’re in Broadbeach with it’s many great cafes and restaurants, home of Jupiters Casino, the international Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and the shop till you drop Pacific Fair. No matter what time of the year, it always feels like summertime hereThe Breakers has a range of holiday apartments to suit all budgets and sizes.There’s the spacious one and two bedroom apartments all enjoying great ocean and hinterland views from their balconies, the 3 level beachfront cabanas in front of the main tower looking directly over the beach or the fully-renovated 4 bedroom penthouse – great for the extended family. Facing east, the magnificent tiled pool catches almost all-day sun and looks out over the fabulous beachfront BBQ terrace.All apartments at The Breakers have Foxtel cable TV and for those who need to work or just browse the internet there is Free Wifi. The friendly on site Management team take great pride in The Breakers to make your holiday enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakers Surfers Paradise
Breakers Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Breakers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing