We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Centre Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great pool area”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Paradise Centre Apartments (Ballah) building. We were well impressed with this apartment. The location directly above the Cavill Ave shopping centre was perfect, great for nipping down to Woolworths and Starbucks.

The apartment itself was clean, air conditioning worked well. The apartment was rather dated in terms of furnishings, but this was not an issue for us at all.

Our apartment had two bathrooms, but no bath. No major issue as our toddler just had showers instead.

We hope to stay here again in April, and while the furnishings were not all that modern, the location, size and pool area is enough to have us return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereismeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven B, Front Office Manager at Paradise Centre Apartments, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Whereismeg,

Thank you for the fabulous review of your short stay with us recently. I greatly appreciate your comments of being impressed with the apartment, facilities, and our location.

I would like to thank you for your comment about the apartment. Even though it was dated, it was still quite comforting for you and your family.

I would like to mention we do have two different room types for our 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, being our Standard and Executive type accommodation. Even though our Standard apartments are individually furnished by our owner and have not being refurbished, our Executive apartments on the other hand have been recently fully refurbished to a modern Executive class, which features modern furnishing and fit out. You’ll find our executive apartments impressive and are well worth the extra tariff.

I appreciated your comments recommending us to other and I look forward to being able to welcome you back again in April, hopefully for a longer experience this time!

Sincerely,
Steve Bickerton - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    257
    82
    30
    48
See reviews for
368
243
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a beautiful apartment!
Stayed here during June 2013 in a one bed apartment. Booked last minute as we were getting fed up of Hostels and decided to treat ourselves. We were welcomed by polite staff who were very helpful! Upon entering our room it was very clean, tidy with all mod cons! Located above a shopping centre with a 'secret' door, this was very handy! Outdoor heated pool was lovely, and the Jacuzzi provided us with many pleasant nights under the stars. You MUST stay here, and whilst you looked outside your window to see beautiful sea views of Surfers Paradise it was like being in heaven. GO GO GO !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbeeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a lovely apartment block. Stayed here for a week when travelling down the East Coast. It was very clean and had everything we required. Also easy to get to the shops as there was an access door inside the hotel leading directly into the shopping mall which was very handy! The pool was lovely and was heated, which was great because we could go swimming even if it was cold and rainy (which it was during June time!). Would definitely recommend staying here, lovely views, very central, and nice clean, modern apartment!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methven
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This place is disgusting, you could not pay us enough to stay there again! The "4 star" rooms need updating & a very good cleaning, I felt more dirty coming out of the shower then I did going in. The manager is arrogant & wouldn't have the room cleaned so we ended up paying another $500 to be upgraded to the 5 star suite as we didn't want to ruin our holiday & couldn't find an appropriate room in another hotel. This suite was newer & would have been nice if it was clean! The only good thing about staying here was the central location.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LIVDOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here a few years back with me and my parents loved it great location staff where great. My sister stayed there over the past weekend and wasn't happy the staff treated her and 3 of her friends badly she hated it and wouldn't stay here again won't recommend it to anyone else

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel offers one of the best locations in the heart of Surfers Paradise.
Located above the Centro Shopping Centre and surrounding restaurants. You can eat out on a budget or spoil yourselves and only a short walk away to everything.
The hotel offers and nice pool area and BBQ area where you can stay in and cook for yourself & the kids.
We loved everything this hotel had to offer and was ideally suited to the needs of our 2 year old.
Our apartment was practical which was tiled throughout, full kitchen, large balcony overlooking the ocean and was fantastic on New Years Eve watching the fireworks.
Thank You Paradise Centre Customer Service for providing us with the hub for a great stay this Christmas/New Year period. We will be back.
Angela & Paull

Room Tip: Higher Floors, executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in this 2-room apartment in the Ballah building for 7 nights and it was quite pleasant. we were on the 7th floor which overlook the pool and part of the ocean. The apartment was clean and spacious and provided basic toiletries, as well as dishwashing and laundry powder. Do take note that it is a non-serviced apartment unless you stay there for more than 8 nights.

Pros:
- Very near to the beach, it's just a stone's throw away.
- public buses are available near Circle on Cavill and this is just a mere 7 minute walk away.
- many shops and food options around the apartment, including a supermarket below the apartment for your groceries need.
- the tall buildings (Allunga & Ballah) are easily noticeable on our first day there when we alighted from the public bus.

The very apartment we stayed in has a couple of issues though
- One of the bathroom's door is cranky, i.e., it will open by itself even after it has been locked and it took us a while to realize you have to give the door a hard push before you lock it.
- Beds have wheels on them, which makes them 'movable' when you turn your body in bed.
- Oven is not working.
- Balcony door cannot be opened.
- Bedsheets were not very clean as my sister and I woke up with insect bites on our legs.

Despite these issues, we still had a pleasant stay as we could overlook those issues with the good location and overall ambience of the apartment and its surroundings. Without the above-mentioned issues, it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: A higher floor would promise a better view, but I believe the Allunga building would have better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloversze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Centre Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Centre Apartments

Property: Paradise Centre Apartments
Address: 3 Hanlan St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly BreakFree)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Centre Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Surfers Paradise, just 20 metres from the beach, Paradise Centre Apartments provides the perfect location to enjoy all the fast-paced action and attractions of Queensland's Gold Coast. Accommodation is offered in two 30-storey towers overlooking Surfers Paradise Beach, conveniently located above the Paradise Centre. The spacious, self-contained One, Two and Three-Bedroom Apartments all offer stunning ocean views, fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, cable TV and large balconies. Extensive leisure facilities include two swimming pools, children's wading pools, a sundeck and lawn, spas, sauna, gymnasium, tennis courts and a golf putting green. There's also direct lift access to the below Paradise Centre with 110 speciality shops, restaurants and entertainment for the kids at Time Zone. The apartments offer so much for families and couples seeking a more relaxed itinerary, take in the panoramic views and cool sea breezes off the stunning Pacific Ocean from your own private balcony. Offering convenience and comfort at an affordable price, Paradise Centre Apartments is ideal for couples, families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Centre Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Centre Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Paradise Center Hotel
Paradise Centre Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing