We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, affordable, great location and Great Managers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Lodge Apartments
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it, affordable, great location and Great Managers”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Location is perfect ,3min walk to the heart of surfers, great facilities spa, pool and tennis court which kept us entertained on those non shopping days. Our 7 day hoilday ended in being 12 due to ash cloud. The Managers were excellent and accommodated us with no issues. The resort suited our family comfortably and we liked the idea of having our own kitchette so we had the choice to dine in or out. Oven kept switching to grill on it own accord so that caused a few problems and smoked ourselves out once or twice.
The grounds are faultless but thought the rooms/furniture could do with a freshen up in time. My only gripe would be whether the rooms were checked after they had been cleaned by the cleaners, dishes in pantry were not clean and dirty oven tray maybe from previous people but should have been picked up. We enjoyed our stay and recommend to all and will return in time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Manager at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you finally got home and that you had a good trip, and that you enjoyed your stay here. We appreciate your feedback and have now put additional processes in place to ensure that units are fully checked, including all dished and appliances, prior to Guests arrival. Please be assured that we are continuing to do everything we can to to ensure that Bay Lodge Apartments remains the best, most affordable family holiday destination on the Gold Coast. We look forward to your return visit.
Harold & Joan
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane (Trondheim)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Bay Lodge are 1 and 2 bedroom apartments in a low rise complex located a short stroll away from Cavill Ave and all the noise and crowds of Surfers Paradise.

They are very cheap and offer excellent value for money, with fully equipped kitchens and laundry. But its nothing flash and unfortunately we were stuck inside for our stay because it was raining. I would give the rooms 2 stars if that. The air con was noisy and the tv was hardly working.

The facilities are ok , there is a pool, small spa, bbq area, and free undercover parking. There is no restaurant at the complex. The bungy jump and mini golf are 1-2 min walk and all the cafes, shops, bars and restaurants, as well as the beach, are a 5 min walk.

Please note there is no lift and even if you are on ground floor you have to walk up/down several sets of stairs so its not very practical with a pram.

If you are on a tight budget and want to be at a quiet place, then I would recommend Bay Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
“Great if your on a budget”
Reviewed 23 April 2011 1person found this review helpful
Bay Lodge are 1 and 2 bedroom apartments in a low rise complex located a short stroll away from Cavill Ave and all the noise and crowds of Surfers Paradise.

They are very cheap and offer excellent value for money, with fully equipped kitchens and laundry. But its nothing flash and unfortunately we were stuck inside for our stay because it was raining. I would give the rooms 2 stars if that. The air con was noisy and the tv was hardly working.

The facilities are ok , there is a pool, small spa, bbq area, and free undercover parking. There is no restaurant at the complex. The bungy jump and mini golf are 1-2 min walk and all the cafes, shops, bars and restaurants, as well as the beach, are a 5 min walk.

Please note there is no lift and even if you are on ground floor you have to walk up/down several sets of stairs so its not very practical with a pram.

If you are on a tight budget and want to be at a quiet place, then I would recommend Bay Lodge.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Thank you for your review which we appreciate.

We are sorry about the rain which is out of our control, however your stay was booked during our wet season. Most of the year the weather is fine and sunny.

We are a 3 storey walk up building with stairs (no lifts), and no restaurant or meals available, and our facilities are clearly advertised on all websites. We do occassionally get Guests booked here who require a lift and/ or a restaurant as they have not checked the building description closely, and assumed these facilities are available. If these are a priority for you, please ensure that you check with the establishment prior to making a booking.

Our Holiday units are independantly rated by AAA Tourism at 3.5 star, but we understand that there will always be a few Guests that expect much more than what they are paying for. There are many 5 star hotels on the Gold Coast with lifts and restaurants and the associated costs for those that can afford them.

We cater to families looking for an affordable holiday. We believe that we offer the best value for money fully self contained apartments for family holidays on the Gold Coast as indicated by the vast majority of other reviews on this site.

We have recently renovated our pool and spa area, and there are now new flat screen TV's in all units connected to Foxtel and a DVD player as a result of Guests suggestions. We also get our air conditioners serviced regularly, however, if you had a problem, you should have reported it and we would have attended to it immediately.

We are always trying to improve and we appreciate your feedback.

Best regards
Harold and Joan Wilkinson
Owners / Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My first family trip to the Gold Coast and read the reviews prior to booking at Bay Lodge.

The apartment was very untidy. I really don't care about the state of the furniture but there was so much dust in the room I couldn't stop sneezing:(. I did say something to the front office but they said they'll past the info onto their cleaning staff. Heard nothing else from management so I decided to clean the place myself. Did enjoy the pool however. That was the only good thing about our stay.

We went with other friends. Lucky all the apartments were booked at Bay Lodge because they stayed at a nicer and cleaner place, near the beach AND it was cheaper!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nelanaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Manager at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
While we appreciate all responses from Guests that have stayed here, we believe that this is not a genuine review. We are a small family husband & wife team (no staff) and would remember any complaints of this nature, and would act on them. We were never fully booked at any time last October. If the Bay Lodge was so "terrible", why has it taken this Reviewer 6 months to submit their review, their only review on this site, for an alleged stay in October last year? Genuine reviews are represented very quickly, not 6 months later (looks very "suss"). While the Bay Lodge is never perfect, we are continually striving for improvement, to remain the best value for money fully self contained Family holiday apartments on the Gold Coast as reported by the vast majority of the other Reviewers on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot Vale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We actually had a really great time at the Bay Lodge. The Apartments offered more than we were expecting with Foxtel, a DVD Player and even Internet access. Plus with the full kitchen is was great to be able to cook our own meals and not have to eat out everynight. However those nights where we did eat out it is an easy walk into the Heart of Surfers Paradise. The pool was stunning and I loved laying there and reading my book each day. It was a reasonably quiet location (considering you are only 5 mins from the main action). Overall we had a great time. The Staff were very friendly and willing to help where they could. And best of all it was GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY!!! Thanks Bay Lodge - we had a wonderful time and will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed at the Bay Lodge units recently and enjoyed our stay. We usually stay at more expensive accomodation right on the beach, but as these were booked out for our dates, we took a chance here not knowing what to expect as the cost was about half of our usual place. The unit was very clean and spacious and the complex and gardens are lovely. It is located in a quiet area within walking distance to everything. We are pensioners and used the bus to get around for our day trips. The bus stop was just up on the corner, a very easy walk, as was the supermarket, restaurants and the beach. We mistakenly assumed that the Bay Lodge had lifts, but it is all stairs and no lifts. So if you need accommodation with a lift, you should ask when you book, which we will do from now on. The management were very helpful and changed us to a ground floor unit which still had a few stairs, but we were able to cope with these.

The pool area was great for relaxing and reading on the pool chairs, and although we did not swim, we did dip our feet a few times and the water was nice and warm. We have recommended the Bay Lodge to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We found Bay Lodge to be the perfect base for our family holiday on the Gold Coast. It is in a wonderful location and offered a clean and comfortable apartment, at a very good rate, for our family of four. The staff are friendly and helpful and the amenities are great. Our kids loved the half tennis court and the heated pool & spa which they were in nearly every day.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for your review which we appreciate.

We are glad to see the results of our continual improvements based on previous Guests comments are being reflected in your comments.

We are happy that you had a great holiday and look forward to your return visit and referrals to family and friends.

Best regards
Harold, Joan & Andrew Wilkinson
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E. Victoria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

stayed for one week, good location although noisy at night due to the backpackers bar at the rear. Pool great but spa hot only sometimes. BBQ area great and always clean. Rooms good average, cheap for a family, but our room was a bit grubby. I did see another room similar which was very clean. Appliances a bit tired, but overall not bad value for money given the location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for your comments.

We did have an issue with the spa heater for a few days, and this has now been fixed with the heater being replaced with a new unit. We also had an issue with one cleaner for a short period of time which has now also been addressed with our new cleaning Contractors and can advise that we have taken the appropriate action to ensure that all units are now properly cleaned and checked. We are sure that you will notice a good improvement on these issues if you decide on a return trip.

We appreciate your comments which assists us to continually improve our complex.
Bay Lodge Apartments represents the best value and affordable family run fully self contained holiday apartments on the Gold Coast.

Best regards and hope to see you again.
Harold, Joan & Andrew Wilkinson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.5 mi away
Warringa Surf Apartments
Warringa Surf Apartments
#64 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfers Mayfair Apartments
Surfers Mayfair Apartments
#47 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
#91 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spectrum Holiday Apartments
Spectrum Holiday Apartments
#36 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
#70 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trilogy Surfers Paradise
Trilogy Surfers Paradise
#34 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lodge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodge Apartments

Property: Bay Lodge Apartments
Address: 35 Palm Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lodge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lodge offers self catering accommodation right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. Located in quiet corner of the Gold Coast just a short stroll from the famous Surfers Paradise golden beaches where you can enjoy a peaceful family environment and escape the holiday crowds yet still be surrounded by all that Surfers Paradise offers. Bay Lodge is only minutes from world class shopping, dining, night life and the attractions of Surfers Paradise. Leave your car parked as you discover the beaches, fantastic entertainment, bars and eateries all close by. Free Wi-Fi, free secure underground car parking, air conditioning and Foxtel are standard. Every apartment has full laundry and kitchen facilities designed to be your home away from home. Guests can enjoy our palm fringed heated pool and spa, cook a meal on the barbecue or play a game of tennis. The tour desk can book tickets to the Gold Coast theme parks, including Dreamworld and Movieworld. The Tram and buses to the theme parks and airport are only 50 metres away. We look forward to welcoming you to Bay Lodge and one of the world's most exciting international holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Lodge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Apartments
Bay Lodge Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing