We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Lodge Apartments
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We just spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and we have been pleased with the apartment and location.The apartment was big, nice and clean, 2 bathrooms is definitely a plus with 2 kids!The kids enjoyed the pool a lot!Easy access to the theme parks as well!
However , we found it very noisy, the first 2 nights we woke up at 2am, probably by the residents having a late night at the pool and it was very annoying and frustrating.Couldn't find the number for security so we gave up and waited patiently..Thankfully the 3rd night was quiet but that would be a point i would raise with the staff if we had to go back there

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you liked the units and our new pool and spa area. Our units are ideal for an affordable family holiday as you point out.

We apologise for the disturbance, however, we are not sure why you could not find the number for Security. It's shown clearly in the compendium which is in every unit, or you could have reported it to Reception after the first night without having to wait for the second night or a return visit, or reporting it through this report?

We always deal with any issue immediately it is reported, so not sure why you thought it best not to say anything until now.

Our pool area is locked nightly at 9:00pm by Security who patrol the building regularly during the night. We also live on site and have security surveilance monitoring which we check regularly every night so any disturbance could not have been the pool or any other common area, especially at that time of night, but possibly another unit or more likely one of the neighbouring buildings. Disturbances here are rare due to our location and the family type accommodation we offer, as indicated in the vast majority of reviews which comment on our quiet location.

Harold & Joan
Owners / Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked in to the Bay Lodge with our family in October.
We were quite surprised at the standard of accommodation given the price that we paid.
The unit we stayed in was clean, spacious and comfortable for the 4 of us with cable TV and under building car parking.
Close to the centre of Surfers but in a quiet area within walking distance to everything.
Bus stop on the corner of the street.
Pool and spa area great! Staff very helpful including booking all our tickets for day trips.
Would recommend for families who do not want hotel style accommodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a unit facing the neighbours house. View not great but very quiet which we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for your review which we appreciate.

The Bay Lodge offers the best and most affordable Self Catering accommodation for family holidays in the best location in Surfers Paradise, Budds Beach, as you have confirmed.

We are getting very positive feedback about our new pool and spa and it's good to see that they are getting plenty of use.

We are glad that we could assist with your tour bookings. Pre booked tickets are the way to go.

Hope to see you back.

Harold & Joan
Owners / Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We found this a great place to stay during a recent short stay of 3 nights. Communications was great before we arrived. price was very cheap for quality of apartment. We arrived outside office hours and room access was organised for collection of room key. Found rooms great, large and all facilities that you could require. It was only 5 minutes walk from main surfers paradise beach and shops. The use of underground carpark was good saving hassle of where to park vehicle and all the complex is secure for in and out. Only found the bed in main bedroom a bit to hard for our liking, also when going to bathroom at night the light switch ooperates 2 lights at once, one for bathroom and other for walk in robe area before bathroom so wakes other person in bed at night. We would recommend this for visiting area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darwin_NTNTtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for your review which we really appreciate.

We are glad you liked the Bay Lodge and that our after hours "reception" worked as it should and that you found our self catering units great. We think they are roomier and better than a hotel room, and as you say, great value in the best location in Surfers Paradise.

We are sorry that you found our new beds a bit firm. We have just completed refurbishment of all of our beds with 4 star commercial bedding after some previous feedback that the old beds were too soft. It's one of those difficult areas to get right to suit all Guests given everyone has their own personal preference, and as travellers ourselves, we know there is nothing like your own bed.

We appreciate your feed back regarding the ensuite bathroom light, which we will attend to.


Thanks for the recommendtion and we hope to see you on a return visit.

Harold & Joan
Owner / Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We, a family of 2A & 2C, stayed in this 3&half Star lodge for 5nites.
(pls go to a 5star room&svc w a 5star price.... NOT here !)
It has 2rooms, 2baths w tub, Washingmachine&Dryer and a wonderful kitchen w suitable equipment. Was very clean and spacious. A nice & clean SwimmingPool w Jacuzzi was favourite for the children.(we prepared & cooked every meals at 'home', only iceCream&cakes...outside)
Pls purchase yr Go-card for the bus at the airport. We were unable to get one at SfPardise.
The bus fair is quite high and the Ripley is a rip-off. So, watch-out !
Pls buy yr groceries at PacificFair. It has good things at a very reasonable price. Also,
drop-in to The Reject Shop. It doesn't mean things are rejected, but w very low price.
TRShop has shampoo, detergent, food stuff etc. There is a Coles too...get the special priced
multigrain breads...its good for yr health.
Pls purchase the Package tours, AquaDuck, the Worlds etc at SfPardise if, you doubt the internet.
Get yr money changed to Aussie dollars before coming into Australia.
Spare a few minutes to study the bus routes and the maps before coming to GCoast. It
helped us alot. The bus' pilots were friendly too.
The couple managing this place is wonderful. Pls seek their advice & suggestion.
We thank them for allowing us to chk-out abit late & to keep our luggage while we spent our
remaining hours before taking a latenite flight.
Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Take Room238 for yr family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ArtisansLangkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for your review which we appreciate.

We are glad that you you enjoyed your stay here at the Bay Lodge Apartments as so many other families have.

You review has perfectly captured what the Bay Lodge offers. The best valued Self Catering accommodation for family holidays in Surfers Paradise best location, Budds Beach.

Our new pool and spa are is fantastic and we are glad you enjoyed these facilities.

Your other tips for travellers looking at staying here are excellent, and shows that families can have a great holiday in Surfers Paradise without having to spend a fortune, which is what the Bay Lodge offers.

We look forward to your return visit next time you are visiting Surfers Paradise.

Best regards
Harold & Joan Wilkinson
Owners / Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My family stayed at Bay lodge in September after reading the other reviews I was very disappointed as I expected more. Our apartment needed a good clean. We didnt even use the bathroom in the onsuite as it smelt and was dirty we had to keep the door closed. The curtains are revolting covered in dust and stains. The whole apartment is covered in dirty marks & questionable stains. I had to clean the whole kitchen prior to using it. Request a pool view our apartment overlook the neighbours which was a dump and the verandah is dirty. We were woken up at 4.30am which other guest or residents yelling & screaming in the hallways. On a positive note the pool area is great and it is close to town and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for your review, which we appreciate, and the opportunity to respond to the issues you have raised.

We are disappointed that the unit was not up to your expectation; however, a call to our friendly staff at any time during your stay would have resolved any issues quickly.

All of the close up shots you have posted do not give a balanced view of the overall unit. You have not posted any shots of the main areas of the unit or our great pool, spa & bbq area or the tennis court, only of some minor issues.

We have identified the unit you stayed in and have addressed the issues you have raised, which we would have done immediately had you reported them to us.

All requests for pool view units this month were satisfied, so we are not sure how your request was made, as there was no request shown on your booking. All accommodation buildings have some rooms/units with better views than others, but all have to be used, as ours do, however we ensure that we price these accordingly to ensure that we give the best value for money. We were happy that we were able to offer you an early check in time as requested.

We have Security / Management available 24 hours as advised in our compendium and this disturbance would have been acted on immediately had you reported it.

It is unfortunate that none of these issues were reported during your stay. It seems a little late to report issues anonymously though a review when we could have addressed these or offered you another unit, had they been reported to us at the time (a general tip for all travelers).

We are at least happy that you acknowledge that you got what you paid for, which perhaps indicates that your expectations were for a much higher standard of accommodation than we could offer, being rated by AAA at 3.5 stars.

We believe that the Bay Lodge Apartments still offers the best value for money fully self contained apartments in the best location on the Gold Coast as indicated by the vast majority of reviews from satisfied Guests on this site.

We would look forward to a return visit and an opportunity for us to be able to meet, and exceed, your expectations for your next holiday here on the Gold Coast.

Best regards
Harold & Joan Wilkinson
Owners / Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We visited for 3 days to gold coast for family vacation. Stayed in bay lodge apartments. Our stay was really great with all amenities available.
Location is really nice and is close to market area and restaurants. going to gold coast amusement parks and beaches was really easy from here.
We took apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, drawing dining balcony. Apartment was really clean with all facilities available.
Kitchen was available with all utensil that we may need.
Both bedrooms and bathrooms were really clean.
Rooms are ample big.
Apartment also has swimming pool, that is really nice. access to all area in the complex is great.
Parking is available in underground of apartments.
We would recommend this place a lot for its service, value for money, cleanliness and other stuff.
Great vocation with Bay Lodge.
Thanks

Room Tip: We 4 adults and kid, stayed in 2 room apartment with 2 bedroom, 2 bath and drawing kitchen, It is re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanmehta_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thank you for your review which we appreciate.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and our recently renovated heated pool and spa area, which is attracting many positive comments, and we were only too happy to assist you with your other requests.

We agree that Bay Lodge offers the best value for money fully self contained family holiday accommodation in the best location on the Gold Coast.

We hope to see you again on a return visit.

Best regards
Harold & Joan Wilkinson
Owners / Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

An affordable, clean & spacious apartment to stay. My 3 kids & I stayed for 3 nights in this fully equipped, fully air-conditioned 2 bedroom & 2 bathroom apartment with an easy self check in after office hours. Loved the quiet location, yet it is only a short distance to the bus stop, beach, shops & malls. The essential cooking facilities, utensils & cutleries are found in this apartment. Washing machine, clothes dryer, hair dryer, ample wardrobe area, clothes hangers, small pack of dish washing liquid, clothes detergent are also provided. However, you need to bring your own body soap & shampoo. Appreciated the good management & also their agreement to my request for a slightly late check out without extra charges.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilko52, Owner at Bay Lodge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thank you for your review which we appreciate.

Our aim is to provide the clean and affordable fully self contained holiday apartments for families in the best location on the Gold Coast.

Our starter pack includes soap for each Guest which should have been presented on each towel, but shampoo is not included.

We always try and accommodate Guests requests and help out where possible, and we are glad we could assist you with a later check out.

We are a family run business and and always do our best ensure our Guests have an enjoyable stay here at Bay Lodge Apartments.

Thank you again.

Harold & Joan Wilkinson
Owners / Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
610 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wharf Boutique Apartments
Wharf Boutique Apartments
#43 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#51 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trilogy Surfers Paradise
Trilogy Surfers Paradise
#30 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
123 reviews
1 mi away
Palazzo Colonnades
Palazzo Colonnades
#44 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#16 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lodge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodge Apartments

Address: 35 Palm Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £67 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lodge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Lodge offers self catering accommodation right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. Located in quiet corner of the Gold Coast just a short stroll from the famous Surfers Paradise golden beaches where you can enjoy a peaceful family environment and escape the holiday crowds yet still be surrounded by all that Surfers Paradise offers. Bay Lodge is only minutes from world class shopping, dining, night life and the attractions of Surfers Paradise. Leave your car parked as you discover the beaches, fantastic entertainment, bars and eateries all close by. Free Wi-Fi, free secure underground car parking, air conditioning and Foxtel are standard. Every apartment has full laundry and kitchen facilities designed to be your home away from home. Guests can enjoy our palm fringed heated pool and spa, cook a meal on the barbecue or play a game of tennis. The tour desk can book tickets to the Gold Coast theme parks, including Dreamworld and Movieworld. The Tram and buses to the theme parks and airport are only 50 metres away. We look forward to welcoming you to Bay Lodge and one of the world's most exciting international holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Lodge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Apartments
Bay Lodge Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing