We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two reviews for the price of one.”
Review of Bumbles

Bumbles
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Two reviews for the price of one.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have had tea/coffee here over the past two weeks. 'Er Indoors (who's a caffeine connoisseur) says it's without doubt the best coffee she had on the coast (and she's tried many). I had tea yesterday. Normally when I order tea at a cafe it's like clover tea - only three leaves. My cuppa was to die for. Strong; a large pot; cute little bottle of milk and a matching china cup and saucer. Bewdaful.

Bumbles serves dinner on Thursday nights. So we thought we'd give it a try. $50 a head for three courses and BYO. So far so good.
Arrived at 6.45 (place was very well patronised) and sat outside. The ambience was perfect; a soft glow radiating from inside with all the tea lights. Looking across to the river foreshore and house lights beyond.
Table set with fine linen tablecloth, glassware and cutlery. El cheapo paper napkin - naughty!
Menu's and a bottle of chilled water. Waitress was a delight. So helpful and cheery. Ordered. Both had the same - boring!
Twice roasted pork belly with apple mint salad; seven hour lamb shoulder and cheese.
Pork was tender and unctuous; apple salad ok but the mint were large leaves thrown through the applesticks. I think they should have been shredded.
I'd say we had no more than 10 minutes between finishing starters before mains were delivered.
Lamb was tender and flavoursome, served with mashed spuds. Mash was one of the best I've had. Would have been good to have a few greens but this is a minor complaint.
Cheese. Now here's the big let down. Menu described the cheese as being "creamy cheese served with pear, quince paste and oat cake biscuits".
I think I've had better cheese when I've bought a "reduced for quick sale" piece of Brie at Woollies. It was hard and tough. No pear and obviously they'd run out of oat bickies because there was ONE oat bickie broken in half and three Lavosh. Overheard the lady at the next table telling Hubby that the cheese was Philadelphia Cream Cheese!
Offered tea or coffee but declined. Don't know if that was included in the price.
All in all a really good night. Terrific value with only the cheese being a bit of an issue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurielMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    89
    38
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Find”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Bumbles is one of my favourite restaurants and the food, service and ambience have remained consistent over the years with thanks to owner Kate. The location is also excellent - in a quiet spot overlooking Budds Beach in Surfers Paradise. Parking is not a problem. Bumbles is an eclectic cafe which is at present open for lunch daily, but dinner only on a Thursday or special occasion, such as Valentine's Day. The staff are always friendly, happy and approachable, and I adore how Kate has furnished this cafe, which has several rooms to dine in, all with their own arty touches. It also features a stocked library room of books where clients can borrow a book using an honour system, or conduct meetings while enjoying some delightful food. Bumbles is not licenced, so you can bring your own favourite bottle of wine. I visited Bumbles for a birthday lunch which was every bit as perfect as I hoped. Fresh flowers abounded, and the arty touches this time included hanging displays made from fishing lines and lures, as well as the new private pink room with gorgeous old fashioned chairs. This is a really great spot for a charming lunch, and you can sit outside too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lagoon breakfast”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Away from the bustle of surfers. This cute cafe is across the road from the lagoon. Baked eggs were amazing and the kids loved the French toast.

Recommend letting the kids have a splash in the shallow lagoon waters and then meandering across the road to enjoy a delicious brunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_fry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Local's quirky cafe on the quiet side of Surfers!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful find well loved by locals. Its great for breakfast or a coffee and snack while you are out walking. Budds Beach is a quiet little village pocket on the river side of Surfers. The lovely little beach and river views are sublime and unexpected. Weekend breakfasts at the cafe get busy, and its not as cheap as a fry up on Cavill Ave, but its a much more enjoyable way to start your day. We went there for Saturday morning breakfast and ran into friends from both Brisbane and the Gold Coast so the secret is out. There is a good choice of breakfast items: you are looking at around $17 for the food, and the coffee is excellent. It is worth seaching this place out for the views and the ambience of a more intimate part of the Surfers experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go for coffee and cake.”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Bumbles is in a wonderful location at Budds Beach on the river in Surfers Paradise. Go there for coffee and cake and walk off the calories along the riverfront. Unfortunately all other food there is expensive and poor value IMHO. I know because I live nearby and have given it many chances for breakfast/ lunch but unfortunately I often leave disappointed (and hungry). On the upside, their selection of cakes/ coffee etc is reasonably priced and the decor of the cottage/ cafe itself is superb. Service from staff is a bit of a hit or miss. Note they serve dinners on Thursday nights (only) but I have never gone given my previous breakfast/ lunch dining experiences.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ImSmokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bumbles also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Bumbles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing